Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

SAWA – Soprano Rain March 13, 2013

Filed under: SAWA — solarblade @ 1:44 am

sopranorain

Track Listing

  1. Good day Sunshine
  2. Mysterious Zone
  3. Try Again!
  4. Happy Birthday
  5. NoLimit
  6. Soprano Rain
  7. Kokoro no Hitomi (Dokushou)

1. Good day Sunshine

Opening the mini-album is the main digital single SAWA released back in May of 2012.  I was wondering where she would go considering her various styles she had and Good day Sunshine is kind of like “Ai ni Iku yo” and “I Can Fly” but with smoother vocals.  I didn’t think much of it when it first came out, but listening it to it now, I kind of find myself enjoying it quite nicely.  I mean I love electro SAWA but it’s nice to see something a bit more bright.

2. Mysterious Zone

People seem to say that she performed this a long time ago and now finally gets a studio release.  Mysterious Zone I was picturing would be a darker song but it’s kind of a strange hybrid of bright pop like “Good day Sunshine” but with blips and weird synths.  I think they could’ve left out the latter stuff and I would be fine, but those parts kind of ruin the song or me honestly.

3. Try Again!

Used as the promotional song for the mini, Try Again! is definitely a lot like “Ai ni Iku yo” and to be honest, is probably the best track she could chose because it’s the more cutesy electropop that we’ve gotten quite used to from SAWA.  It’s kind of quirky in its entirety so that works.  Not bad of a song and not too much of a departure from her last promo song.

4. Happy Birthday

At first when I heard this song, I kind of figured the song would be a ballad, but as soon as I quickly learned, the song actually became ANOTHER cutesy pop song from SAWA.  This is probably the cheesiest song but it has SAWA singing at her best which is nice and her English is getting a lot better for some reason xD.  Not bad.

5. NoLimit

I kind of wish SAWA would move away from the cute stuff.  This one does have a certain Tommy sound but it’s mostly sugary cute.  I mean I had hoped the song would’ve been heavier but I do appreciate the amount of synths found here and they sound REALLY good.  It might be my favorite of the mini-album which is strange.

6. Soprano Rain

Then we get our ballad of the mini with the title track with lonesome piano and SAWA’s OK vocals.  I love her voice being thrown into filter land because it feels so dreamy and floaty to listen to even though she adlibs a lot in the song.  It’s a pretty sad sounding song and is quite a nice change of pace from the previous five songs.

7. Kokoro no Hitomi (Dokushou)

As this is a cover of a Miu Sakamoto song, I wasn’t unsure how it’d turn out because well it comes after another ballad and all.  It’s very simple however with just SAWA and piano and I really don’t think SAWA has a voice that works well with just piano IMO.  Appropriate way to finish the mini but after all the tracks before, this seem to be REALLY plain.

It’s been over two years since we’ve last seen SAWA with her awesome album and since then she’s switched labels to KING RECORDS (AKB48 and Nana Mizuki’s label) and released her first mini there.  Soprano Rain isn’t a bad mini-album, but this isn’t one that’ll make me go OMG YES.  I’m happy she’s returned but this wasn’t a good way to begin her KING RECORDS career.

 

Leave a Reply

