Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

AYUSE KOZUE – LOL March 15, 2013

Filed under: AYUSE KOZUE — solarblade @ 6:41 am

lol

Track Listing

  1. LOL
  2. Kimi no Koto feat. RED RICE
  3. CLAP!
  4. SURVIVORS
  5. What They Say feat. TSUGUMI (ex SOULHEAD)
  6. My Friend
  7. Shinji Sasete
  8. Ienakatta I LOVE YOU
  9. A GOOD GIRL
  10. STORY

1. LOL

For a title like LOL I wasn’t expecting the song to be kind of a mid-tempo song for some reason.  I mean it should be silly or even random, but this song sounds a lot like what was on her last album.  For a title song, this was kind of VERY bland and vanilla from an R&B standpoint.  Yeah this was a weak opening track.

2. Kimi no Koto feat. RED RICE

Erasing that taste of the first track, I was trying to get into Kimi no Koto BUT RED RICE is in this song.  As he’s a part of SHONANNOKAZE, I was REALLY dreading his appearance as he screwed up Aoyama Thelma’s song up badly.  While AYUSE does nice and the song is a bit generic in the arrangement, RED RICE SOUNDS TERRIBLE IN THE SONG.  His quips just annoys me to no end and ruins whatever I liked about the song.  Blech.

3. CLAP!

At least CLAP! tries for something a little more playful.  It still does have an American feel to it, but this time AYUSE is drowning in auto-tune for the entire song which REALLY doesn’t work for the song because she would’ve sounded great without it!  The arrangement is quirky and quite nice to listen to, but the auto-tune MUST go.

4. SURVIVORS

Going into SURVIVORS, I was kind of wanting AYUSE to change styles and she really doesn’t here.  I mean it’s another “LOL” and “Kimi no Koto” minus the annoyances.  Which means this song didn’t do so bad, but it’s still kind of forgetful in the long run, but I do like the electric guitar present in the song…that I can say I enjoyed a lot.

5. What They Say feat. TSUGUMI (ex SOULHEAD)

I honestly could’ve lived without TSUGUMI being processed as she’s a good enough rapper without that BS going on.  There’s a lot of her as well with AYUSE singing the chorus which is nice but once again the auto-tune prevents me to enjoy the song in full.  At least AYUSE sounds really pretty in the song right?  Even that guitar solo was a bit of a weird but nicely done solo.  I can grow to enjoy it somewhat.

6. My Friend

I love the fact she uses the same beats and synths throughout this album…totally original right?  Once again I feel like it’s another one of those I’ve already heard this song somewhere else on the album kind of feeling.  Nothing really new to report that I haven’t already said in “SURVIVORS” so apply that here once again.

7. Shinji Sasete

Moving into an actual ballad, Shinji Sasete could’ve been a great song to listen to from it’s synthed up arrangement, but once again it comes with a lot of auto-tune present as well.  There are just times where processing your voice is VERY inappropriate for a song and this is one of those times.  It would’ve been a really solid song had it not been for that.  Ugh…

8. Ienakatta I LOVE YOU

Maybe for the first time, there’s a song that really stood out on the album.  Ienakatta I LOVE YOU doesn’t feel like a cheap rehash nor the song is drenched in auto-tune.  Plus hearing AYUSE in a higher pitch is quite pleasant and she fits this piano-fronted R&B song and maybe the auto-tuned parts are nice and not annoying (and small).  Not bad.

9. A GOOD GIRL

I kind of enjoyed the loopy synths the opened up A GOOD GIRL.  It actually might be the first song that kind of surprised me by its arrangement, but don’t get me wrong, it’s still an R&B track through and through.  AYUSE is singing in a deeper tone as well which also tends to impress me nicely.  It’s a pleasant and non-offensive track so that’s a real nice thing, but at this point many people would be REALLY tired of this sound.

10. STORY

As the final song for the album, STORY is a bit more heavier on the beat but like “SURVIVORS” it just rides that same train which is just kind of a bit of kicking a dead horse at this point.  It’s OK, but the I’m basically done talking about this song.

Tracks Recommended

  • Ienakatta I LOVE YOU
  • SURVIVORS
  • A GOOD GIRL

Song of Avoidance

  • Shinji Sasete

AYUSE…what is happening?  I mean LOL is a slightly better album than “U&I” but you were making more crappy mistakes like all that auto-tune present.  That was the most loathing thing on the album tbh.  I wished AYUSE would go back to the days of “Simply Good” where her stuff didn’t feel so washed up.  Yeah not a great album here…again!

 

Leave a Reply

