Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Berryz Koubou – Asian Celebration March 20, 2013

Filed under: Berryz Koubou — solarblade @ 9:42 am

asiancelebration

Track Listing

  1. Asian Celebration
  2. Sekai de Ichiban Taisetsu na Hito (Limited A, C, and Regular only)
  3. I like a picnic (Limited B and D only)
  4. Asian Celebration (Instrumental)

1. Asian Celebration

You know ever since “Heroine ni Narou ka!”, Berryz has never really unimpressed me in their A-sides but for some reason, the league of A-sides end because I really am not a big fan of Asian Celebration.  I mean the disco vibes are actually really nice, but it’s just a lot of everything else that ended up getting wrong.  I mean the amount of Miyabi’s English is surprising but that was ok.  What annoyed me the most were the purposely done DJ scratched vocal flip they were doing in the verses…that was supremely annoying (especially Yurina, who was shockingly BAD in this song).  After “WANT!”, this just comes as a big disappointment.

2. Sekai de Ichiban Taisetsu na Hito

The B-side found on most editions, Sekai de Ichiban Taisetsu na Hito seems to be the afterthought from “WANT!” with its more electro sound but strangely enough this kind of sounds like an anime theme, but I’m OK with that because the song is actually kind of nice to listen to, especially seeing here the back members get a lot more presence.  The chorus is a bit sugary for me, but I do like the arrangement.  Not bad and it’s slightly better than “Asian Celebration”.

3. I like a picnic

So on the other two editions, we get ANOTHER Bird Thongchai cover!  This time of I like a picnic because that isn’t a strange title for them >.>.  After “cha cha SING” and “Loving you Too much”, it seems this whole Thai bang is getting to the girls lol.  I like a picnic is kind of more upbeat like “cha cha SING” but there’s a lot more going on vocally and in the arrangement.  I kind of like the song as its another quirky cover TBH lol.

Berryz has finally dropped a meh A-side after all the good single they’ve done for a while.  Asian Celebration is weak and kind of vocally unpleasant to my ears.  Didn’t help the PV was a “Dakishimete Dakishimete” clone…it was bad.  At least Sekai de Ichiban Taisetsu na Hito and I like a picnic fared much better.  The main B-side is quite poppy but I like the arrangement.  The cover song was the best of the single though as it was just so fun!  At least they can go up from here now lol.

 

One Response to “Berryz Koubou – Asian Celebration”

  1. seefinemail Says:

    Hmm have to disagree with you here. I prefer Asian Celebration than Want, because the latter strikes me more as tedious, because all the electro instrumentals in the song just bog it down instead of making it more cohesive to listen to. It’s unnecessary and it just makes the song longer than it should be. And I don’t really like the tempo of the song on the verses before the chorus (“Ah, ah, ah I want it…. “), it just ruins the flow for me.

    Asian Celebration is more bearable for me because there’s not much electro instrumentals except in the part before it ends. Also the tempo of the song flows better than Want, except on the second-to-last verse beginning with “Nayami tsukinai LOVE ME DO”.

    But I have to agree that Sekai de Ichiban Taisetsu na Hito is a stellar song and if I have to choose, I’d prefer this over Asian Celebration.


Leave a Reply

