Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Aimer – RE:I AM EP March 24, 2013

Filed under: Aimer — solarblade @ 4:46 pm


Track Listing

  1. RE:I AM
  2. Hoshi no Kieta Yoru ni
  3. Kyo Kara Omoide
  4. RE:I AM (instrumental)
  5. Hoshi no Kieta Yoru ni (instrumental)
  6. Anata ni Deawa Nakereba ~Kasetsu Toka~ (TV Size) (Limited Pressing only)

1. RE:I AM

I was really surprised when Aimer was chosen to do a theme for GUNDAM and instantly thought she was going to release a sappy ballad (since everything before was a ballad).  RE:I AM though is a very nice surprise and has such a broad and powerful sound with guitars and loud drums.  Aimer’s vocals are slightly weak against the arrangement at various points, but for the most part, this was what she needed and I really like the song.

2. Hoshi no Kieta Yoru ni

Going into something a bit more softspoken and a bit more normal for Aimer to release, Hoshi no Kieta Yoru ni is a ballad, but it has this kind of magical and almost dreamscapish sound that makes it even more recognizable in Aimer’s discography.  I have to say that this song worked a tad bit better than the A-side, but then again this is her safe zone lol.

3. Kyo Kara Omoide

We get even ballad-heavy with Kyo Kara Omoide which sounds like 90% of her music so it’s mostly piano-fronted Aimer here.  I mean it is a lot like “Rokutosei no Yoru” but as a B-side so that should say something too.  Not much to report here, but Aimer whispy vocals do stand out for some reason.

Aimer’s first single after her debut album (and cover album as well) and she’s already stepping out of her comfort zone.  RE:I AM is an interesting pop/rock tune and Aimer sort of passes, but her vocals didn’t seem to mesh well to the music.  If you wanted something familiar, go with Kyo Kara Omoide, but if you want something awesome with something fresh, Hoshi no Kieta Yoru ni might be your song.  Overall, not bad and I’m looking forward to future releases.


2 Responses to “Aimer – RE:I AM EP”

  1. nacha Says:

    what do you think about aimer newest album ‘After Dark’? would you write a review about it? thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s