Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

S/mileage – ② Smile Sensation May 30, 2013

Filed under: S/mileage — solarblade @ 7:06 pm

2smilesensation

Track Listing

  1. Shin Nippon no Susume!
  2. Tabidachi no Haru ga Kita
  3. Otona no Tochuu
  4. Tenshinranman
  5. Suki yo, Junjou Hankouki.
  6. Watashi no Kokoro
  7. Yuugure Koi no Jikan
  8. Nee Senpai
  9. Sayonara Sayonara Sayonara
  10. Samui ne.

1. Shin Nippon no Susume!

Smart way to open the album with a bang with Shin Nippon no Susume!  I was pleasantly surprised to see that S/mileage were going to kick things off with something they’ve never really done.  Add in how wacky and all over the place the song is and it just screams S/mileage.  I loved hearing Kanon and Meimi using their deeper tones in the slower parts and then we’re led into this energetic splash of a song!  It’s ridiculous, yet it works surprisingly well!  I have to say, I was VERY impressed with this song and made me love Meimi a whole lot more (though she’s been steadily impressing me since last year).

2. Tabidachi no Haru ga Kita

As the era’s 3rd A-side represented, Tabidachi no Haru ga Kita still struggles to really stand out amongst S/mileage’s songs for me, because it sounds like it could be a Berikyuu song (because it kind of reminds me of “Chou HAPPY SONG” to me.  I do really like the intro and the choruses, but the verses don’t really resonate with me very well.  It’s not a bad track since it does have A-side written all over it, but compared to the other two, this one just wasn’t up to par.

3. Otona no Tochuu

There’s a bunch of songs on the album that we’ve heard last year (because Tsunku was really holding this album off for some reason), so technically there are 3 songs I’ve not heard prior to the album lol.  Getting into one of the tracks I heard last year, Otona no Tochuu.  When I first heard this, I was loving it immediately because it’s a very high energy track and it kind of reminds me of “Doushiyou” but with a little more kick!  It was an amazing song when I heard it live and couldn’t wait to hear a studio version and it’s pretty good!  Another great track!

4. Tenshinranman

Another track performed at lives last year, Tenshinranman eerily reminds me of “Tabidachi no Haru ga Kita” in the intro with those strings being used.  Though this song does slightly become its own thing with the slap bass being thrown in.  The only thing that really stands out in this song is how many lines Kanana ended up with…she I think got the most (if not next to Kanon and Ayaka).  Besides that, this song was quite forgettable.

5. Suki yo, Junjou Hankouki.

As the era’s first single released (sort of?), Suki yo, Junjou Hankouki.was the first taste of the heavy dance S/mileage which also kind of brought the cool factor up (even though Juice=Juice is going that direction currently LOL).  I loved this song no doubt! I loved that Rinapuu got a lot of the lines this time (though the other core members have more still, but Rina got a boost).  This track is just like 6-nin’s “Yumemiru 15sai” which is great to see again and I was wanting another cool track from S/mileage.  Definitely my favorite of the A-sides that made the cut.

6. Watashi no Kokoro

Oddly enough, the album hits a wall as we move from the previous track to Watashi no Kokoro, which is the first of two ballads on the album.  For me, H!P ballads from albums rarely interest me and it seems that’s the case with this song once again.  As much as I am happy to see them singing nicely, the song just doesn’t do much for me in the long run.  Just another ballad to me, but I feel that at least it’s better than the last album ballad they had, “Gakkyou Iinchou”.

7. Yuugure Koi no Jikan

Another song performed at lives, Yuugure Koi no Jikan was probably my least favorite of the songs previewed last year.  The good thing about the song is that it’s nothing but solo lines from all the members so it’s really good for differentiating the 6 ladies.  Plus I love that Kanana got to sing first lol.  I think actually Rina and Kana got the most lines lmao!  Still the song isn’t really all that memorable.

8. Nee Senpai

After all that downtime, we get back into something energetic with Nee Senpai and I don’t think it reaches the same level of awesomeness that “Otona no Tochuu” did, but it’s a nice solid track with good vocals, but I can’t say this is going to be one of the favorites of the album…it’s kind of how I feel about some about Berryz songs…it’s just missing something.

9. Sayonara Sayonara Sayonara

The final new song (and another that’s actually brand new to me), SSS at first to me sounded like it was going to be another hyperactive track, but the song feels more like a synthy, pop track with a heavy beat. It’s kind of an awkward mixture of music and vocals that just doesn’t seem to work.  I mean if the song was a high-energy synth track, I would’ve loved this so much more!

10. Samui ne.

Kind of an interesting choice to end the album with the 2nd A-side, Samui ne. which stands out in S/mileage’s discography for being a bit more deeper and light than stuff they released previous.  I’ve grown to really like this song a lot for some reason and I do not know why.  I mean I still loathe Dawa’s vocals for all its worth but, this song is quite catchy and pretty to listen to.  I would’ve had “Watashi no Kokoro” close the album, but this song does it well too!

Tracks Recommended

  • Otona no Tochuu
  • Suki yo, Junjou Hankouki.
  • Shin Nippon no Susume!
  • Samui ne.

Song of Avoidance

  • Sayonara Sayonara Sayonara

S/mileage’s sophomore took WAY TOO LONG to come out.  Between “Warugaki 1” and this album there has been 10 singles released.  Though most of the singles were cut because they included former members: Saki, Fuyuka, and Yuuka so that’s why they put out a best album to kind of give reason for no album.  2 Smile Sensation was better than their debut (though once again, it’s kind of hard to compare the two because of the different members and such).  I wished the album was bigger though because I would’ve loved to see “Choto Mate Kudasai!”, “Dot Bikini” and “Watashi, Choito Kawaii Urabanchou” (because the latter was supposed to be an album track for this one….wth….The album was really good in the first half, but fell apart quite harshly as I went through the second half…so in H!P terms it was good lol.

 

Leave a Reply

