Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Tommy february6 – TOMMY CANDY SHOP ♥ SUGAR ♥ ME June 22, 2013

Filed under: Tommy february6 — solarblade @ 2:33 am

tommycandyshop

Track Listing

  1. FAIRY DUST
  2. SUGAR♥ME
  3. RUNAWAY
  4. ANGEL FADE
  5. SPACEY COWGIRL
  6. PINK ARMY
  7. Ai no♥Ai no Hoshi
  8. MY VACATION
  9. SUMMER BUBBLES
  10. BE MY VALENTINE

1. FAIRY DUST

Opening the album, Tomoko kicks things with FAIRY DUST and by that title, it was definitely going back to being a really cute song, but in february6’s way it’s quite true to her style!  I also like the fact that I’m hearing a lot of English from Tomoko as well, even if it’s heavily accented lol.  This is quite catchy and the chorus is quite amazing to listen as well…what a great way to start things off!

2. SUGAR♥ME

As one of the two tracks promoting the album, SUGAR♥ME actually sounds like a song she would’ve put out during the “Tommy airline*” days because of it’s retro pop feel of it.  I really did miss this side of Tomoko’s music in this persona because she was going for a more modern sound.  This song is pretty catchy too OMG…very nice of a track.

3. RUNAWAY

As the other promotional track used for the album, RUNAWAY also shares some of the old february6 tracks as well.  I do think this song also reminds me of a synthed up heavenly6 track because of the lyrics seem to a be a slight bit darker.  I have to say my favorite parts are the pre-chorus sections because it’s such a nice build-up.  Damn…I’m loving this album so far!

4. ANGEL FADE

Is it me or does this song kind of feels like the song whose PV would look like “Bloomin'”s PV because of the whole dreamy tone of the song in the intro.  After that the song becomes a bit like electropop which is fine with me because I love the loud sound of the song and the way Tomoko’s voice is layered in the song.  I will say that she is kind of stressing her vocals out in the chorus because she has to be louder than the music.  It’s definitely a song that’s great for dancing in clubs to.

5. SPACEY COWGIRL

Of the songs on the album, I think my favorite has to be SPACEY COWGIRL because it’s retro but it’s also aggressive in its own right which really stands out on the album.  I’ve started to take notice that Tomoko has been singing in English for almost half the album now and I’m not sure how to take it lol.  SPACEY COWGIRL just has a great tone to it and the chorus is just orgasmic to my ears lol.  Yeah this is just an epic song for Tomoko!

6. PINK ARMY

Getting into PINK ARMY, I kind of felt this song was slightly going into K-pop territory because of the edgier sound and bump-and-grind style that we ended up with here.  I found this quite refreshing, but like “ANGEL FADE” she’s struggling in the chorus because of singing in a higher range.  I kind of enjoyed the song, but there were definitely better tracks to be honest lol.

7. Ai no♥Ai no Hoshi

It’s a bit strange to see there’s only one track that isn’t capitalized on the album and it’s the B-side from “BE MY VALENTINE” which is also a self-cover of the same track done by her band, the brilliant green.  Like I said in the review, she did make it fit the persona quite nicely, but the fact she didn’t resing the song kind of makes it a little lazy and it’s kind of obvious her voice does sound a bit different than the other tracks.  Still, I can’t help but admire that she pulled this song (though surprised it made the album cut >.>).

8. MY VACATION

Why do I feel like this song sort of reminds me of a Katy Perry track (Teenage Dream that is).  I took this as the summer track from Tomoko because it’s so dance-poppy, but I love the melody and hearing Tommy singing in Japanese (something I didn’t really comment back on the last track LOL).  This song is just the right kind of summer fun and party music, I love to listen to so this was an epic win!

9. SUMMER BUBBLES

As the last new track, SUMMER BUBBLES actually give me the feel of her first album which I didn’t think she’d get herself back into.  Sadly, of the new tracks, this is probably my least favorite of them because it’s a bit too uneventful and kind of low-key for me.  I did like, the throwback to her first album though, that’s quite nice.

10. BE MY VALENTINE

Ending the album is the A-side that was released before the album and is also the longest track as well being 6 minutes in length.  This also kind of harkens her debut album but it also kind of reminds me of some of those singles she released after her second album.  Being a song that’s about Valentine’s is nice and Tomoko is know to do some good holiday-themed songs.  The only thing that bothered me is the spoken dialogue (spoken in Engrish) and it just is ridiculous (since the guys voice is just like the one used on the new track that was on “HALLOWEEN ADDICTION”).  Otherwise, nice track, but a little too long.

Tracks Recommended

  • SPACEY COWGIRL
  • FAIRY DUST
  • MY VACATION
  • RUNAWAY
  • SUGAR♥ME

Song of Avoidance

  • SUMMER BUBBLES

It’s been forever since Tomoko released a full studio album under the february6 moniker.  As this is her 3rd studio album, TOMMY CANDY SHOP ♥ SUGAR ♥ ME really surprised me because her last couple of releases have been kind of subpar and she was winning people more with her heavenly6 persona.  There was just a lot of great tracks on this album and even though there was two songs I was just kind of meh with, this is on par with her debut album with best works!  Yeah this album is definitely *RECOMMENDED* to Tommy fans!

 

3 Responses to “Tommy february6 – TOMMY CANDY SHOP ♥ SUGAR ♥ ME”

  1. kokoro Says:

    She resung ai no hoshi. You should compare it to the original

  2. Micha Says:

    I desagree with you about SUMMER BUBBLES. For me it’s the best song from album after SPACEY COWGIRL ♥

  3. Mint Says:

    This is seriously my favorite album of 2013 so far. It just makes me so frustrated that her albums sales are so low! Her label is not promoting her like they should be.. 😦


Leave a Reply

