Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Namie Amuro – FEEL July 12, 2013

Filed under: Namie Amuro — solarblade @ 12:42 am

feel

Track Listing

  1. Alive
  2. Rainbow
  3. Can You Feel This Love
  4. Big Boys Cry
  5. Hands On Me
  6. Heaven
  7. Poison
  8. La La La
  9. Supernatural Love
  10. Let Me Let You Go
  11. Contrail
  12. Stardust In My Eyes

1. Alive

Wow, the opening to the album is just nothing short of being badass because this is a banging song and it’s just the first track!  I know back on “Uncontrolled” I was constantly bagging her Engrish, but it seems she’s gotten some work done.  It’s just such a powerful track and the lyrics are quite something!  Definitely an amazing way to kick things off!

2. Rainbow

Onto the next track, Namie brings Rainbow which has kind of an 8bit sound in the intro before adding some extra beats to the arrangement.  I feel like Namie has a much better vocal performance and the song itself is quite different from what I’ve come to expect from her.  I seem to love the hooks ~I’ll be waiting for the rainbow~….it’s a pretty nifty track!

3. Can You Feel This Love

This could be considered the title track but Can You Feel This Love does kind of run like some of her older songs…with that feel of R&B but a lot more modern.  There’s not much I can really about the track since it doesn’t really interest me (plus the chorus it kind of annoying to me).  I don’t know why I’m just not into this track very much.

4. Big Boys Cry

I was surprised that she included this A-side but not “Beautiful”.  Big Boys Cry though was the more optimal choice as it does fit the album quite stronger.  I love the beats and the flute melody and Namie sounds quite lovely as well!  I was just a bit surprised it wasn’t a banger when compared to other songs on the album.  This is still a pretty strong song even if it’s not a heavy one!

5. Hands On Me

Oh dang, Namie is getting a bit more ethnic with Hands On Me because you can sense there’s a good tribal thing going here.  Add in that the track is definitely one of those party songs because it’s heavy with the beats and there’s shouting and breakdowns about!  I really enjoyed the feel of this song and it’s definitely one that I remember fondly from the album.

6. Heaven

Moving away from the heavier beats, we go into Heaven which does sound a bit like something I would expect in America with the synth/electro pop songs, but these kind of songs are actually one of my favorite styles.  Add in that some of the song has a similar punch to “Hands On Me” but also adding some Namie raps!  Definitely another amazing track!

7. Poison

It doesn’t seem like Namie is slowing down anytime soon because our next track Poison kind of harkens back to her last couple album with a much forceful sound and cool arrangement.  The descending screech down the melody does kind of get annoying, but overall the song has a lot of attitude and Namie is having fun (even though her voice is auto-tuned)…this is a club banger!

8. La La La

I love that synth opening for our next track!  I’m loving the reggaeton sound that’s in this one, but if it wasn’t for that, I’d feel like this is “Heaven”2 because of the similar airy nature about them.  Her accent does come through a lot more this time around than the previous tracks, but this song is a simple happy-go-lucky track.  Not bad here!

9. Supernatural Love

I thought we were slowing down, but seems like Namie woke us up again with Supernatural Love.  I was surprised that she’s singing in a slightly higher tone than in other songs.  I feel like this and “Alive” could’ve been a continuation from “Dr.” and “Defend Love”.  It’s got a cool futuristic tone and the chorus sounds badass!  What a cool song on the album as well!  Yeah this is pretty nice!

10. Let Me Let You Go

For an album of all upbeat tracks, Let Me Let You Go is quite the brick on the album because this is the album’s lone ballad.  Even though she could’ve added “Beautiful” to make this less strange, she did put out a new ballad in place.  I do think the Engrish is more apparent unfortunately and as simple as this song is, it’s just not as good as the aforementioned track.

11. Contrail

As the digital single released back in April (makes me wonder why “Damage” wasn’t included).  Now Contrail sounds a lot like “Heaven” with the floaty synth melodies and the flow of it, but it does sound quite refreshing almost!  There’s just something about Namie in the song that worked and I actually think some of it reminds me of the verses from “Fight Together”.

12. Stardust In My Eyes

Ending the album, Stardust In My Eyes kind of reminded me of some Owl City for a second there!  As the final track on the album, this is kind of as mid-tempo as it gets but that’s alright.  I mean the track didn’t leave too much of an impression besides the “Galaxies” sound-a-like, but it made for a good ending to a wonderful album!

Tracks Recommended

  • Alive
  • Contrail
  • Rainbow
  • Supernatural Love
  • Heaven

Song of Avoidance

  • Let Me Let You Go

First off, I wasn’t expecting an album so soon (considering how long it took “Uncontrolled” to come out), but FEEL is actually THE ALBUM she needed to get back on my radar for half-assing her last one (let’s be honest, she did).  FEEL might have been more experimenting for Namie as she honed her English, but the songs she was given all had something strong about it!  My only complaint is something Namie does often and that’s having an album full of upbeat tracks and throws ONE ballad…I’m kind of not liking that and she could’ve fixed it with adding “Beautiful” but whatever.  Still *RECOMMENDED*, one of the strongest albums I’ve heard this year!

 

One Response to “Namie Amuro – FEEL”

  1. shizukesa Says:

    I actually think Namie does better having more upbeat songs than ballads since they’re more her forte but I agree that this is definitely one of the better albums to come out this year for sure.


Leave a Reply

