Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

AAA – Eighth Wonder September 20, 2013

Filed under: AAA — solarblade @ 1:26 am

eighthwonder

Track Listing

  1. Eighth Wonder (Album Version)
  2. PARTY IT UP
  3. I KNOW YOU KNOW
  4. ALIVE
  5. Love Is In The Air
  6. Koi Oto to Amazora (with Intro)
  7. Miss you
  8. Hohoemi no Saku Basho
  9. good day
  10. Niji

CD2

  1. Memory Lane
  2. TRAP
  3. Believe
  4. drama
  5. Eighth Wonder (Wonder Land Remix) -bonus track-
  6. Koi Oto to Amazora (Acoustic Version) -bonus track-

1. Eighth Wonder (Album Version)

I’m surprised they’d begin the album with the B-side from “Love Is In The Air”, but wasn’t surprised because the album is named after it!  Also, the song was extended almost 2 minutes more than the original.  I was so happy they didn’t touch the arrangement and more musical interludes and an extra chorus!  I still love the song and all the members lines (especially Urata’s and Shuta’s).  Very explosive way to begin the album and I just am SOOOO happy with this!

2. PARTY IT UP

The fun continues with the 3rd A-side released, PARTY IT UP and I’m happy they continue with the energetic songs!  Like the previous track, I’m still in adoration with this song because it’s just a lot of fun to listen to and hearing Shuta and Shinji kick things off is just very impressive!  I still think the song could’ve used an album version to lengthen it up a bit because it STILL feels too short for me.  Otherwise a one-two punch for the album!

3. I KNOW YOU KNOW

As the only NEW track on the first disc, I KNOW YOU KNOW had a lot to live up for as the only new track and honestly, this kind of reminds of “MASK” but a little more heavier on the electronics.  I mean arrangement-wise, the song is a bit all over the place, but there’s something about having a more grittier style that sounds good.  It’s not bad, but the previous two tracks overpower it!

4. ALIVE

The next track was originally the B-side for “PARTY IT UP” and I was happy with its inclusion to the album and it makes for a rather nice bridge between “I KNOW YOU KNOW” and “Love Is In The Air” because it has the edgier electronics, but is on the lighter side compared to the previous three tracks as well.  As a song by itself, I kind of would’ve loved the chorus to be a little more beat-heavy…but that’s only a small complaint.

5. Love Is In The Air

Their 4th A-side comes in next and I have to say, as their summer song, I actually much preferred it to older ones.  It kind of reminds of “No cry No more” if it was handled 100x more better.  That said, this song has seriously grown on me since it was released and just makes me happy to listen to it a lot!  Plus the synergy between the members is just impressive and you can really hear it in this track!

6. Koi Oto to Amazora (with Intro)

Moving to the 5th and final single for the album, Koi Oto to Amazora got a slight addition with an UNECESSARY 10 second intro on the album, otherwise it’s the same song that was released two weeks ago!  Not much has really changed since those two weeks as I feel that it’s dry and kind of lifeless of a song.  If it wasn’t for “Hohoemi no Saku Basho”, this would be the worst A-side they’ve done and this made no sense being an A-side (especially with the lack of new songs on the album as it is).  I just don’t remember anything about this song.

7. Miss you

If there was one song that actually grew on me it was the primary A-side from the 2nd single for the album.  Miss you might fit alongside the same area like “Koi Oto to Amazora” but I think the members give a MUCH MORE impressive performance.  Plus, Nissy and Urata really shined in the song (though some of Urata’s high notes are a bit harsh).  Still, this song was a grower and happy it did since it’s a rare thing that I’d like one of AAA’s slow jams.

8. Hohoemi no Saku Basho

Of course they’d put this song after “Miss you” again >.>.  As the secondary from the same release, Hohoemi no Saku Basho went in the opposite direction that the previous song did in where it just got lost in their discography because it’s a bit boring and actually some of the vocals are just not on par like the previous tracks.  I don’t know, of the A-sides, this one just didn’t do anything for me…at least “Koi Oto to Amazora” had a nice arrangement xD

9. good day

It just seems strange that we leave from a ballad to something like good day, (“Niji’s” B-side) but honestly I think this is like a bridge to the final song on the first disc.  Actually, as I’m listening to this song again…it’s a lot like “ALIVE” as it has electronic moments, but tries to be a little more peppy.  I’ve never been a huge fan of the song as it is (because I love the remix a lot more) but it wasn’t a good choice to bring onto the album (would’ve preferred “MASK” or that EDM remix of good day).

10. Niji

The first disc ends with the first A-side released for it, Niji.  I tend to forget this song exists but I don’t know why.  It sounds so retro Tetsuya for some reason, but the song seems a bit too cheesy for me.  I guess it was appropriate to end the album though because it’s bright and sounds like a great concert ender.

CD2

1. Memory Lane

Remember that special preview we got back on “Love Is In The Air”?  Well we finally get the full versions of those 4 new tracks!  The first was of course the duet of Urata and Shinji.  As the two lowest vocalists in the group, their mix of their deep vocals seem to really fit this R&B ballad quite smoothly.  I mean this was nice and Shinji didn’t sound like his mouth isn’t full of cotton like it is normally!  Even though the song is nothing new to AAA, I kind of liked it!

2. TRAP

The girls come together once again for a new track, TRAP and of the four on the 2nd disc, this is the most upbeat of them but that’s not saying too much.  I like the electronic blips in the song and Chiaki and Misako sound good and the song has it moments ~so stuuupiiid~.  Not a bad track, but they have done better together.

3. Believe

Next is Shuta and Hidaka’s duet Believe and mostly it sounded like it was a Shuta solo😄.  It’s been a long time coming for Shuta to have such an appearance like this and honestly his voice is surprisingly good!  Hidaka is just pushed as the rapper of the group and it’s just no surprise he’s in that position (because his singing is rather mediocre, worst of the group LOL).  Overall this song is quite nice and is the best of the four!

4. drama

The last is a duet between Nissy and Misako and honestly it’s quite a bore as well.  It’s like a mix of “Memory Lane” and “Believe” but mixed with typical American beats of an R&B song and it bored me to death!  I mean Nissy and Misako sound great and all, but the song is just a GIANT drag through most of the song.  Yeah, it’s just there…meh…

5. Eighth Wonder (Wonder Land Remix)

The final two tracks were a little surprising as their remixes and bonus tracks.  I didn’t think Eighth Wonder would get a remix at all but it seems like Daisuke Suzuki (the main producer of girl next door and ex day after tomorrow) thought otherwise.  The remix begins with random counting with this ethereal. fairy-like atmosphere which is a total 180 from the original!  I mean the arrangement didn’t change much at first and I got bored (and it covered up the verses TOO much).  Though the chorus is a WHOLE OTHER DEAL.  It’s very loud and heavily electronic and in your face.  It only happens a few times so it’s just a surprise when it does….This remix is a mess though and I MUCH prefer the original (or the album version XD)

6. Koi Oto to Amazora (Acoustic Version)

How to make a boring song, even more boring…make an acoustic take of it!  I mean the fact that the music is stripped for just piano is a harsh thing but it does make the listener focus more on the voices and that’s actually nice, but they sacrificed the fact the arrangement which was the only noticeable thing about the song, now it’s just boring as hell xD

Tracks Recommended

  • Eighth Wonder (Album Version)
  • PARTY IT UP
  • Love Is In The Air
  • Miss you
  • Believe

Song of Avoidance

  • Hohoemi no Saku Basho

Yeah, when the tracklist was released I knew this album was going to disappoint me a lot!  The sheer fact that this album is 99% of stuff we’ve heard before didn’t really help this album sans ONE brand new song.  avex surely got lazy as hell with this release and the fact they overloaded on B-sides as well…just really killed the album as well.  I mean “777” was bad too, but not THIS bad…I’m very disappointed.

 

2 Responses to “AAA – Eighth Wonder”

  1. Hikari K. Says:

    I’m a little dissagree with you about Koi Oto to Amazora. I think it’s nice, it had a mysterious feeling or whatever-you-call-it in it. and currently it’s my fav song, second after Daiji na Koto. the accoustic version is nice too. don’t you like ballad songs?😐

    • solarblade Says:

      I tend to stray from ballads a lot because it’s really difficult for me to keep attention and focus on the minute things in them, so most of the time I’m a bit singled out from the slow factors, but there’s times where ballads do catch my attention like “Miss you” did


Leave a Reply

