Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Kalafina – Alleluia October 1, 2013

Filed under: Kalafina — solarblade @ 1:29 am

alleluia

Track Listing

  1. Alleluia
  2. dolce
  3. seventh heaven ~2012 Christmas LIVE ver.~ (Regular edition only)
  4. snow falling ~2012 Christmas LIVE ver.~ (Regular edition only)
  5. fairytale ~2012 Christmas LIVE ver.~ (Anime edition only)
  6. Kimi ga Hikari ni Kaete Iku ~2012 Christmas LIVE ver.~ (Anime edition only)

1. Alleluia

The leading track, Alleluia at first sounded like it was going to be another one of the throwaway ballads, but luckily the chorus comes in and actually saves the song from being mediocre!  I love hearing KEIKO leading the track as her deeper vocals really stand out in this song.  After the 2nd chorus though, the song does start to kind of dragging itself but I do like the song even if it’s not exactly something that’ll stand the test of time when compared to other ballads of theirs.

2. dolce

I was surprised that the B-side is one of their short songs not even getting in 3 minutes.  The song sounds more like a chant because it’s got mostly just the trio in melodic form with strings behind them.  It actually reminds me of “Koto no wa” off their 3rd album.  It’s OK…but not very memorable for me…just a little on the bland side.

3. seventh heaven ~2012 Christmas LIVE ver.~

The remainder of the single is that we have 4 live songs during their Christmas live.  The regular edition comes with two while the anime edition and has 2 different songs.  I try to remember seventh heaven (from their same titled debut album) and honestly hearing it live, it’s rather nice to listen to.  Of their ballads, this is one of their better ones and of course they pull it off flawlessly live.  Not much to say really because ballads done live are usually great for Kalafina.

4. snow falling ~2012 Christmas LIVE ver.~

Though we move into a rather OK ballad to one that is just utterly boring.  As much as I love saying the ladies sound great singing the song, the song itself is just INCREDIBLY plain and really would sound *passable* live because there’s no way I’d survive listening to the studio cut.  snow falling was just not needed.

5. fairytale ~2012 Christmas LIVE ver.~

Then we get into the Anime version-only tracks.  Of the ballads they’ve released as A-sides, I think this is still one of my favorites from them.  I love the violins in the song and really keeps that slow wintry, isolated feel in the song.  I do love HIKARU in the song and everyone backing her up and all, so it was a very effective live of a pretty good ballad.

6. Kimi ga Hikari ni Kaete Iku ~2012 Christmas LIVE ver.~

Last, but not least, the final track is originally a B-side from their debut single, “oblivious”.  Back then, I wasn’t the biggest fan of it, even though KEIKO rocked that song nicely.  Though being another ballad, I’m at the point on this single where I just wanna tune it out because like “snow falling”, it’s a bit plain of forgetful.  I mean this is originally sung by KEIKO & WAKANA.

 

 

Beginning their 5th era, Alleluia was a pretty boring single for them.  I mean it was packed with nothing but ballads which really made me struggle to pay attention.  Alleluia isn’t bad of an A-side, but it’s quite nice.  dolce though was a bit short and kind of boring.  Add in the lives where it really only cemented the fact that they sing great.  Still, snow falling and Kimi ga Hikari ni Kaete Iku are just snoozefest songs.  Yeah, with their next single “Kimi no Gin no Niwa” coming out next month, I hope it’ll be better!

 

2 Responses to “Kalafina – Alleluia”

  1. Cha Says:

    Aw … I LOVED Dolce! Actually, I cried from its beauty. ; – ; I have a knack for harmony-filled chants and choir-esque songs like Dolce though, so maybe that’s why. I wish they made it longer.😥 But I agree on Hallelujah. It’s sweet and uplifting, and I still like it. But I suppose it sounds too similar to their other songs and generic that it didn’t hold my full interest. Kimi no Gin no Niwa was certainly more appealing though — that song is SO cute aaaah!❤ Misterioso and Tsuioku are very nice as well — Tsuioku is like Sandpiper and Serenato combined for sure though, aha!

    Out of their studio albums, which was your favourite?😀

    • solarblade Says:

      Of their studio albums….I think my favorite would have to be Red Moon….there was just a lot of amazing songs that filled out the whole era (including B-sides)…Definitely the one ^^


Leave a Reply

