Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Berryz Koubou – Motto Zutto Issho ni Itakatta/ROCK Erotic October 5, 2013

Filed under: Berryz Koubou — solarblade @ 9:04 pm

mottozutto

Track Listing

  1. Motto Zutto Issho ni Itakatta
  2. ROCK Erotic
  3. I’m so cool! (Limited A, B, C, and Regular only)
  4. Koisuru Technique (Limited D only)
  5. Motto Zutto Issho ni Itakatta (Instrumental)
  6. ROCK Erotic (Instrumental)

1. Motto Zutto Issho ni Itakatta

Opening the single, Motto Zutto Issho ni Itakatta is one of the group’s slower tracks and to be honest, I kind of was not interested in it because while it has some of the electro we’ve been seeing from Tsunku, the song seems a bit boring!  I like the ooo-ing in the background during the musical interludes.  I like that all the members are singing, but I still kind of feel that the song is just lacking for me.  That breakdown during the middle 8 was a bit messed up to be honest as well.  I guess vocally it’s nice…but otherwise…meh.

2. ROCK Erotic

The other A-side is of more to my liking because it mixes the aggressive electro we’ve seen with guitars and I quite like it.  I actually preferred this song way over “Motto Zutto Issho ni Itakatta” just because it’s faster and the vocals are quite striking.  The direction of the song is a bit weird at first because with Risako and Miyabi’s lines (I thought that was the verse) but it might…because the parts with Yurina…it seems like another set too.  Still, I really like the dramatics of the track and it’s just rather cool!

3. I’m so cool!

At least unlike their previous single, we got two B-side over NONE!  The first one is the one found on most of the editions of the single.  It’s actually quite a cute song to listen to.  Something about the playful synths is just a bit strange after the previoue two tracks xD.  However, the group seems rather bored with the song and the chorus is just a tad bit mundane.  I think they should just avoid cute songs from now on, it’s not their forte anymore.

4. Koisuru Technique

I was really interested when the other B-side opened up with all those buzzing synths!  I actually enjoyed this track as well because I love that they threw in some strings alongside the techno-bits.  It might not interest many because it stays at the same pace majority of the track, but the song did show quite a bit of some good melodies!  Definitely the preferred B-side.

 

 

I think I can agree that Berryz is just losing their spark the longer they continue.  Motto Zutto Issho ni Itakatta might grow on me, but it’s just really mediocre on me right now (even though there are some good parts).  Also I’m so cool! is just icky to listen to, way too boring and cute.  At least the single is save by ROCK Erotic & Koisuru Technique, the former being edgy and really catch while Koisuru Technique has a good arrangement and some good vocals.  Overall…I do like there’s more songs than their last single, “Golden Chinatown/Sayonara Usotsuki na Watashi” though in the end I liked 2 tracks as well xD.