Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Momoiro Clover Z – 5TH DIMENSION November 22, 2013

Filed under: Momoiro Clover Z — solarblade @ 7:59 am

5thdimension

Track Listing

  1. Neo STARGATE
  2. Kasou Dystopia
  3. Mouretsu Uchuu Koukyoukyoku Dainana Gakushou “Mugen no Ai”
  4. 5 The POWER
  5. Roudou Sanka
  6. Get Down!
  7. Otome Sensou
  8. Tsuki no Gingami Hikousen
  9. BIRTH Ø BIRTH
  10. Joukyuu Monogatari -Carpe diem-
  11. Soratobu! Ozashiki Ressha
  12. Saraba, Itoshiki Kanashimi-tachi yo
  13. Hai to Diamond

1. Neo STARGATE

Opening the album up is one of 2 promo tracks on the album and boy did they leave a mark on me.  Neo STARGATE though did struggle with me more in the long run because it has some long ass passages before the song ACTUALLY moves somewhere.  Then again it’s over 8 minutes long, that’s just a bit TOO grand to be opening an idol album like this.  I will say opening the album up with “O Fortuna” is impressive but it’s a bit jarring when we finally get into the song at 2:30.  Neo STARGATE does keep this dark, classical vibe with beats before it turns into this electropop/dubstep track and honestly, for having such a brooding intro, it just kind of felt weird and strange to have an opposite feel when MomocloZ starts singing.  The PV made the song good, but by itself…it’s a bit too awkward…yeah I’m still unsure how I feel.

2. Kasou Dystopia

With a title of dystopia, I was expecting more of this futuristic drive that “Neo STARGATE” had begun the album with and while there are some synth squeaks in the song, the overall feel as more of a classic rock n’ roll feel so there goes that idea.  I do enjoy the song quite a bit more than the previous track and while the vocals are still weak (group-wise), I love the chorus where they split into singing dual parts simultaneously.  I pretty much enjoyed this track ^^

3. Mouretsu Uchuu Koukyoukyoku Dainana Gakushou “Mugen no Ai”

Well we finally hit our first old song and Mugen no Ai STILL remains as my favorite released in the era.  There’s just something about this galactic rock song that REALLY impressed me so much back in 2012.  Then again you can’t go wrong with Marty Friedman right?  Now in my honest opinion, THIS should have opened the album and not “Neo STARGATE” because that song was literaly just made to open the album…yeah I went there…that song was an overglorified introduction.  Mugen no Ai was just epic and just really made me rock out to the song.  Even the meh vocals were passable IMHO.  Definitely one of the album’s strongest songs!

4. 5 The POWER

After that amount of awesomeness, we get 5 The POWER (strange that it isn’t the5th track XD).  Though the thing that makes this stick out on the album is that it’s the album’s rap track and to be honest, should’ve kept that title to ex-member, Akari because I’m not too impressed with any of the girls here.  To go from the epic rock masterpiece to this was a GIANT rip to the album and makes me loathe this song even more!

5. Roudou Sanka

Fortunately, it came back with Roudou Sanka which was a pretty good A-side because it really sounds like a 70s cop show including the 5 ladies singing like their singing through a megaphone.  I definitely did forget about the song because of MomocloZ’ reoease schedule and the amount of releases they’ve had since the single.  Still after all this time, it stands out quite nicely, though not with the album’s freaky theme.

6. Get Down!

Our next new track opens up with some odd xylophone sound before it gets into this little ditty of a track.  Then, I researched and it seem to be produced by OK GO and I can totally see it now, being that quirky experimentive/indies pop-rock sound that that group is known for.  I found it quite catchy and bouncy to listen to and fits snuggly after “Roudou Sanka”.

7. Otome Sensou

Then we get into the group’s 3rd A-side released and good lord this song was just BORING.  I mean the vocals were underwhelming and to be a 7 minute song was just extra salt in the wound.  I mean I compared it to “Z Densetsu” and everyone knows I hate that song so that being said, this one shouldn’t have been here (would’ve took “PUSH” a LOT more since it also got a PV).

8. Tsuki no Gingami Hikousen

Finally, a string a new songs!  Tsuki no Gingami Hikousen to me kind of also sticks out because it has more acoustics than any other track on the album and it has a certain vinyl feel with the flute sounds, kind of like something The Beatles have done before >.<.  Pretty grand of a song for Momoclo which is odd to say, but this is rather refreshing (especially at this point of the album).  In the end, it was a nice choice though I was still reeling from “Otome Sensou”😄 so it might’ve been different by itself.

9. BIRTH Ø BIRTH

So BIRTH Ø BIRTH was chosen as the 2nd track to promote the album and PV-wise was a sequal to “Neo STARGATE” and the similarities didn’t end there.  The track was also pretty electro but didn’t take as long to get to like the album’s opening track.  I have to say once again as well this kind of ruined the flow that the previous tracks tried to come up with.  The chorus was pretty vocally icky to listen to, but the rest of the song is quite strong and I loved the synthwork here.  The dubstep bug also found its way here as well, but it seemed to be one of those love it or hate it situations (for me, I didn’t like how it was the transition to the second verse).  Overall, the song is good, but there’s some glaring issues in it.

10. Joukyuu Monogatari -Carpe diem-

After that serious amount of trance, we get into more of a playful nature with Joukyuu Monogatari and I’m kind of trying to decide how I feel about the song.  I do love the acoustic guitar, and piano mix to give the song a more alive feeling.  I like the fast vocals though and the fast guitarwork mixed in with such a surprising arrangement.  I have read that it sounds like “Chai Maxx” and for good reason that it’s produced by the same guy.  I do agree, but this song sounds a LOT better and it just sounds so much fun!

11. Soratobu! Ozashiki Ressha

If there was one song that really sounds like something from “Battle and Romance”, it would have to be Soratobu! which in a way is a good thing they’ve kept their past together.  Though coming after “Joukyuu Monogatari”, it’s just not quite cutting it and doesn’t come off with the same energy as they put in the aforementioned track.  Just forgetful overall.

12. Saraba, Itoshiki Kanashimi-tachi yo

As the last A-side they released before the album, Saraba, Itoshiki Kanashimi-tachi yo seem to be like a mix of “Mugen no Ai” and “Roudou Sanka” by being rockin’ and also fun to listen to and they seem to get it right because Im just loving the arrangement and the girls actually TRIED to sound fitting to the tune.  I actually grew to love the song a lot more than before and is probably my 2nd favorite A-side on this album!

13. Hai to Diamond

Finally, the album ends with Hai to Diamond, a 7 minute ballad >.<.  I do love that it begins with a nice strings melody before the ladies come in and start singing.  By the time I thought they were at the final chorus…it was really only half way >.>.  That’s really how much interest I had in the song because Hai to Diamond was a BOREFEST from beginning to end and the time the 5 of them sing together, it was horrid to hear.  They need to REALLY work on how to harmonize for the future.

Tracks Recommended

  • Mouretsu Uchuu Koukyoukyoku Dainana Gakushou “Mugen no Ai”
  • Saraba, Itoshiki Kanashimi-tachi yo
  • Joukyuu Monogatari -Carpe diem-
  • Roudou Sanka
  • Get Down!

Song of Avoidance

  • 5 The POWER

I have to admit, I came into this album late, but I also kind of didn’t feel reviewing them much xD.  So here I am months later with the review and honestly, I think I’ve missed on SOME good songs.  Though the album is also full of some mediocre and some pretty icky moments.  Initially, I really liked Neo STARGATE and BIRTH Ø BIRTH, but after some time, the songs really were kind of hiding some good songs and even though they had a theme…it never really came out to the front of the album, cept the two tracks mentioned and Mugen no Ai.  Is it better than their first album?  Honestly, this is slightly better because there was more tracks I remembered more than “Battle and Romance’s”.

 

Leave a Reply

