Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

JASMINE – Complexxx November 24, 2013

Filed under: JASMINE — solarblade @ 11:36 am

complexxx

Track Listing

  1. High Flying
  2. Best Partner
  3. Addiction
  4. Touch me on the Beach
  5. B*TCH*S
  6. I Hate You
  7. Weekend High
  8. ONLY YOU
  9. Realize
  10. ONE
  11. HERO
  12. I’ll be there

1. High Flying

I didn’t think JASMINE would kick the album with a stretch of old songs, starting with the 4th A-side she released in the era.  When I reviewed the single, the tune struggled to really stand out for me because it kind of sounded familiar to me (plus the beat section has been done so much here in America, so it’s less than impressive to me).  On the album, I wasn’t sure if she should’ve started with this because it sounds more like an ending theme LOL.  I’m still not the biggest fan of it, but the chorus was nice to listen to.

2. Best Partner

Then we go back a single to Best Partner which was released in this very spaced out period she had (which I still don’t understand why she kind of disappeared back in most of 2012.  I was missing her a lot then and when she came back with Best Partner, it was like she never left because this song is really strong and I love the strings being the backbone for the song alongside those R&B beats.  Once again, the chorus was just orgasmic and she gave a great vocal perfomance here.  Definitely what should’ve begun the album IMHO.

3. Addiction

Of course JASMINE would include all the B-sides (even sadder is that they’re all clumped together).  First is the B-side from “ONLY YOU” and to be honest, her B-sides were all right on top of her style so I was definitely happy to see them.  Addiction turns the mood of the album from a sullen side to a more energetic and fun side.  I’m kind of loving the whole drumline and attitude driven side of JASMINE’s vocals and honestly, this song impressed me a lot more as I kept listening to it.

4. Touch me on the Beach

Then we get the B-sides from the “Best Partner” single but switched around so Touch me on the Beach comes first.  It did have to compete being after “Addiction”, but this song continues this stretch of fun songs and JASMINE is definitely channeling her sexy side in this tune and I love it so much because she just shows so much of herself and her growls in the song is just awesome!  I was just surprised she didn’t make this a damn A-side!

5. B*TCH*ES

Moving on, I can see why she put those 3 in succession of each other because we went from edgy and fun to sexy and I love the groove of B*TCH*S really has a gnarly groove to it, almost like an underground kind of sound and I’m loving JASMINE just bringing it!  It might not be radio-catchy as the previous tracks, but this song was definitely the peak of her edgy attitude and I have to say it stuck out nicely on the album!

6. I Hate You

We finally get new tracks, though only 4 again?  I Hate You might sound like it would’ve topped the previous track with its straightforward title, but it kind of takes elements from “High Flying”, but has some interesting breakdowns throughout to break some monotony.  I really can’t tell what I feel because I love the synth parts and when JASMINE is singing, but the gritty breakdowns and slight wubs in the song kind of just take me out for a bit.  Not bad, but it doesn’t have lasting power on me.

7. Weekend High

Then the next new track totally makes up for some of the weaknesses that “I Hate You” had.  Though this song is taking more of a pop song than something darker.  I actually thought this song did very nice with JASMINE’s voice and hearing this really awesome EDM song just made me wanna dance to this in a club and that’s a very awesome thing ^^.  Though that breakdown with the whole ~jump around~ could’ve been its own song hahaha.  Still, this was a great song!

8. ONLY YOU

Moving onto the 2nd A-side of the era, ONLY YOU harkens back to the stuff she released back in the “GOLD” days and even though I did like it, regular mopey R&B was kind of getting tiresome.  The fact that there really isn’t a lot of that on Complexxx does help it out because it’s kind of by itself on the album.  By itself though, I just kind of forget about it because it lacks what makes most of the other songs on the album pop, but still it’s non-offensive so I guess that’s a compliment right?

9. Realize

The 3rd new song for the album, would be like “ONLY YOU” if it didn’t have that pretty awesome synth riff/beat that acts as the arrangement and I have to say I LOVE IT.  You can tell JASMINE is really giving her all in this song because of that really powerful chorus and it impresses me that her voice doesn’t crack all over the place.  I find it that this is the kind of song she would really impress many people with and it’s definitely the best new track on the album.

10. ONE

Jeeze this was an old song, back from 2011 xD  The song that started of the era, ONE is still one of my favorite A-sides she released and it still stands strong amongst the songs on the album.  It’s a pretty chill jam and I love the lyrics for the song a bit being original and being yourself, ahhh this just brings memories of listening to this and just orgasming all over it😄.  I mean damn, this song is just JASMINE all rolled into a great song!

11. HERO

We move from the oldest song on the album to the most recent, HERO is also one of those sore thumb songs because it’s electro and was produced by Taku (which I totally did not see coming).  JASMINE’s vocals are pretty strong still, but I think this song was so different on the album that there wasn’t a good enough place for it xD.  I mean it’s club-friends, very electronic and JASMINE didn’t put a whole lot of lyrics to this (in comparison to all the other songs on the album).  It doesn’t fit on the album, but it was a good song as a single…weird right?

12. I’ll be there

The final track on the album is also the last new song and to say it doesn’t try to be like another “High Flying” is a bit meh.  Actually it kind of sounds like a mix of that track and “ONLY YOU” and that wasn’t exactly very memorable for me.  It’s another “GOLD”-like tune and once again wasn’t feeling the need to have another Americanized R&B jam (moreso being the final track).  I mean it’s not shitty, but definitely something I’m not really gonna return to.

Tracks Recommended

  • ONE
  • Realize
  • Touch me on the Beach
  • Addiction
  • Weekend High

Song of Avoidance

  • I’ll be there

WOW, for how long it took for JASMINE to put out her sophomore album, it sure was worth it…sort of.  Complexxx shares similarties with “GOLD” in the way that 2/3 of the album was old stuff and considering it took over 2 years…that wasn’t exactly bringing it up.  HOWEVER, she had a pretty damn good set of A-sides and B-sides to make up for the amount of time this album had and brought me back to why I loved JASMINE.  It’s not a perfect album because two songs were kind of meh, but over I would *RECOMMEND* this album for people who love R&B and wants a strong yet fun album to listen to!

 

Leave a Reply

