Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Kavka Shishido – Kavkanize November 24, 2013

Filed under: Kavka Shishido — solarblade @ 4:45 am

kavkanize

Track Listing

  1. Day Dream Rider
  2. Love Corrida
  3. Kiken na Futari
  4. Engine
  5. Shinkaigyo
  6. Muteki no Rock Star
  7. Makenai Game
  8. Futatsu no Taiyou
  9. Gunjou
  10. Countdown
  11. Aisuru Kakugo
  12. 100nen Beer
  13. Tobenai Tori
  14. The outsiders (feat. Dohzi-T)
  15. Tsuki no Kagayaki Kata
  16. music

1. Day Dream Rider

It’s no surprise that Kavka would open the album up with the first song she put out (which later was a B-side to her first single, “Aisuru Kakugo”.  Unlike many of her other songs, she did depend on synthwork to fill out the song alongside her drumming prowess  The song itself isn’t bad persay and Kavka sounded good (though relient on auto-tune).  She definitely gave me a reason to follow her and while the song isn’t quite as awesome as later songs in her career, she definitely was humble enough to kick things off right.

2. Love Corrida

Which is led to our first new track and was used as the promo track for the album.  In comparison to “Day Dream Rider”, it shows her far she’s come so far in her career and the song kind of fixes a lot of the things that did kind of made me worry with her debut.  I also feel like Kavka’s voice just filled the song in a good way and the chorus was pretty exciting to listen to as well!  It’s definitely got fun written all over it so this was a pretty awesome choice to have been used for the promo.

3. Kiken na Futari

Then we’re led to the last A-side for the era and I still quite believe this was the best of the A-sides released!  Unlike the previous two tracks, this had a bit more focus on Kavka’s rock side and that’s quite why I love her a lot because her rock songs sound totally badass, plus Kavka sounds totally in her realm here so this REALLY impressed the hell out of me and I hope she continues to focus on this sound for the future!

4. Engine

Moving onto some new songs that I haven’t heard, Engine isn’t as hard-hitting like “Kiken na Futari” or “Countdown” but takes a little more of an acoustic rock track which is something new for me to listen to!  I actually enjoy how she changed it up for the song because many people have enjoyed her full-on hard songs, but this is more pop-friendly, but still Kavka!  It’s not that bad actually though I think it’ll be passed up by the bigger tracks on the album.

5. Shinkaigyo

Our next new track is even more chill than “Engine” was which is such a good change since I don’t think Kavka has done a ballad yet.  It does sound a bit Western in its sound which might surprise some people actually.  Like the previous mentioned song, it might not rank high for me as other songs, but I can say that Kavka sounds great in a slower setting ^^

6. Muteki no Rock Star

Moving onto the 2nd B-side for the album (from “music”) and I am SOOO happy it made the album cut because it was my favorite track from the single.  It also brought back the peppy and fun side to Kavka that was prevalent in the first couple tracks.  Kavka sounds quite expressive and relentless which helped the track to be a lot more wild and fun to listen to, plus the band sounded really solid!  Yeah, I still really love the hell outta this one!

7. Makenai Game

Back to some more new tracks, Makenai Game takes another dive into another “Day Dream Rider”-esque son with Makenai Game with incorporating synths alongside Kavka’s rock style.  I have to say she succeeded way better in this track because she didn’t get heavily auto-tuned.  Against the other songs, it is rather uneventful as a rock track, but this is pretty good regardless.

8. Futatsu no Taiyou

Another kind of Western rock song huh?  I kind of sadly didnt think much of this song in the long run because Kavka actually sounds rather bored in the song which translates onto the listener and I felt kind of bored here too.  At least the Southern Rock mixed with synths is an interesting take, but the energy felt very low sadly.

9. Gunjou

A surprise awaits getting into Gunjou as it’s quite devoid of any of Kavka’s style at the start.  It’s a rather interesting ballad from Kavka and honestly stuck out so much better than “Shinkaigyo” as the slow song of the ballad.  After the the first verse and chorus, the tune opens up more with a little more of what we’ve from Kavka.  It’s not a bad track and one of the better songs on the album IMO.

10. Countdown

Finally, we get to the BEST song Kavka has done since her debut!  If there was a song that just screams badass and perfectly shows off Kavka’s attitude, it’s definitely this song, (one of the B-sides from “Aisuru Kakugo”).  I just love the energy and heavy riffs this song produced.  I just could not shake this song the entire era and was more than happy to see its inclusion.  Ugh, this is just hands down the album’s best song IMO.

11. Aisuru Kakugo

Moving onto Kavka’s first A-side, and I can see why she picked this over “Day Dream Rider” but at the same time, it was a rather risky debut because the track doesn’t have a full-on rock atmosphere and kind of has this bouncy feel to it to pop more.  The beat does take the lead because it was a song to show off Kavka’s drumming skills.  It’s definitely her best song released, but she had to start somewhere, right?

12. 100nen Beer

The fun continues as we get into our last stretch of new tracks. 100nen Beer has a bit more free-form sound here and it has a cool and classy feel to it mixed in with splashes of electronic blips and wubs.  I once again fell in love with the energy and power of the song.  I think it might be my favorite new song on the album, but there could be more surprises.

13. Tobenai Tori

I was kind of confused by our next track, Tobenai Tori because the intro is heavy and loud, but swiftly becomes light and airy which was a bit of a stretch for me to enjoy.  I kind of liked the relaxed feel of the forces and then the chorus comes in with synths and I was taken aback, but then the chorus kind of becomes a slow but powerful hitter, but returns to the chill vibe for the second chorus.  I don’t know why but it just didn’t work for me and this is probably the first meh song on the album IMO

14. The outsiders (feat. Dohzi-T)

The last new song has a featured artist huh, I think Dohzi-T is well-known enough to not be introduced right?  It’s another strong rock track of course and Kavka is actually singing in English for this song which is pretty cool and she didn’t exactly show that in her singles hah!  It’s a good song up until Dohzi-T appears and the song changes into this gritty melody and kind of takes me out of the song since I wasn’t impressed with his section and rap.  Otherwise, this is actually nice and Kavka should do more songs in English!

15. Tsuki no Kagayaki Kata

Then we get into the final tracks and the first is one of the B-sides from “Kiken na Futari”.  I’m once again VERY happy that she chose the best songs from the singles.  I love how it begun with piano and a softer sound before and grows into a dramatic chorus.  Kavka’s vocals aren’t as concrete like in other songs, but she gave a nice performance once again.

16. music

The final track on the album is the 2nd A-side she released!  I was curious to why she chose this to end the album because I felt like “Tsuki no Kagayaki Kata” would’ve made a better ending to the album.  I will say that it was a pretty nifty track at release and it’s still one of the more catchier songs that she released prior to the album.  Odd end, but overall strong song!

Tracks Recommended

  • Countdown
  • 100nen Beer
  • Love Corrida
  • Kiken na Futari
  • Muteki no Rock Star

Song of Avoidance

  • Tobenai Tori

Ahhh we’ve come to Kavka’s debut album!  Kavkanize was a surprisingly strong album for Kavka (though I my expectations were high as it was).  I love that majority of the album were new tracks (with 7 being previously released and were good songs chosen too!).  Some of the new tracks might not have longevity like many other songs but overall, this album is an album to sit and listento if you’re into female rock singers!  I can’t wait for what’s next from her ^^

 

2 Responses to “Kavka Shishido – Kavkanize”

  1. Mint Says:

    Whaaaa? Tobenai Tori is one of my favorite tracks! Even though it switches between chill and powerful, I quite like the transitions in the song. Maybe you’ll warm up to it.

  2. audrey Says:

    I liked it a lot, thought it was a coherent, fun album; Love Corrida was my favorite, I kind of wish they’d included “Survival” and or “Wonder Girl” though.😀


Leave a Reply

