Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Perfume – Sweet Refrain November 24, 2013

Filed under: Perfume — solarblade @ 10:13 am

sweetrefrain

Track Listing

  1. Sweet Refrain
  2. Koi wa Zenkei Shisei
  3. Sweet Refrain -Original Instrumental-
  4. Koi wa Zenkei Shisei -Original Instrumental-

1. Sweet Refrain

I didn’t know what was going on when Perfume announced a new song before “LEVEL3” had released and I kind of had some weird thoughts about how it would turn out.  As I listened to the song, it did kind of reminded me of some MEG tunes, but Nakata threw in some dubstep wubs that almost kind of has this “Invader Invader” groove but keeps the group going.  Sadly, the song just doesn’t do anything for me, but I’m not exactly sure why because it sounds like it’d be something I’d be into…but I think 8-note piano melody just kind of gets boring and lets Nakata just throw all his production all over the place…I do think the dubstep doesn’t really fit either >.>.

2. Koi wa Zenkei Shisei

I was hoping the B-side would do something more and compared to most of the B-sides from the “LEVEL3” era, this actually was a nice change of pace…but in that respect, the song feels more like an album song from “JPN” so it does drag for me towards the later half.  I also can’t help but think of this as a faster “Macaroni” with its presentation.  It’s nice and all, but I don’t think I’ll remember it in the long run.

 

 

Not even 2 months and we’re already getting a new Perfume single and I can’t help but feel that this single was a bit rushed.  Sweet Refrain tried to do something fresh by incorporating dubstep alongside the fairy-esque arrangement but it was a mess IMO and I just couldn’t into it after the PV came out.  Koi wa Zenkei Shisei is a bit better to be honest and that didn’t need the tweaks the A-side had, but I feel like both of these songs were just “LEVEL3” rejects almost >.<

 

One Response to “Perfume – Sweet Refrain”

  1. Spade Says:

    It’s too bad you weren’t able to enjoy this song – for me its title is quite apt, I had “Sweet Refrain” stuck in my head from the moment I first heard it. And the way Nakata incorporated the dubstep elements into this song I thought was GENIUS! It adds some wonderfully effective tension and even menace to the prechorus, before allowing all that built-up anticipation to burst into joy with the chorus. This is the fun of music for me, the way sounds and styles can be borrowed and deployed in different ways to arrive at something new and unexpected, and Nakata I think does a fine job of that here.

    Just got a chance to listen to “Koi wa Zenkei Shisei”, and I’m liking it! This one actually feels more like an old-school MEG song to me than “Sweet Refrain” did (though I can hear what you mean on that one, too). I enjoyed the characteristic Nakata melody lines, particularly in the prechorus and chorus, with their enjoyably unexpected yet satisfying motions in notes and rhythms. (In fact, for my money, these kinds of melody line movements are one of the major things that keep me coming back to Nakata’s work – “Fushizen na Girl” and “Natural ni Koishite” being two prime examples of this in my mind.) Overall, not as memorable as “Sweet Refrain”, but a nice B-side.

    For me, this is a very nice bonus on top of my continued enjoyment of LEVEL3, though perhaps it came out too soon after LEVEL3 to be fully appreciated by everyone. It does sound like you *wanted* to like this one, but couldn’t, so hopefully you can come back to it later and enjoy it then!


Leave a Reply

