Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Tohoshinki – TIME November 25, 2013

Filed under: Tohoshinki — solarblade @ 3:06 am

time

Track Listing

  1. Fated
  2. Catch Me -If you wanna-
  3. Aitakute Aitakute Tamaranai
  4. One More Thing
  5. STILL
  6. I Know
  7. Y3K
  8. BLINK
  9. Humanoids
  10. ANDROID
  11. One and Only One
  12. In Our Time
  13. Rat Tat Tat (CD only)
  14. Winter Rose (CD only)

1. Fated

Opening Tohoshinki’s album, Fated starts off with a muffled voice under a darker setting with guitars and dramatic strings playing.  It’s a pretty cool song to listen to and hearing Yunho and Changmin singing in a quieter tone to fit the mysterious sound of the tune is quite an effect.  Though I’m so bothered when they say the title…it’s just so lulzy to me XD.  The song seems to have different phases which does keep me on my toes…overall it’s a rather good way to start things off!

2. Catch Me -If you wanna-

Released as the 4th A-side for the album, I was totally expecting the group to make a Japanese self-cover of this track because it was a pretty damn good song when the Korean version was released!  I was still surprised the group did wait quite a while before releasing it and while I’m still so used to the Korean, the Japanese version is quite solid and I love that intro so damn much XD.  If “Fated” was the rock intro, Catch Me is the K-pop/Electronic intro and to be honest, I can really grow to love this a lot as much as the Korean take….oh yeah Changmin, you really pushed yourself hard in this song and I LOVED IT!

3. Aitakute Aitakute Tamaranai

Well I felt like this was a giant 180 from the previous tracks to something more poppy and relaxed.  Though I will say that I do enjoy this kind of boyband pop track and both guys sound really nice, though hearing ~aitakute aitakute~ over and over again does make me annoyed of this track, but the verses are so pretty to listen to.  I will say that Yunho definitely made this song though, Changmin kind of ruined since he gets all the repetitive lines in the chorus and I was over it quickly XD.

4. One More Thing

As the B-side to “STILL” (was an A-side originally, but was switched last minute).  To me, it’s like another “Aitakute Aitakute Tamaranai” but without the grievances of said track, even to the point where Changmin leads most of the track while Yunho takes the verses up which is nice I suppose.  I still kind of lulz with the ~one more ding~ but overall it’s a much pleasant track than the last tune

5. STILL

Funny that the A-side would come next.  We’re basically at a ballad with STILL and while I feel like the cheesy 80’s keyboard with the pounding beat seems a bit farfetched to mix things up, but I actually think it was one of their better ballads since becoming a duo.  Yunho sounds better than his counterpart in this song once again, but I think I’ve come to grips with that fact XD.  I don’t think it reigns over the other ballad A-side that came out, but it’s a good ballad.

6. I Know

Then we come into the B-side from “Catch Me -If you wanna-” and I still stand by my thoughts on it sounding like a mix of the previous two songs on the album.  At this point, I’m starting to lose my concentration for the album because these laidback R&B songs just don’t do anything for me.  I suppose the added strings add a nice touch, but I can honestly not remember anything from this song after the single review and I probably won’t remember after the album review either LOL.

7. Y3K

~Warning, everything you thought you knew will self-destruct in 5, 4, 3, 2, 1~  Yeah this is how they were going to segue from “I Know” into this kind of aggressive jam.  I will say, I was surprised at how much Changmin was in this song (actually was Yunho even here? XD).  I kind of like this chanting and forceful beat, but the chorus I think was dragging it a little bit.  It’s a nifty song and really showed off all the attitude the guys have (if not it was obviously from when they were 5-nin).

8. BLINK

Moving onwards to the B-side from “ANDROID”, BLINK is another slick and sly track from the duo and while it’s hard to not say any of the guys’ upbeat songs and filled to the brim with their personalities, BLINK actually toned it down a little bit and I think that’s why I ended up enjoying this song so much because it felt like they were acting as one and I loved it!  Though hearing them saying ~brink, brink~ once again just is lulzy….maybe they should’ve called it that since it sounds fitting, since it sounds as edgy as it is.

9. Humanoids

So we have another self-cover but this time of Humanoids (which was the lead song for their repackaged “Catch Me”).  It’s a lot like the mentioned song being powerful and in your face, but not in the same fantastic force.  I can see why this is found in more of other dance tracks.  I actually like the Japanese take a LOT more than the Korean version which is a bit strange, then again there’s a lot of Engrish here as well but this song was another that really caught my attention with chorus and badass afterchorus as well!  Great choice to have chose to bring into Japan!

10. ANDROID

Ah, moving to the 3rd A-side released, ANDROID doesn’t pack as much of an impact like many of the other upbeat songs on the album, but it definitely was an impressive choice to have chosen for an A-side.  Though I’m starting to get tired of using dubstep t oget buy in songs so the breakdown in ANDROID isn’t exaclty the best thing to hear to be honest.  Other than that, the rest of the tune went really well!

11. One and Only One

Once again stopping the flow of the album suddenly, One and Only One comes next and this time I feel like I hear tons of Yunho (maybe the opposite to “Y3K”.  Unfortunately, the song isn’t really all that memorable for me since it’s kind of that typical J-pop ballad and all that.  I guess it was great to showcase Yunho in all his glory, but the song just kind fell flat.

12. In Our Time

As the final song on most editions, In Our Time closes things out with a 6 minute mid-tempo track.  I’m not exactly sure what to think of the song because it’s just another “One More Thing” and “Aitakute Aitakute Tamaranai” and there’s a lot of ~la-la-la-ing~ going on in the song which totally wasn’t necessary to stretch the song as long as it was.  After a while, the song begun to drag a lot and I just was forgetting a lot of the track xD.  Fitting to end, but as a standalone, was very vanilla!

13. Rat Tat Tat

The album though doesn’t end there, the CD only has two extra tracks on them (in comparsion to “TONE’s” 3 bonus tracks.  Rat Tat Tat at first started off with a sort of hip-hop feel and the pre-chorus has a little rock thrown in and then the chorus gets all poppy and the vocals become lighter than the arrangement.  I’m kind of unsure how to take the song, but the song wasn’t a good incentive for the album…not that memorable.

14. Winter Rose

The other bonus track is the first single released for the era (though it’s a bonus track which is kind of shady xD).  I have to say, Winter Rose was the best ballad the duo released from their singles and I thought this was a good way to close the album altogether.  Though I can understand that the feeling of the album doesn’t seem to be not in the right holiday time (when this was released).  I just love the vocal perfomances of both members and the melody is very sweet to listen to.  Great ballad!

Tracks Recommended

  • BLINK
  • Winter Rose
  • Humanoids
  • Catch Me -If you wanna-
  • One More Thing

Song of Avoidance

  • Aitakute Aitakute Tamaranai

Getting into Tohoshinki’s 2nd album as a duo, TIME is slightly better than “TONE” was, but still overall not too great of an album, I would say average.  Only a few new tracks caught my eye but mostly were really mediocre and forgetful.  It seems like the effort was mostly in the singles and self-covers.  I think they could put out a great album, but they should cut back on the cheesy pop songs, they just don’t work them well as they were when they were a 5-nin group.

 

Leave a Reply

