Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

KARA – FANTASTIC GIRLS December 4, 2013

Filed under: KARA — solarblade @ 2:45 pm

fantasticgirls

Track Listing

  1. Thank You Summer Love
  2. Burn! Burn! Heartbeat
  3. Bye Bye Happy Days!
  4. Rescue Me
  5. POP STAR
  6. Promise
  7. Endless Night
  8. Ichiban ni Watashi wo Dakishimete
  9. HANABI
  10. My Boy
  11. Happy Happy Love (Limited C only)

1. Thank You Summer Love

Opening the album is the group’s 2nd and final single released before the album.  As a summer song, I was already throwing my hands up in the air because they’ve done this sort of song of succeeded with “GO GO Summer!”.  Sadly, the other A-side had already done this as well and it just seems like it’s another clone and I just couldn’t really get it, but as it’s the opening track, I will say that it did well opening it up ^^.

2. Burn! Burn! Heartbeat

Moving into our first new track, Burn! Burn! Heartbeat has the cuter KARA sound mixed with their K-pop sound and I kind of dig it in this case because I’m just loving the beat and flow and of course the group sounds really nice together!  It’s definitely fitting to their image and definitely a strong album, but let’s see if they have more surprises xD.

3. Bye Bye Happy Days!

We move into the first A-side and it’s even synthier than the previous two tracks and this was represented as a summer song alongside the other A-side.  This actually reminds me more of “GO GO Summer!” which is kind of nice but like I said before, has a bit of unoriginality running through it.  For this album, it’s alright, but I can’t remember how it goes after a while.

4. Rescue Me

Getting into a stretch of new songs, we start with Rescue Me and it’s got a lof of groove to it and I have to say I quite like the sound of this one.  It’s a pretty cool dance track for the group and they still sound great still!  It isn’t as exciting like “Burn! Burn! Heartbeat” was but this is a pretty solid track from the group.

5. POP STAR

What a weird intro to our next track with the bloop/bleeps xD.  I can tell this album is going to be filled with this glossy pop tracks.  POP STAR sounds like a clone of “Rescue Me” for some reason but this has a little more speed and oomph to it so it definitely surpasses it.  Just a fun, bouncy pop track and I quite liked it

6. Promise

Promise comes in to tone things down a little bit by being more of a mid-tempo track.  At first I thought they were going to utilize dubstep with that intro but luckily it didn’t turn out that way.  The song is quite chill and very smooth all the way through and I just enjoyed it all the way through…the ladies sound so pretty (I wish I knew their names by their voices).  Definitely my favorite track so far now.

7. Endless Night

Then comes the goofy sounding ditty, Endless Night and I’m noticing their reusing synth sounds which kind of turns me off and adding that this is more of a cuter song coming from KARA, I was kind of put off slightly.  I don’t know why these kind of songs just turn me off, but they don’t seem to really work for KARA.  Meh….

8. Ichiban ni Watashi wo Dakishimete

Unfortunately we get 3 meh songs and I’m already dreading it.  Though this is an actual ballad here.  I’m loving whoever is leading the track in the first verse though because she sounds beautiful and suited the arrangement.  The chorus though is a bit of a bore however and after a while it does kind of drag itself…it was OK at first bit now it’s slightly forgettable.

9. HANABI

So both main B-sides make the album cut and I can’t really care about either of them.  HANABI was the better of the two since it wasn’t a re-tread song.  I do love that the song tried to be a lot more louder and broader than “Ichiban ni Watashi wo Dakishimete” but the song drags as well and I don’t think I remember the vocals much here and well yeah…just not much else to say here.

10. My Boy

The last song on most editions of the album, My Boy is the other B-side and is a Japanese self-cover of their Korean song “Date”.  I did say that in comparison to the Korean take, it’s actually not as lifeless and boring, but comparing to the other tracks on the album, it’s not as memorable either and sounds like ANOTHER summer song hahah.  Overall meh xD

11. Happy Happy Love

On Limited C onlys, you get a bonus track in Happy Happy Love and it’s a 3 minute track…hm.  As a bonus track, I was surprised this wasn’t just added because in comparison, it actually has a sense of class and sexiness and I enjoyed that sound because nothing on this album came off that way to me.  It definitely has a bit of a quirky side to it and even though it’s a bit short it stuck out to me!

Tracks Recommended

  • Promise
  • Burn! Burn! Heartbeat
  • POP STAR
  • Happy Happy Love
  • Rescue Me

Song of Avoidance

  • Endless Night

It seems like with KARA, their 4th album, FANTASTIC GIRLS felt like maybe the group is losing their effort and interest because even though the first half was ok and not terrible, the 2nd half was actually more boring and lifeless.  Unfortunately, this is the last album with the current line-up since Nicole is leaving the group at the end of the month (plus I have one more single to review “French Kiss”).  FANTASTIC GIRLS definitely a step down from “Girls Forever” IMO.

 

Leave a Reply

