Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Tommy heavenly6 – TOMMY ♡ ICE CREAM HEAVEN ♡ FOREVER December 4, 2013

Filed under: Tommy heavenly6 — solarblade @ 11:50 am

tommyheaven

Track Listing

  1. -Intro- CUPCAKE CASTLE 【Dark Sugar Storm】
  2. I WANT YOUR BLOOD†
  3. LET ME SCREAM
  4. LOVIN’ YOU
  5. forever and anywhere
  6. Can you hear me?
  7. -Intro- CUPCAKE CASTLE 【Sugar Snow】
  8. Ruby eyes
  9. Ash Like Snow (English version)
  10. MILK TEA
  11. -Intro- Gelato Mountains Fight
  12. ICE CREAM HEAVEN FOREVER

1. -Intro- CUPCAKE CASTLE- 【Dark Sugar Storm】

Beginning the album, we get an introduction to the album!  Which starts out like an awesome Halloween-like atmosphere with them pipe organs and dark atmosphere.  Though it is 37 seconds long so you don’t really get somethin too interesting out of it but it’s led into our next song smoothly!

2. I WANT YOUR BLOOD†

Which throttles the gas with a heavy metal riff and the speed is damn fast and I’m loving the edgier side and I’m already liking this!  Tomoko sounds like herself and I love her quips when she says the title in the song and the chorus broadens things out even further and I just can’t help but love it all!  What a badass way to start the album!

3. LET ME SCREAM

Which calms down a touch with our next song LET ME SCREAM which sounds like Tomoko is going back to her first two album with that mix of heavy metal and punk rock and this song was that nice nostalgic punch that I missed from Tomoko.  Though Tomoko in the bridge has kind of a monotony about it that bores me slightly, but the chorus fixes that up in all the good ways it can.  Though this might be the Halloween song because she mentions things accompanied to the holiday and I love it!  Definitely a fitting tune in Tommy’s collection of creepy holiday.

4. LOVIN’ YOU

Moving onto LOVIN’ YOU, we’re already going at it with some ahhhs thrown in.  This song does slightly remind me of “PAPERMOON” which is lighter, but still edgy rock sound.  I actually thought it was pretty catchy and shows more of a light-hearted sound to heavenly’s darker sound.  One of the standout tracks from the album!

5. forever and anywhere

Now, Tomoko has never really did English well and it seems to be the focus for our next track forever and anywhere which is entirely sung in it.  I can’t really understand a lot of what she said in the verses but the chorus is a lot better and I like it.  It’s a tad dramatic too which is a nice touch, but I think I would love a Japanese take of this.

6. Can you hear me?

As one of the two promotional tracks for the album, I was curious because she has been redeeming herself with “HEAVENLY”.  I have to say, after all the loud and in your face tracks, I wasn’t expecting Can you hear me? to be more of an acoustic rock track (with some electric involved).  I do love when Tommy gets lighter and this kind of reminded me of “unlimited sky” (at least the beginning of it).  It’s chilled out and Tomoko sounds really nice here.  I have to say, risky choice to have it promote the album, but good song overall!

7. -Intro- CUPCAKE CASTLE 【Sugar Snow】

I thought it was funny that the PV for the track after this ACTUALLY used the intro to the album as the opening…but for the tracklist it’s preceded by Sugar Snow.  It’s a lot more dramatic and not as foreboding as “Dark Sugar Storm” and I love it.  Very cool interlude and it leads just as smoothly into “Ruby eyes”.

8. Ruby eyes

Which is the other song used to promote and IT’S BADASS!  Initially, I thought it had ties to “Ruby shoes” (the B-side from “PAPERMOON”) but it doesn’t seem like it.  It definitely has ties to previous punk rock tracks like the previous songs mentioned, “Heavy Starry Chain”, “monochrome sky” and the like.  I really love the energy from this one and the chorus is so awesome and I have to give props to who played drums in this one…definitely a difficult one!  I really love this one and was happy that it was chosen to promote the album.

9. Ash Like Snow (English version)

Y’know, I’ve always thought Ash Like Snow was more of a Tommy song than something from the brilliant green because like “Ruby eyes” it sounds like a lot of heavenly6’s stuff already.  I was surprised that she would do this now and not back then but it is what it is.  Seeing the English version you know I had to be worried with this one.  It also got an arrangement edit as well which I wasn’t too fond of.  To be honest, this version kind of just messed up everywhere and I just kind of loathed listening to this one.  Keep the original! BTW, Tomoko saying coruppted as ~cowuppted~ is cute xD.

10. MILK TEA

No, it’s not a Koda Kumi cover😄.  MILK TEA might be the most upbeat song on the album and kind of reminds me of her debut.  It’s peppy, energetic and Tomoko’s voice is a bit higher which gives it that girly punch.  Considering how much badassery is on this album, I did feel MILK TEA was a bit lighter and kind of didn’t fit on this album?  Actually I’m surprised she didn’t give this to AMOYAMO.  If it was on her first album it would’ve been a great song.  Here, it’s pretty good, but definitely overwhelmed by many other tunes.

11. -Intro- Gelato Mountains Fight

The final interlude is a 50 second…wintry interlude which is kind of cute yet creepy at the same time.  I love the descending/ascending xylophone melody…kind of gives this unique and creepy tone to lead in our final track.

12. ICE CREAM HEAVEN FOREVER

As the final track and title track, I was wondering what she pull out and it’s like a mix of her rock sound but there’s synths underlying the track but it works because it’s still heavy and edgy (just with different instrumentation).  It’s definitely a jam-worthy song but like “MILK TEA”, a lot of the other songs are a lot more cooler to me.  I’ll admit it’s catchy though and I love that she used synths here and not forcing a february-esque sound here

Tracks Recommended

  • Ruby eyes
  • I WANT YOUR BLOOD†
  • LOVIN’ YOU
  • LET ME SCREAM

Song of Avoidance

  • Ash Like Snow (English version)

It just seems to be Tomoko’s year isn’t it?  Two full albums this year under both her Tommy monikers!  I will say that she didn’t do quite as well with this one than she did with her february album mainly because we got only 9 instead of a full ten.  I will say her Engrish here is a bit more noticeable and a lil more annoying here for some reason this time around too (Ash Like Snow is pretty criminal on all accounts).  Still, she definitely put some effort here and released some pretty badass songs (like she has been).  Definitely a strong album and considering the last actual studio album she released (“I KILL MY HEART”) she definitely blew it out of the water.

 

2 Responses to “Tommy heavenly6 – TOMMY ♡ ICE CREAM HEAVEN ♡ FOREVER”

  1. Ringo90 Says:

    I love your reviews! I actually like the songs in this album a lot, was only a bit disappointed by Ash like snow, and I think there 3 intros is too much when we have 12 total tracks, but still very enjoyable!

  2. Ringo90 Says:

    Oh, almost forgot… I’m waiting for your your review of “Flash” by Amoyamo :3


Leave a Reply

