Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Shoujo Jidai – LOVE&PEACE December 18, 2013

Filed under: Shoujo Jidai — solarblade @ 9:28 am

loveandpeace

Track Listing

  1. Gossip Girls
  2. motorcycle
  3. FLYERS
  4. GALAXY SUPERNOVA
  5. LOVE&GIRLS
  6. BEEP BEEP
  7. My oh My
  8. LIPS
  9. DO THE CATWALK
  10. Karma Butterfly
  11. Lingua Franca
  12. Everyday Love
  13. blue jeans (Fanclub bonus track)

1. Gossip Girls

Opening the album, I was so ready for what SNSD had planned and they brought it with the opening song, Gossip Girls.  I love the clapping rhythms and the group actually showing a lot of personality and force and it’s definitely one of the best opening tracks the group had yet.  I’m already excited for this album now!

2. motorcycle

I was chuckling when the next song actually begun with the sound of a motorcycle revving away.  It definitely keeps up with the pounding dance beats but it also has the cool pre-chorus and then the cool-flowing chorus.  I also quite enjoyed the song fully and the group actually sounds SO fitting here.  Definitely another hit from the album WOO~

3. FLYERS

I thought they’d go for a streak of 3, but FLYERS changes the style on its head by giving us a poppy summer rock track which is a shift but the group still remains bright and sunny to listen to.  It’s definitely a song you wouldn’t expect a group like Girls’ Generation to actually release, but this song actually appealed to me…so I guess it is a triple hit right from the start!

4. GALAXY SUPERNOVA

Moving onto some old songs, we get the 2nd A-side released in the era and GALAXY SUPERNOVA was the better of two because it did have more of a K-pop dance sound which is typecasting there, but the song was surprisingly fun to listen to.  I will say the spoken dialogue was a bit goofy to listen to, but otherwise…definitely a jam to listen to!

5. LOVE&GIRLS

Weird that there’s also a “Girls & Peace”…so the title of the album is a mish-mash?  Either way, the single released after their sophomore album still doesn’t really resonate with me.  This song is like taking “Gossip Girls” and making it cuter (though this came first).  I don’t know, there’s some parts that’s ear-numbingly catchy but it’s still rather meh to me and the whistling is a bit bonkers lol.

6. BEEP BEEP

Wait, why is the B-side from “FLOWER POWER” on this album?  Yeah, that’s a pretty strange addition but honestly it does work after “LOVE&GIRLS” since it’s still on the cuter side of things and has a lot of phone mannerisms happening in the song and they do that ~beep beep beep~ that still kind of gets on my nerves.  At least the rest of the song is nice to listen to.

7. My oh My

I kind of unsure how to take our next new track on the album.  I mean the verses didn’t really did give me much of interest and then the chorus opens up into this ditty sound and it’s cute but in a way ultimately forgetful since there’s just not a lot to go by here.  Is it weird that I think of Wonder Girls here?

8. LIPS

~Leeps~…OK…those sampled jingling bells I’ve heard before (Missy Elliot much?) but the song becomes a slicker track for the group almsot crossing that R&B sound.  I think the song is a grower because I do love the sound of the song and the women really made this is pleasant song to listen to.  One of the more surprising tracks on the album IMO.

9. DO THE CATWALK

Moving to the B-side from “GALAXY SUPERNOVA”…there’s just something about it that really caught my eye when I first listened to it and honestly it’s just grown since then because it’s such a catchy dance track but retains the group cute side.  It’s almost at the same level as the A-side from its single.  I just can’t get this tune out of my head and find myself singing to the chorus and whistling throughout lol.

10. Karma Butterfly

Of the songs on the album, I was most curious with this one because of it’s interesting title and this time around I was greeted with a pretty cool synth dance track.  It’s relaxed and has a lot of pretty sounds that just fluorish in and around the arrangement.  It’s one of my favorite songs from the album hands down!

11. Lingua Franca

The B-side from “LOVE&GIRLS” shows up and I still can’t get into this song either.  It reminds me of how I felt about “My oh My” in where the song tries to be cute but i just falls flat on me.  Maybe the group trying new genres isn’t fully a good thing because it seems I can’t get into either of them lol.  Reggaeton huh?

12. Everyday Love

On most editions of the album, we end with Everyday Love and I actually was starting to wonder where our SNSD ballad might be and this might be the closest to what we get to one.  I’m liking that beat that’s pushing the song forward as it’s giving more of that epic beat.  It sounds the most American on the album which is strange but still made for a good closer.

13. blue jeans

HOWEVER, if you’re a fanclub member, you get a bonus track and I’m left thinking WHY THE HELL WOULD YOU NOT INCLUDE THIS ON THE ALBUM?  Honestly, it’s so good and it definitely encases a mix of the group’s cute personalities with a pretty cool EDM arrangement.  I don’t know why, but it’s so fun to listen to and should’ve replace “Lingua Franca” on the album TBQH.

Tracks Recommended

  • Karma Butterfly
  • blue jeans
  • Gossip Girls
  • DO THE CATWALK
  • motorcycle

Song of Avoidance

  • Lingua Franca

Wow, I definitely was led to think this era wasn’t going to be all that great but LOVE&PEACE is such a step up of an album over their last one by a big gap!  All but two songs really left a good enough impression to make me listen to this album over and over.  One of the better Japanese albums to come from a Korean group this year!

 

One Response to “Shoujo Jidai – LOVE&PEACE”

  1. Cybuster_God_of_Wind Says:

    Wow, I actually liked “Lingua Franca” “Beep Beep” and “My oh My”. To each is own I guess.


Leave a Reply

