Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Morning Musume ’14 – Egao no Kimi wa Taiyou sa/Kimi no Kawari wa Iyashinai/What is LOVE? January 26, 2014

Filed under: Morning Musume — solarblade @ 1:48 pm

whatislove

Track Listing

  1. Egao no Kimi wa Taiyou sa
  2. Kimi no Kawari wa Iyashinai
  3. What is LOVE?
  4. Egao no Kimi wa Taiyou sa (Instrumental)
  5. Kimi no Kawari wa Iyashinai (Instrumental)
  6. What is LOVE? (Instrumental)

1. Egao no Kimi wa Taiyou sa

Kicking the single off was actually the second single we heard of and the only one without a special tie-in as well, Egao no Kimi wa Taiyou sa had to really have something going on to make it stand out.  Though I think it’s my least favorite of the A-sides for reasons.  One of my pet peeves with music is that I hate when writes try to cram lyrics into a measure (or measures) in a song and its in full blast in this one and it really made it difficult for me to enjoy.  On the flipside of the coin, I like the arrangement and was happy they had a slower EDM song for being the primary A-side though like I said earlier…it’s shadowed by the other two songs on the single.  Though with the Tsunku curse, I’ve seen to really got over it and finding myself loving to listen to it over my gripes.

2. Kimi no Kawari wa Iyashinai

Chosen to be the theme for Japan’s showing of the upcoming Sochi Olympics, Kimi no Kawari wa Iyashinai had to be really awesome and also was promoted as the cheer song.  The song is such a badass song but also seems to fit in the Momusu collective of energetic A-sides they have.  I loved hearing Riho and Sakura in the song and even Masaki, Ayumi, and Mizuki got some solos and Sayu of course.  There’s just something so cool with the way this song was laid out.  Definitely my favorite from the single!

3. What is LOVE?

The final track was a specially made track for J-MELO (which is like a program that helps Westerners get into J-pop and all the like).  When I first heard it, I felt it was too hokey and didn’t stick to me.  After a while, the song grew on me and being the fastest track on the single it definitely met standards and the beat is just heavy and so orgasmic.  It still is somewhat hokey (especially the random, “Is it necessary?” that’s done by Masaki and Sayu) but I figured some English was going to be thrown in.  Fun song though!

 

 

Yeah I know, the “’14” shtick is a bit silly and more than likely will be dropped but as it starts a new era of singles (I think it does since “The Best! ~Updated Morning Musume~ kind of constitutes as a best album), this single was a GREAT way to kick 2014 off.  All three songs bring EDM to a nice Tsunku standard and some with 2/3 of the single tied to pretty big things.  I do kind of want to see what their 14th will end up like but for now this is *RECOMMENDED*…Oh yeah first Momusu single with no B-side…WHAT IS THIS?

 

Leave a Reply

