Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

yanaginagi – Euaru February 2, 2014

Filed under: yanaginagi — solarblade @ 12:02 pm

euaru

Track Listing

  1. Hontou
  2. Yukitoki
  3. Ao no Parade
  4. concent
  5. helvetica
  6. Ambivalentidea
  7. euaru
  8. Zoetrope
  9. Laterality
  10. Strange Attractor
  11. Qualia
  12. Translucent
  13. Vidro Moyou
  14. Uso

CD2

  1. Agapē
  2. 1/2
  3. Ren’ai Circulation
  4. light prayer
  5. Uninstall
  6. Swallowtail Butterfly ~Ai no Uta~
  7. Kaze no Toori Michi

1. Hontou

nagi opens the album with Hontou and oddly enough kind of reminded me of the Jeopardy theme with an extra beat after it hahaha.  Though she comes in only doing some light ~la-la-las~ as the arrangement gets more fuller and filled out.  Short and to the point and sets the album’s mood nicely.

2. Yukitoki

As we start the vocal tracks we have nagi’s 5th A-side, Yukitoki and I did say it was the weakest amongst the singles but it’s still pretty damn good so it’s definitely not bad.  It has a certain anison sound to it which does make it somewhat generic considering what is in the arrangement but nagi sounds light and fluffy which gives the tune a more livelier feeling and I like it overall.

3. Ao no Parade

I was excited to hear the album’s songs and Ao no Parade definitely met expectations!  Being a little more synthy than other tracks, Ao no Parade kind of takes the anison out of “Yukitoki” and makes it a bit more broader sounding and soothing to listen to and I enjoyed every minute of it.  It’s definitely one of the surprising tracks but amazing though!

4. concent

Of all the B-sides nagi could have chosen for the album, why did it have to be the one from her debut single, “Vidro Moyou”?  I mean it’s not even a bad song, but nagi had so many better B-sides to choose from lol.  Anyway, it’s a completely entity of a song coming after “Ao no Parade” in where the song sounds more experimental, but I still love how nice her vocals sounded against the piano/synth arrangement.  Nice song overall (still sad that “Surrealisme” is missing).

5. helvetica

I’m not sure why, but when I saw the title, I was thinking it was going to be a dark song.  What we got is a more experimental and quieter “concent” and coming after said song made sense to me and we get to hear nagi sing in a more sleepier tone and I quite enjoyed that.  It’s relaxing music and I found myself being calmed down with this track…definitely a song to listen to!

6. Ambivalentidea

We get even more quieter with nagi’s 2nd single, Ambivalentidea and not much has changed in my opinions about since the review.  I like the orchestration in it and it’s like a Final Fantasy ending theme but handled majestically with nagi giving a stellar performance!  There were just something so beautiful and yet powerful about it at the same time…this is definitely one of her best songs!  It’s like KOKIA wrote it for her, but I doubt that’s the case….but damn nagi…so much praise out of this song!

7. euaru

After that glorious piece, we move into the title song, euaru.  After all them dramatics, euaru comes in with a happier piano melody and nagi’s tone is more brighter and playful.  The song sounds nice and all, but most of the time, I was kind of spacing out and in my mind coming back in, it makes for amazing background music (once again…sounds like the instrumental would be perfect for a video game).  Nice, but your focus might go astray.

8. Zoetrope

It’s so hard to decide whether Zoetrope or “Ambivalentidea” is the best A-side because they both provide a different experience.  Though I will say this song brought some energy back into the album after having 4 slower and lighter songs coming before it so entering this, I was happy to hear Zoetrope because it’s something no one saw nagi doing at the time.  This song is loud, brash, and powerful and nagi once again performed superbly.  This will definitely have you at the edge of your seat!

10. Laterality

Kind of fitting to have the 3rd A-side to come after the 4th because I also felt like nagi excelled in Laterality as well.  It’s not as furious as “Zoetrope” but it definitely follows its footsteps nicely (even though this came out first).  There are some traces of those typical anison chords in the chorus, but I though the song had a fantastic piano melody (and that bass solo!).  Great song!

11. Strange Attractor

When I listen to this song, I get reminded of school food punishment (especially “futuristic imagination”) but I kind of like the similarities as they give nagi a chance to put her voice in their sound and I quite love it to be honest.  Some might think it sounds like “Yukitoki” but I fell in love with this one and nagi sounds great (especially those high notes) damn nagi!

12. Qualia

As the album’s longest song at 6 minutes, Qualia I thought belonged more towards the first half of the album than the second because it’s another ballad and also has that kind of experimental sound fused with the simple piano melodies.  I thought the song sounded kind of dreamy and super pretty to listen to.  Not as amazing of a ballad like “Ambivalentidea” buuuut this is pretty damn close haha.

13. Translucent

Though I can’t say the same for Translucent which is another ballad on the album and also the plainest of the songs here.  I suppose nagi was trying to be more heartfelt in this one and it showed with her voice that’s for sure, but for a song that only had piano as the only instrument, Translucent felt so….underwhelming in comparison to the rest of the album.  I was expecting a higher dropoff, but no…it didn’t seem to really phase me any.

14. Vidro Moyou

I can’t believe it’s been a couple years that this has been out.  nagi’s debut single, Vidro Moyou might have been defeated by her singles after, but this showed the talent that was about to blossom.  It has a nice light dance beat about and nagi’s voice is pleasant (though I think there’s some auto-tune found here).  Like “euaru”, this song makes for great background music nowadays but for heavy listening, I think it also works as well.  Cool song overall!

15. Uso

We finally get to the end of the first disc with Uso and it kind of has a child-like atmosphere behind it with some disc scratches playing behind it.  I don’t knoow why, but I actually got bored of this one even quicker than I did with “Translucent” and I’m not entirely sure why.  I suppose the arrangement does seem a bit sleepy to me and nagi’s voice is a bit too soft for me…but I’m not even sure that’s the case…ehhh too confusing!

CD2

1. Agapē

The second disc is actually a couple of cover songs starting with Agapē which is originally by melocure.  At first, the song started slow and I was beginning to dislike it but it grew into this upbeat pop/rock track that definitely was loud and had a lot of drums😄.  nagi did pretty well with this song and she gave a solid performance.

2. 1/2

Originally sung by Makoto Kawamoto, 1/2 is pretty much a solid choice to cover and nagi sounded like she was having fun with the tune and once again them high notes are sounding sooo good.  Actually her voice sounds almost anison-ish which caught me off guard, but it’s still a good cover.

3. Ren’ai Circulation

I definitely think it’s the most recent of the songs covered here…this being a cover of a tune from Kana Hanazawa, Ren’ai Circulation is also placing nagi’s voice in a more cuter sound and mixing in her whispy vocals, the song sounds so adorable to listen to (especially that synth melody).  Cute overall, still not amongst the best songs but still good nonetheless.

4. light prayer

Oh damn, a cover of school food punishment’s light prayer…I was so ready for this one and if the band needed to replace Yumi, nagi is an amazing replacement because her voice suits them so PERFECTLY and she gave a great performance!  I already love the original and this was so faithful to the original.  Yeah definitely my favorite amongst the cover songs!

5. Uninstall

Another cover of a song I’m familiar with being originally sung by Chiaki Ishikawa, Uninstall is a song that’s covered a LOT these days, but it was a pretty big song back in the days.  nagi’s take is also done pretty well and once again I kind of sit on that seat where I actually would say nagi did better than Chiaki 0.o  Impressive cover as well!

6. Swallowtail Butterfly ~Ai no Uta~

OK, we all should know this song as well as it’s been covered from hell and back xD.  I already know nagi would sound 100 times better than Chara did with the original (as with most covers of this).  There’s not much else I can say here that I haven’t with the previous two tracks.  Though I guess it also has a little bit of bore, but I wasn’t too fond of the song to begin wih lol.

7. Kaze no Toori Michi

Finally, we get to a cover of Sayuri Horishita’s Kaze no Toori Michi and I hear acoustic guitar in this song which is nice to hear after an album full of synthetic sounds and piano (though the latter is found here).   I liked the relaxed tone of the track and nagi’s voice is very soft here.  I liked it, but I zoned out quickly after a while listening to it.  It’s nice if you’re into songs like this.

Tracks Recommended

  • Ambivalentidea
  • Zoetrope
  • Ao no Parade
  • light prayer
  • Strange Attractor

Song of Avoidance

  • Uso

Wow, for a debut album, yanaginagi struck gold here!  Euaru is such an amazing album that I’m surprised that it was just so well done overall.  There were a couple of boring tracks, but 90% of the album was pure gold and is worth a listen.  Now the second disc might be not as interesting (though the school food punishment cover is a MUST LISTEN).  I can’t wait to see what surprises she has in her 2nd era! *RECOMMENDED*

 

5 Responses to “yanaginagi – Euaru”

  1. Great review. I can totally agree with most of your review. I mean nagi really show what she truly is with this album. I was totally amazed with some of the new songs like helvetica and strange attractor. And I was also dissapointed not having other B side like halo effect or Oto no nai yume. Still I’m amazed with the album and of what she has released after the album🙂

  2. And totally forgot to mention: I really loved that cover of school food punishment. When they made the commercial showing each of the songs for the cover CD I was really surprised seeing light prayer (at first I thought was a different song with same name xD). And was blown away with the song, and the best thing was that I could understand what nagi said not like Yumi in this song D:


Leave a Reply

