Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

moumoon – LOVE before we DIE February 11, 2014

Filed under: moumoon — solarblade @ 7:19 am

lovebeforewedie

Track Listing

  1. Emerald no Oka
  2. I Say You Say I ♥ You
  3. Baby Goodbye
  4. Will you?
  5. Yesterday today and Tomorrow (Mukiryoku Doumei Shoubonnu)
  6. Butterfly Boyfriend
  7. IN THE END
  8. memento
  9. Everyday
  10. LOVE before we DIE
  11. Lovin’ You (bonus track)
  12. Memories (bonus track)

1. Emerald no Oka

Starting the album, we have the first of a couple digital singles that were released (yeah, no physical singles represent the album >.>).  Things start off quick paced with Emerald no Oka but it also sounds almost experimental mixed with moumoon’s normal style.  I’m also loving YUKA’s energy in the song, it’s refreshing and just has interesting parts to it.  Interesting but a good way to begin the album.

2. I Say You Say I ♥ You

Another digital single released, but it was like shortly before the album did.  I Say You Say I ♥ You definitely has a certain “PAIN KILLER” vibe to it which is nice to hear.  YUKA’s voice is on the higher register for a good portion and she handled it well.  I actually found the song to be a bit more enjoyable than the opening song.  Definitely one of the album’s shining moments!

3. Baby Goodbye

Into some actual new songs, Baby Goodbye tones things down to more of a mid-tempo pop/rock track that actually kind of sounds slightly bland to my ears but I love how YUKA’s singing sounds playful a bit and she sounds stronger than the previous tracks.  I don’t know why but this song just kind of flew over my head.

4. Will you?

Moving on, we go into Will you? and it’s more of the same, but this one has a little more fire in its furnace being a tad bit more dramatic and aggressive.  I will say YUKA is pushing for them high notes all over this song and it kind of actually bothered me a tad.  I think it would’ve been better had she sung in her lower register rather than what we got.

5. Yesterday today and Tomorrow (Mukiryoku Doumei Shoubonnu)

It seems the next track is rather cutesy and I loved hearing YUKA singing in the song because she adds a really nice child-like atmosphere but also keeps it pleasant to listen to.  Oddly enough, it sounds like a Vanessa Carlton song almost with it’s chilled out feel, but poppy feel.  It’s nice but like “Baby Goodbye”, it also flew over my head.

6. Butterfly Boyfriend

I was wondering when the album would pickup again and I think Butterfly Boyfriend might be the song to do that.  It’s also another song that sounds really cute with a constant synth boop that acts as the backbone of the song.  I get kind of dejavu moments to “moonlight” when I’m listening to the song, but I love the synths the most especially when they go up and down in a wave motion.  It’s a really nice song and brought my attention back after the last few songs.

7. IN THE END

What a random intro to our next track, IN THE END.  I like the fact that YUKA is singing under some vocal filters for some of the song as it calls for a little more of that 80s punk sound almost and it’s got a catchy beat to it lol.  Though I could deal with less of the ~la, la, la, la-ing~ that’s going on as it feels so hokey and almost could’ve been a good chorus had it not gone in that direction.  I’m kind of uncertain about this song at the moment…plus it fades out to where it’s only YUKA and who I think is Kousuke singing alongside as it closes out…hmmm.

8. memento

I was wondering when we’d get that very atmospheric moumoon song and it turns out that we get that in memento and OMG it’s pretty!  I love the arrangement about it and hearing YUKA sound so ethereal and spacey is just pretty.  Though you have to go through 1:30 of spoken dialogue before YUKA starts to sing.  The synths kind of go to the wayside and the song is primarily YUKA, piano, cello?, and a little bit of some scattering synths.  It’s a unique song that’s for sure.

9. Everyday

Another slow song as we move towards the ending.  Everyday in comparison to most of the songs is pretty basic where it’s only YUKA and acoutic/electric guitar.  I suppose it’s a little more heartfelt of a song and tries to kind of lyrically set itself alongside “Aoi Tsuki to Ambivalence na Ai” which I suppose is nice, but it’s really hard to top that as it is.  It’s OK, but nothing amazing overall.

10. LOVE before we DIE

Fitting that the album would end with the title track.  For as dramatic as the art cover was, I thought we were going to get a heartbreaking ballad, but it seems this is more pop/rock and uptempo which is great beause it fuses strings with guitars and I’m loving this a lot.  It was definitely a great choice to promote for the album since it kind of stands as the best on the album strangely enough, though that ending was a tad abrupt lol.

11. Lovin’ You

Seems so odd that there’s two bonus tracks to this album.  The first was released digitally back in October and it’s a cover of Minnie Riperton’s classic hit!  Originally, the song was a nature-friendly ballad, but moumoon’s take is more danceable and bouncy.  Of course the song is also known for that uber whistle note and seems that YUKA took the safe route by taking it down an octive.  Overall, it’s not bad of a cover and honestly has a lot more personality than some of the other tracks.

12. Memories

The other bonus track is actually a theme tied to One Piece and it actually reminds me of “DREAMER DREAMER” with that intro and kind of sense of the guitar arrangement.  It suits as a song meant to end the album, but it’s strange it was just a bonus😄.  The song is nice and YUKA sounds pretty strong here as in none of those thin high notes.  You can definitely tell anison was all over this but still a good ending nonetheless.

Tracks Recommended

  • LOVE before we DIE
  • I Say You Say I ♥ You
  • Butterfly Boyfriend
  • memento
  • Lovin’ You

Song of Avoidance

  • Will you?

If there was one thing I had to say about moumoon’s 5th album, it has to be unfortunately dull.  There’s just some missing in the magic of moumoon this time around and I can’t put my finger what that might be.  The good songs on the album is really the tracks recommended basically…everything else felt like it was missing something or there was something that I couldn’t get into.  Though I can tell YUKA is trying to sound more broad.  Some of it is good, but the rest wasn’t all that memorable.

 

Leave a Reply

