Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Koda Kumi – Bon Voyage February 25, 2014

Filed under: Koda Kumi — solarblade @ 8:27 pm

bonvoyage

Track Listing

  1. Introduction ~Bon Voyage~
  2. SHOW ME YOUR HOLLA
  3. LOADED feat. Sean Paul
  4. Winner Girls
  5. Imagine
  6. Koishikute
  7. LALALALALA
  8. Let’s show tonight
  9. Interlude ~Bon Voyage~
  10. TOUCH DOWN
  11. Crank Tha Bass feat. OVDS
  12. LOL
  13. Go to the top
  14. Dreaming Now!
  15. On Your Side
  16. U KNOW

1. Introduction ~Bon Voyage~

Kuu’s album opens up with motif of the album, the cries of seagulls…though I was surprised how fast she left it for a more darker sound.  It’s been a while since I’ve said I wanted an introduction to be its own song and the one for Bon Voyage is quite up there…that bass line and the attitude Kuu brings just brought a fire here that I enjoyed.

2. SHOW ME YOUR HOLLA

Chosen as one of two promotional videos for the album, SHOW ME YOUR HOLLA had a lot to live up for and the title was just giggity enough to make me focus lol.  I did lulz with the Engrish opening, but the song quickly rushes in and it’s a bopper!  I like the fact Kuu just sounds so excited and into this song to give a cool song.  I like the saxes and horns as well.  Reminded me of “show girl” but with a little more ass bouncing lol.  Good song!

3. LOADED feat. Sean Paul

Oh, I guess Kuu is going to make this a thing for every album, collaborate with an artist that’s more well known in the West.  The song is just as heavy on the beat as the previous tracks but Kuu sounds a little auto-tuned in some places.  I was worried because with Sean Paul, he’s almost near impossible to understand, but he sounds a bit more clearer than normal so it worked out.  Though there’s parts where they both sing different parts and I’m like…what??  Still, this song is just so much fun to listen to and despite Sean Paul’s goofy voice, I liked it!

4. Winner Girls

I can’t help but say the intro annoyed me lol.  At least it’s not the chorus which would’ve drove me insane.  The tune kind of fits with Kuu’s more up-tempo dance tracks which is nice and all, but the song felt repetitive especially how many times she repeated the title here.  I think it could’ve been handled better, but this was just forgettable.

5. Imagine

We slow down a bit with our next track, Imagine.  She had a come a long way when it comes to mid-tempos and I actually quite dug Imagine with a nice arrangement and a glowing chorus.  It’s a surprise for me to jsut enjoy this song a lot.  Kuu just sounds great throughout!

6. Koishikute

I was wondering when we’d hit some A-sides and it’s the ballad of the era!  Though it’s the only ballad the album has to offer so it kind of sticks out in an odd way.  The things I said about “Imagine” also applies to this song, but with a slower tempo.  It wasn’t my favorite of the era, but I liked it nonetheless.

7. LALALALALA

Kuu really needs to work on finding someone who can put her songs on the album to flow because this was random as hell hearing LALALALALA come after “Koishikute” because they’re so different from one another.  As one of the 3 leading tumes from her “Summer Trip” single, I wasn’t into this one, too much and I still feel like the song was meant for Ayu more than Kuu.  I mean for a summer rock tune, it’s nice but yeah.

8. Let’s show tonight

It’s weird that we get a short song and a interlude back to back.  Let’s show tonight is another one of those burlesque songs (that would’ve fit “TRICK”).  Being only 1:21 in length the song definitely screamed missed opportunity because it had a good thing going, but before it could really take off it just ends.  *sigh*

9. Interlude ~Bon Voyage~

The interlude sounds like the intro, but a little more beats and the vocals are heavily filtered out throughout.  Kuu has some moans and some shouts…but there really isn’t much else that really goes on.  I mean…I’m not sure why it was made for the album since it doesn’t fit after how short the previous track was, although it suits our next track.

10. TOUCH DOWN

I was surprised that she chose this over “IS THIS TRAP?” as I loved it more than this one, but this really worked with the interlude.  There’s something so edgy and cool about the arrangement from this song and coming back to it since the “Summer Trip” single has got me jamming to it once again.  Maybe it’s the beat and low synth and guitars just got me interested in it.  Did feel a bit long, but I enjoyed this a lot!

11. Crank Tha Bass feat. OVDS

You might be asking, who is OVDS?  It seems they are a Taiwanese Hip-Hop/Rock band so hearing Kuu collaborating sounded so strange.  I found it funny when Kuu said the title like ~clonk the vase~.  This is a pretty gritty song and one of the more intriguing songs on the album.  This song is just funny to listen to and hearing Kuu give that extra sass was great…though I have to say the rapper from OVDS is pretty good and liked his lines more😄.  The other odd thing is the whole ~put your hands up, put your, put your hands up was strange😄.  I’m so unsure how to feel because it’s so feisty but the engrish is just laughable.  It’s definitely a memorable song on the album, I can’t deny.

12. LOL

The other song chosen to promote the album, LOL sounded like it’d be a fun and quirky tune.  It started like a dance track which is a win already…but then she did the whole ~hahaha, laughing out loud~ in such a weird nasally tone and I was off my seat cracking up.  After that, the song brought Kuu back down to Earth and the song was cool, but the chorus kind of just threw me for a loop.  I would’ve liked it if it weren’t Kuu’s nasal tones thrown here (lord is this the first time I complained about Kuu’s tone?).

13. Go to the top

Wow it’s been a long time since I’ve listened to this!  As the oldest A-side represented here, Go to the top starts with some 8-bit hits before turning into a rock track with some of the 8-bit playing in the background.  I was worried how it’d fit on the album, but it fit quite nicely.  It’s a fun song to listen to and she gave a pretty rad performance.  Definitely raised my interest after “LOL” to be honest.

14. Dreaming Now!

Going from the oldest A-side to the last single before the album, Dreaming Now! kind of brought back the basic, fun Kuu back to us.  I like the sound of the song and it has a nice beat going for it.  I do think the song mixes dance with a little of reggaeton and funnily enough it worked.  It’s a pretty good song and one of the best from the album.

15. On Your Side

Rounding out the album are the final new track starting with On Your Side.  I was surprised how much bass is in this song as it’s one of the more mid-tempo songs.  It’s like they fused “Dreaming Now!” and “Imagine” and popped this song out from it.  I don’t know why, but this tune struggles to leave an impression on me…I think it’s lacking in comparison to a lot of the tracks here.

16. U KNOW

I was surprised Kuu once again ended the album with an upbeat song and ironically, it’s the best saved for last.  It has a similar feel like “Go to the top” by having some 8-bit, but instead of a edgy sound, the tune goes towards more of a dance tone and Kuu sounds quite strong and the chorus is just catchy!  Definitely a cool song to end the album with a crowd applauding.  Overall sweet tune!

Tracks Recommended

  • U KNOW
  • Dreaming Now!
  • Imagine
  • Go to the top
  • LOADED feat. Sean Paul

Song of Avoidance

  • On Your Side

It’s been a while since Kuu released a studio album hasn’t it?  Bon Voyage has a long time to make since Kuu released a lot of odd stuff and 4 singles.  For the time off between this and “JAPONESQUE”, Kuu didn’t seem to take as many risks here and this time left all the cutesy songs behind and I thought it was great!  The album itself isn’t bad and for the most part stands high, but there were some issues, but they were mostly on Kuu lol. Repetition, tone issues in one, and just boredom in another.  Those aren’t total issues though…overall not bad!

 

Leave a Reply

