Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

9nine – CUE April 4, 2014

Filed under: 9nine — solarblade @ 2:55 am

cue

Track Listing

  1. Ryuusei no Kuchizuke
  2. Sakura, Yureru
  3. colorful
  4. I am…
  5. CANDY
  6. Sparkling Days
  7. One Kiss
  8. Precious
  9. 3three
  10. White Wishes
  11. Brave
  12. SMILE & TEARS
  13. Yie Ar! Jiang Shi feat. Hao Hao! Jiang Shi Girl

1. Ryuusei no Kuchizuke

Opening the album up is the first A-side they released from the album and like I said back in the single review, after “Shoujo Traveler” this seriously disappointed me.  However, since we’re on a different album, I can try to see this in a different light.  The song still kind of reeks blandness and does remind me of various AKB songs out there.  It just didn’t stick out to me despite being the first track on the album lol.

2. Sakura, Yureru

Moving onto the first new song, Sakura, Yureru opens up quite nicely with some nature sounds and some piano.  I loved that we’re hearing some solo lines from the members to a mid-tempo song.  Though the group trying to blend together is somewhat shaky at times, it’s a pretty song and stuck out better than the opening song at least.

3. colorful

Minus that opening line, colorful still kind of got stuck on me.  I mean it’s nothing too special for the group as it kind of sounds like a lot of their previous songs.  The vocals sound a lot more off than in “Sakura, Yureru” sadly and is probably the song’s biggest fault.  Otherwise, colorful is a nice track.

4. I am…

At least we get a long string of new tracks to hopefully fix some of the issues.  When I heard I am… I was kind of thinknigof Nana Mizuki’s stuff with the piano-led arrangement with some strong synthetics thrown in.  It still is lighter than songs like “Shoujo Traveler” but I actually am impressed with the song.  The group sounds good too which is much relief for me.  Definitely the first song to pop out at me in a good way.

5. CANDY

I was expecting something super sugary to come from CANDY and I was kind of right but at the same time not.  The tune opens with a bright upbeat sound with a cute chorus and then the verses just closes all the sound out minus piano and whoever is singing.  I get this early 90’s pop sound which is pretty cool and gives a nice slice of spunk.  Interesting tune and I might grow to love it.  My only gripe though…why are the verses so quiet?  It just seems to throw me off.

6. Sparkling Days

Things seem to slow down for our next track, Sparkling Days which was another song I assumed was going to be a cuter track.  I’m liking the cute bells and whistles in the track alongside an acoustic guitar.  Though it turns out this is a solo track from Kanae.  She’s got a pretty sweet voice that fits a setting like this so I would say this is a win for her.  If it was the group, I’m not sure if I would’ve felt the same way.

7. One Kiss

Oh so the one that I thought would be a ballad is actually the cutesy peppy one?  Having a more pico sound going for it, I wasn’t ready for the girls being in auto-tune (and being layered) as well.  Though it does at points sound like there’s just one singing but it’s the group.  I don’t know but I actually didn’t really care for the track.

8. Precious

The next track is reserved as a solo track from Sayaka (or more well-known as Perfume’s A-chan’s sister.  She does get the more upbeat sound and she’s definitely pushing her vocals right from the opening sounding like she’s yelling it.  At least she backs off that when it comes to the rest of the song.  Otherwise, the song is OK at best, nothing totally special.

9. 3three

At first, I kind of laughed because it’s playing up to the group’s name.  It kind of is and the song is sung by the remaining members that didn’t get a solo song, Uki, Umika, and Hirona.  Sadly, the song sounds so amazingly plastic and bland to me.  Of course it didn’t help that these 3 got such a song because they could’ve gotten a vocally trying track, but this song sounds like a Hamtaro theme.  Yeah, this was a pretty bad song😄.

10. White Wishes

Moving back to the group’s 3rd A-side released, White Wishes was the group’s winter single and it still kind of sounds cheesy and kind of bland when it comes to an idol song.  I wish there was more to it from when I reviewed the single, but there really isn’t.  It’s just a plain jolly wintry song from the group.

11. Brave

Then we come into the secondary A-side from the second single released and sorry to say it’s the best of them.  Actually some people will probably compare to “I am…” with the more aggressive sound when compared to all the other songs from the album.  I do kind of like how it sounds altogether and their vocals seem on point.  Not much else to say here😄.

12. SMILE & TEARS

As the last new track, SMILE & TEARS takes a more mid-tempo route and kind of sounds lie an apprpriate ending to the album (despite that it really isn’t).  Unfortunately, the song just kind of goes over my head for the most part without leaving much of an impression.  I guess it’s somewhat pleasant but still…

13. Yie Ar! Jiang Shi feat. Hao Hao! Jiang Shi Girl

Sadly the album closes out with the primary A-side from the second single and while it seriously sticks out immensely from the album for being so hyperactive and WTF-y.  I still am not the biggest fan of this song because it’s just unusual and really doesn’t seem right for 9nine (plus the overly genki quips are bothering me lol).  Musically, it’s quirky enough, but good lord the vocals bother me here…and strange it’s the final song.

Tracks Recommended

  • I am…
  • Brave
  •  Sakura, Yureru
  • Sparkling Days
  • CANDY

Song of Avoidance

  • 3three

As the group’s 2nd album under SONY (4th overall), CUE was a definite step down from their last album in almost every way.  I felt like the effort put on this album was just so tiring and low.  Only a couple of tracks REALLY caught on me, but overall I felt like this just didn’t work well in the end…I really hope they’ve picked themselves up after this.

 

Leave a Reply

