Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

AKB48 – Tsugi no Ashiato April 15, 2014

Filed under: AKB48 — solarblade @ 4:28 am

????

Track Listing

  1. Koisuru Fortune Cookie
  2. LOVE Shugyou
  3. Sayonara Crawl
  4. Tsuyoi Hana
  5. Ano Hi no Fuurin
  6. Eien Pressure
  7. Aozora Café
  8. UZA
  9. Kimi no Tame ni Boku wa…
  10. Watashitachi no Reason
  11. So long!
  12. Gingham Check
  13. Manatsu no Sounds good!
  14. Otona e no Michi
  15. Chireba Ii no ni… (Theater Edition only)

CD2 (Type A only)

  1. After rain
  2. Gugutasu no Sora
  3. Boy Hunt no Houhou Oshiemasu
  4. JJ ni Karitamono
  5. Shower no Ato Dakara
  6. 10 Krone to Pan
  7. Kakushin ga Moterumono
  8. Team Saka
  9. Tsuyosa to Yowasa no Aida de
  10. Boku wa Ganbaru
  11. Eien Yori Tsuzuku You ni

CD2 (Type B only)

  1. Smile Kamikakushi
  2. Taningyougi na Sunset beach
  3. Haste to Waste
  4. Watashi Leaf
  5. Stoic na Bigaku
  6. Ponkotsu Blues
  7. Ichi Ni no San
  8. Kyouhansha
  9. Douki
  10. Kanashiki Kinkyori Ren’ai
  11. Yume no Kawa

1. Koisuru Fortune Cookie

I love that AKB opened the album with one of the more popular songs the group released back in 2013.  Koisuru Fortune Cookie isn’t totally something that stands out, but the song is cute and has a fun dance to go along with it.  I will say that it took a while for it stick on me, but nowadays it’s just an earworm of a song.  Maybe it could’ve been a bit more energetic, but hey what we got isn’t totally bad.

2. LOVE Shugyou

Like their previous album, “1830m”, all of the Theater only songs make the album cut.  This one came from “Sayonara Crawl” and when I reviewed the single, the song was not standing out to me and kind of had a generic sound to it.  Hearing it today again, the song has made a little more of an impact.  The song still to me suffers from non-emotional vocals and the arrangement is more or less what I’ve heard before from AKB since I first started listening to them.  I guess it’s the best of the KKS songs, but that’s not saying much.

3. Sayonara Crawl

Following that is the A-side XD.  Sayonara Crawl is a good reason where I felt like the group’s music was becoming surprisingly stale.  As the 6th A-side before the album, Sayonara Crawl has a lot of my issues that I have with “LOVE Shugyou” present, but the vocals are a lot more alive and bright.  I will say the song though also has seemingly grown on me more than aforementioned track.  I think it’s because the chorus actually was nicer sounding to me now lol.  Damnit!

4. Tsuyoi Hana

We get another KKS song, this time from “So long!”.  I will say that I love the opening for the song giving us a little bit of a waltz-y kind of setting.  Actually I totally forgot about this song, but I actually loved this song because it was different and the Kenkyuusei sounded pleasant alongside the pretty arrangement…hmmm…maybe this is the best KKS song here.

5. Ano Hi no Fuurin

Then here’s the Theater only track from “Gingham Check” sung by the Waiting Girls (who I thought was the same as the KKS, but was wrong).  As the album’s first ballad, Ano Hi no Fuurin sounds like the eponymous big group of ladies singing together in unison.  The arrangement is pretty basic, so I was kind of bored after a while.

6. Eien Pressure

I remember this because this was the single that brought Paruru to the foreground from the group.  She was the lead voice in the song and was the first voice you heard.  Her voice was quite squeaky though XD.  I was quite underwhelmed with the song.  Even today, the song doesn’t seem to do much for me as it sounds more like a B-side more than anything else.

7. Aozora Café

Moving to the track from “Koisuru Fortune Cookie”, Aozora Café is another song from the KKS.  Back on the single review, I thought it was better than “LOVE Shugyou”, but honestly it’s reversed now.  I mean the synth horns are basically a given which I’ve complained about numerous time being hokey and cheap (especially since Akimoto loves to use them).  I just didn’t find anything particularly interesting (maybe the guitar solos).

8. UZA

It’s really weird coming to the group’s 3rd A-side released for the era seeing as it’s the greatest thing on this album to be quite honest.  I mean it’s a fierce song and it’s one of my favorite Autumn singles the group has put out.  It’s dark, energetic and has such a cool PV to go with it.  It just makes me wonder why AKB can’t be more like this more often because these are the songs I would love AKB to tackle and just own more than stuff like “Eien Pressure” or “Gingham Check” (or basically the rest of the A-sides that came out for this album).

9. Kimi no Tame ni Boku wa…

Moving to the B-side from “Manatsu no Sounds good!”, I have a hard time remembering stuff from singles that were before “UZA” so it’s like a fresh listen again.  I was happy to see it making the cut because it seems I liked it from the single.  On the album, Kimi no Tame ni Boku wa… is upbeat and since it only features 8 of the ladies, it brought a nicer tone and it just worked.  Good choice!

10. Watashitachi no Reason

Coming from “Eien Pressure”, Watashitachi no Reason was a song I was her nor there for.  There was a butt-ton of members involved in this song and it just baffled me.  To me, it sounds pretty plain and non-eventful of a song.  I don’t know it’s a lot like how I feel about “Aozora Café” down to the cool guitar lines.

11. So long!

I totally forgot how this song had sounded (even though it was the last single I reviewed before going into my hiatus) so I suppose it makes sense.  So long! is the group’s Sakura single and while it tried to impress me, I felt it to be somewhat cheesy and forgettable.  Meh…

12. Gingham Check

As the 2nd single released for the album, Gingham Check was another song that just felt almost tiresome and lacked any real effort behind it.  It’s even more bland than “So long!” and that was boredom on a stick…this just felt like crap and Akimoto’s want for a B-side to be an A-side.

13. Manatsu no Sounds good!

As the only single that came before “1830m” but got place onto the album after, Manatsu no Sounds good! was a rather interesting song to me.  I mean, the song isn’t totally anything special, but the PV caught my eye and the song actually had a little more effort with dealing with the arrangement.  It’s a rather fun song from them even though there’s better.

14. Otona e no Michi

The final two tracks are actually sung by the Kenkyuusei.  Otona e no Michi was from “UZA”.  Of the KKS songs on the album, Otona e no Michi might be the sappiest tracks here.  I thought it was alright but some of the vocals did seem a bit off here.  Fitting as the closing for the first disc, but still not all that amazing.

15. Chireba Ii no ni…

Though on Theater editions of the album, we get a bonus track which is sung by the KKS as well.  Chireba Ii no ni… is another ballad as well which might not bode well since it comes after “Otona e no Michi”.  It’s a bit less contrived and a little more original in arrangement by having piano and bass with acoustic guitar.  Overall, it’s a better song at least and nice enough to close the first disc (on its singular edition its from).

CD2 (Type A)

1. After rain

Opeing to CD2 for the Type A release of the album, After rain immediately kills my spark right from the beginning with those synth horns and that overly saccharine sound that just is so typical AKB.  I mean there could be something more to the song, but at the moment it’s just falling face first for me.  I will say that towards the end, the song does slightly get better, but the first half just rolls by me.

2. Gugutasu no Sora

Seems like on both of the second discs, it has two songs that were found on singles.  Gugutasu no Sora is originally from “Manatsu no Sounds good!” and of the four songs chosen, I was curious to why this one was making the album cut.  I will say the girls chosen to sing here are ones that I usually never get to hear.  This is just as forgetful as the previous song, but at least “After rain” had a good chorus going for it…meh.

3. Boy Hunt no Houhou Oshiemasu

Most of the songs on this disc are seperated by mini-pairings between members.  the first is between Sasshi, Paruru, Kizaki, and Yagura and from the beginning, the song is really catered to more of the cutesy crowd.  The four voices sound good together (and similar).  It’s a basic tune, but I kind of liked it, but once again, the guitar solo is just the thing that stands out the most.

4. JJ ni Karitamono

Sung by 6 of the members: Umeda, Kitahara, Kuromochi, Takayanagi, Yamada (oh hi ex-H!P member), and Takamina!  I was pleasantly surprised the song wasn’t your atypical AKB song but had a little more depth to it and a stronger beat (and guitar solo) plus the girls chosen seem to have a deeper tone which helped a lot!  Definitely an early favorite from this disc, hope there’s more.

5. Shower no Ato Dakara

Oooh a song sung by Rena, Kojiharu, and Yukirin comes next.  I like the intro for the song being a little different and yet very Akimoto-ish.  It’s got a stronger amount of synths.  Though what I wasn’t expecting the trio to sing in such a whispery, breathy voice.  To be honest, I have dejavu to SDN48’s “GAGAGA” with this type of singing.  It’s definitely a unique song to the album, so I admire it for that, but otherwise…you might as well just call it “GAGAGA” pt. 2.

6. 10 Krone to Pan

So the next song is sung by Kodama, Fujie, Furuhata, Yamamoto, and Yokoyama and it starts off with a metronome and a darker setting which is a good change for me lol.  Like “JJ ni Karitamono”, the voices here are also of ladies who sing better in a lower tone and I quite liked this song too.  It could’ve used a little more bass behind the song, but overall this is also up there.

7. Kakushin ga Moterumono

Team A comes in with their track, Kakushin ga Moterumono and unfortunately is also the return with guitars mixed with piano and trumpets.  I don’t know why but this is just too bland for my listen and sounds like a possible A-side that was turned down lol.  It just didn’t do anything for me and I simply passed it up.

8. Team Saka

On the flipside we get a new Team 4 track.  At least the voices in Team 4 are a lot easier to handle than in “Kakushin ga Moterumono” but the music is still quite as generic as it gets.  It’s a bright song for all its worth, but yeah….only a smidge better than the previous track but still isn’t doing anything for me.

9. Tsuyosa to Yowasa no Aida de

Oh, so now we’re getting Sayanee’s graduation song yet it wasn’t featured on “Koisuru Fortune Cookie”? ok…I really approve of the intro with the kind of wail from the guitar.  Sayanee’s voice sounds so good in this ballad and just was a nice song!  Then the other vocals come in and I’m kind of like meh…  I think when it was the solos going on, it was pretty good, but together…it sounded messy.  I’ll probably get over it though.

10. Boku wa Ganbaru

Then comes a song from some of the more recognizable members, unfortunately their song is another one of those songs that gets forgotten as it has an arrangement that we’ve all heard before.  Yeah, I just can’t seem to remember anything about this song.

11. Eien Yori Tsuzuku You ni

Remember OKL48 from “Eien Pressure?”  If not, they were a one-time unit that was made as a kind of a goofy group alongside Takashi Okamura (comedian).  The song without its lulzy PV does make this song sound generic like a couple of the other songs, but it’s still a fun with the PV.  It’s all right, but there was better.  Odd choice to close the Type A second disc though.

CD2 (Type-B)

1. Smile Kamikakushi

The Type B second disc begins with a new track from Tentoumu Chu! which is their 3rd track known.  At least it opens this disc on a nice note despite once again not being totally original here.  The vocals are pleasant at least and the piano/guitar melody isn’t too straightforward.  Fitting!

2. Taningyougi na Sunset beach

So Ota, Suda, Yamauchi, and Milky get a song and Taningyougi na Sunset beach at first had potential about it, but the song started to wear off on me a bit.  I mean I like the latin flair about it, but if you took that it and left the vocal melody it wouldn’t have stuck out a bit.  I suppose it’s OK at best, but not the best.

3. Haste to Waste

Ahhh the song that’s sung by the “dumb” girls BKA48.  This song, coming from “Sayonara Crawl”, It’s funny to see another song to feature a lot of familiar faces here and Rina getting most of the lines as she did the worst is hilarious (or clever).  The song is alright, albeit a tad boring…but it’s a good choice to bring on this album.

4. Watashi Leaf

Iriyama, Kawaei, Kato, and Jurina pair up for the next track and I like the synth intro and seems to be more dance focused which is great to hear.  It’s nice to hear natural voices against electronic sounds so I felt they were on the right path.  I quite liked this tune…the best one on this disc so far.

5. Stoic na Bigaku

After that boost of rock, we get Stoic na Bigaku which has a sort of anison sound to it with the loud guitars and beats and chords.  Sung by 7 members: Oba, Ichikawa, Kimoto, Miyawaki, Yabuki, Yabushita, and Mayuyu, it’s a pretty safe song for them since it’s not asking for fast lyrics or difficulty.  I would say it’s alright, but nothing special in the long run.

6. Ponkotsu Blues

Sung by many members strung out throughout the groups, Ponkotsu Blues finally brought in something besides trumpets to the game and instead threw in some saxophone.  The vocals are a bit inconsistent with each other and sounds a bit messed up, though when they sing altogether, it does sound better by a bit…but dual lines is not in its favor here.  I’d say the arrangement is definitey worth it, but not the vocals.

7. Ichi Ni no San

Oshima, Takajo, Nagao, Furukawa, and Minegishi pair up for Ichi Ni no San and it sounded like it’d be awesome right from the start with the intro that almost has an avex kind of tone to it.  Once again, the vocals are a bit offputting, but the song itself is quite nice…mehhh.

8. Kyouhansha

It’s weird that Team A’s song was on the other disc but the other two are on this one…very weird.  Team K’s song comes next and Kyouhansha is another bland song for me.  I didn’t think mixing the dance beat with their idol/anison sound was going to work and I guessed right.  I mean the voices are suited for this, but there’s nothing gripping me here.

9. Douki

Oh jeeze, Paruru is getting a solo?  From what we got in “Eien Pressure”, I thought Paruru was a meh choice, but going into her ballad solo, Douki is pretty simple.  I mean piano and her at first really showed how she could do it.  She’s not bad, but she pinches her notes on higher tones which is pretty unfortunate.  Throw in a random guitar solo and a little more strings and you get this song.  It’s not bad persay, but Sayanee’s was a lot better and so was Acchan’s…

10. Kanashiki Kinkyori Ren’ai

Then Team B shows up and Kanashiki Kinkyori Ren’ai is a mid-tempo (but still bright) song here.  I think it’s meh that their song is kind of generic as well, but there’s some nice moments here.  The chorus is nice, but I felt like it’s been done before as it is.  It’s all right, but like I said numerous times in this review….nothing special.

11. Yume no Kawa

I really wish they left this song out as it’s WAY past the time that Acchan graduated from AKB48.  As the B-side from “Gingham Check”, Yume no Kawa was her sendoff and was appropriate as the ending for this disc as it’s a ballad.  I still do enjoy the song as much as I did back then and the PV was one of the more memorable ones from them.  Such a great graduation song!

Tracks Recommended

  • UZA
  • Kimi no Tame ni Boku wa…
  • Tsuyoi Hana
  • Sayonara Crawl
  • Manatsu no Sounds good!
  • JJ ni Karitamono
  • 10 Krone to Pan
  • Tsuyosa to Yowasa no Aida de
  • Shower no Ato Dakara
  • Watashi Leaf
  • Yume no Kawa
  • Smile Kamikakushi

Song of Avoidance

  • Gingham Check
  • Boku wa Ganbaru
  • Kanashiki Kinkyori Ren’ai

Well damn this took forever to review.  After “1830m” I was hoping they weren’t going to get more crazier with their album releases, but Tsugi no Ashiato threw that in the trash.  This album was crazy to review with all the discs and extra songs.  The main disc was obvious in including all the A-sides, theater edition only songs and some B-sides so it was just a run down memory lane.  The other two discs did get to feature a buttload of new content, but most of it was generic Akimoto songs that I couldn’t be bothered with lol.  I mean it was nice that we got the amount we got, but I didn’t think it was as good as their last album sadly.

 

2 Responses to “AKB48 – Tsugi no Ashiato”

  1. Denny Sinnoh Says:

    Interesting take on some of the songs. Like you Sayonara Crawl grew on me, after I did not like it at first. Now I wait for the “WHOOAA” while I’m driving. I tend to watch the music videos, so for me, it is hard to separate the music from the visuals (which never disappoint).


Leave a Reply

