Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Nana Mizuki – SUPERNAL LIBERTY April 16, 2014

Filed under: Nana Mizuki — solarblade @ 1:04 am

supernalliberty

Track Listing

  1. VIRGIN CODE
  2. GUILTY
  3. Apassionato
  4. Egao no Yukue
  5. Antique Nachtmusik
  6. Fun Fun★People
  7. FATE
  8. Vitalization -Aufwachen Form-
  9. Aishuu Twilight
  10. Setsuna Capacity
  11. Ladyspiker
  12. Rock you baby!
  13. Million Ways=One Destination
  14. Bokura no Mirai
  15. Ai no Hoshi -two hearts-

1. VIRGIN CODE

Nana always has such interesting opening songs and VIRGIN CODE is nothing different.  It isn’t as grand as “Avalon no Oukan” from her previous album, but it gives a strong showing.  I love her mix of anison and rock and she just kicks down the wall for this one.  Nana’s vocals are always on point and she just powerfully goes through the song easily.  Very good opening track and hopefully it gets way cooler from here on out!

2. GUILTY

I’m probably the only one who thought this but I thought of U-KISS when GUILTY started because of the beats initially.  The male voice was cool and then Nana came in along with some strings and I was surprised this was our Nana was trying to do something like this.  It’s pretty funky but I was quite shocked but ended up loving the turnout.  Different, but definitely growing on me immensely.

3. Apassionato

Chosen as the promotional song for the album, Apassionato begins with a rather Celtic tone and I thought that’s what it’d be but I was SOOO wrong when the song fully comes in as a very heavy rock track (like a less Japanese “Etsuraku Camellia”).  You know, I’m kind of split on this song because I REALLY like the the slow parts and the fast parts…but they don’t seem to click together for me…Maybe it’s just me, but they should’ve kept the two apart and create two seperate tracks.  Though I just love the power of this song and Nana kept up with it all…I’m so impressed but stretched on the overall presentation.

4. Egao no Yukue

I didn’t think she’d actually cover a song, but she covered a classic DREAMS COME TRUE song.  I was pretty surprised that she’d do a cover song, but a DCT track.  Seeing as the arrangement is almost like the original, Nana’s voice takes on a whole new light for the song in a great way.  I thought she did an amazing job vocally, but the arrangement is meh xD.  Good job overall!

5. Antique Nachtmusik

It sounds depressing starting the next track as it has that muffled feel.  Though once the music begins, it kind of reminds me of Legend of Zelda’s Temple stage from Smash Bros.  It’s an interesting sounding song with some slow parts and some faster parts.  It’s quite dramatic and then the uber low voice in the mid8 section is so unnerving lol.  Still this is a pretty fancy song and I would’ve said this made for a better intro than “VIRGIN CODE”.  Oh and Nana throwing that French around….so cool!

6. Fun Fun★People

Oh hey a switch of attitudes huh?  Fun Fun★People has a much lighter approach by including some funky chords and some staccato notes from the saxes.  It’s got a lot of energy behind it but it kind of reminds me of “Lovely Fruit” from her previous album.  It’s that cute song, but luckily it’s a WHOLE LOT more funky which I love about it.  Great song!

7. FATE

Well that was shortlived because we move into one of the ballads from the album, FATE.  I was wondering if she was going to throw something epic for this song because of the title, but FATE is a straight-up J-pop ballad.  It’s a shock because of how general it’s genre is.  Nana of course is pulling out her vocals here, but the arrangement and the rest of the song didn’t connect with me (minus the acoustic guitar solos).  I’m surprised but I don’t think much of this one 0.o

8. Vitalization -Aufwachen Form-

Like on her last album, Nana made Vitalization special.  As the only single released for the era, Vitalization gained a minute long intro for the album to kind of bridge from “FATE”.  To me, like I said with “Synchrogazer” getting the same treatment, that it really wasn’t needed but it’s whatever.  Vitalization is still a pretty kickass song and Nana blew it out of the park the same way she did with the aforementioned track so I was still in love with her wild vocals and powerful force she brought with the song.  It’s soooo goood!!!

9. Aishuu Twilight

After the excitement of “Vitalization” faded away, we move back to new tracks with Aishuu Twilight.  I was liking the kind of more jazzier (but not straight up) tone the song had and Nana of course gave a nice vocal performance.  It is a big dropoff given the previous track’s energy, so this might throw some people off.  It’s OK, but could’ve been placed somewhere else on the album.

10. Setsuna Capacity

I thought it was going to be another epic song, but Setsuna Capacity turned out to be the one of the more anison-heavy songs and I was happy that there was less genericness going on, but Setsuna Capacity brought us back to that sound.  There’s just something about the song that does work, but amongst the other songs on the album, it is pretty weak.

11. Ladyspiker

Moving on, Ladyspiker was a song I was looking forward to from the name and we get a pretty cool track.  It’s got some good guitar melodies and Nana is singing in a much deeper tone than other songs and it really worked!  It just sounds gritty and so badass for her…yeah this is a pretty bangin’ song!

12. Rock you baby!

~LOCK YOU!….BABY!!!~  Yeah Nana, figured you’d do that with this song.  As a song that’s a bit more upbeat but retains the cool guitar, Rock you baby! is a song that’s better for live performances more than its studio version, but it’s not to say this wasnt bad.  Nana gave a lot of energy here and the song was well done.  Good track overall.

13. Million Ways=One Destination

Opening with a lone piano, it made me curious to what this song is about and is another staple of Nana’s.  Though I was pretty happy when she started the verses by herself basically.  With the instrumentation going in and out makes me enjoy it, but the chorus kind of fell flat for me.  It didn’t have enough oomph behind it whereas the verses felt more interesting.  Meh.

14. Bokura no Mirai

As we near the end, I was surprised we’d get another synth driven track with Bokura no Mirai.  The song isn’t the most exciting track, but I’m loving the melody of the song and Nana of course is giving her all here and I love hearing that.  Though once again, the chorus could’ve had better transitions and more force behind it, but it’s alright.

15. Ai no Hoshi -two hearts-

Ending the album is a new version of the B-side from “Vitalization”.  I LOVE the original version so I was worried that the new take would be not-as-good.  Well, in the end, the original was still way better but the two hearts version makes it more of a ballad by taking some stuff out and putting in some harp.  At least Nana sounds amazing still, but stick with the original version.

Tracks Recommended

  • Vitalization -Aufwachen Form-
  • GUILTY
  • Ladyspiker
  • VIRGIN CODE
  • Antique Nachtmusik

Song of Avoidance

  • FATE

Wow I thought this era would’ve gone on longer than it did with just only one single preceding the release (and the two singles she did with T.M.Revolution).  SUPERNAL LIBERTY to me wasn’t as jaw-dropping as “ROCKBOUND NEIGHBORS” was which is disappointing a little bit, but there were some standouts.  Thing is, SUPERNAL LIBERTY was pretty good in the first half and then started waning in the 2nd half.  I guess it might need to grow on me, but I think on initial listen, it was OK overall.

 

One Response to “Nana Mizuki – SUPERNAL LIBERTY”

  1. Mack Says:

    I think this was an album with more experimentation than ROCKBOUND, which I think is the reason that some may prefer the latter, but there a lot of good songs in this one. I was fascinated with Antique Natchmusik with its gothic sound, also some like Fun Fun People and Aishuu Twilight were really outstanding.

    The best thing was that the album made it #1 at Oricon this week😀


Leave a Reply

