Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

U-KISS – Memories May 16, 2014

Filed under: U-KISS — solarblade @ 4:36 am

memoriesukiss

Track Listing

  1. FLY HIGH ~Intro~
  2. Break up
  3. Bungee Jump
  4. Fall in Love
  5. Spring Rain
  6. Standing Still ~Japanese version~
  7. nightmare
  8. CRAZY 4 U
  9. Baby, Touch Me
  10. Shape of your heart
  11. SOMEDAY ~Japanese version~
  12. Never End ~Ending~
  13. Ballade Medley ~The Grand Takt Kiss~ (CD only first press)

1. FLY HIGH ~Intro~

Of course the group would begin their album with an introduction right?  Though I will say, I like that it begins on a high note as it’s filled with synths and energy.  I do enjoy the parts when the group joins in to count down the song and it becomes a really cool EDM track…they really should’ve spent some time making into this a full track to be honest.  Kevin and Soohyun really made the vocal parts awesome!

2. Break up

Being the 2nd and final A-side released for the album, Break up was the first single as the temporary 5-nin and I was definitely feeling the absence of Dongho and AJ in this tune, but I was liking the energy of the group irregardless.  A lot of Soohyun and Hoon here which made the song a little more smoother and classy.  Of the 3 A-sides, I think this stuck onto me the most, but there’s been better from the group no doubt!

3. Bungee Jump

Kind of a funky title for the first new track from the album.  Like “Break up”, it’s got a more grittier dance sound, but lightens up in the pre-chorus which is quite something.  When we do get to the chorus, the whole ~bungee ju-ju-ju-ju jump~ shtick is annoying to me, but besides that I actually enjoyed the energy this tune brings.  It’s an interesting tune and I can easily see myself enjoying this more and more.

4. Fall in Love

As part of the first single released for the era, Fall in Love was the first song in Japan without Dongho and I was worried it might’ve have upsetted some of the balance, but honestly it quite evened out (maybe except for Eli).  As a song, it’s quite a romantic track set to a nice K-pop beat.  Though let’s be honest, this song really worked for Soohyun who had many solos in this one (even over Hoon and Kevin!).  Also did good for AJ who had the rap and mid-8 section as well.  “Break up” did grow onto me, but “Fall in Love” was something on another level IMO.

5. Spring Rain

After 3 dance tracks, we tone it down to our next new track, Spring Rain which I figured would’ve been a ballad right from the title.  Surprised to hear Hoon start the singing first before Soohyun😄.  When it comes to the group’s ballads, once you heard one, you’ve heard them all😄.  There’s nothing totally that makes this stand out from others like “A Shared Dream” and “Believe”.  Just kind of basic.

6. Standing Still ~Japanese version~

So we get the B-side from “Break up” which is a self-cover of their main track from their Korean album, “COLLAGE”.  Like I said on the single review, it’s quite awkward hearing this without Dongho and AJ and the arrangement is a smidge different.  I actually don’t mind the lyrics and the guys sung them well, but damn I was expecting the other two members doing their parts hahah.  Keep the original Korean version over this honestly.

7. nightmare

Going into a string of new songs, we come into nightmare first and I thought it was going to be a badass song like “Break up” or “ALONE” but it’s more of a brighter dance track 0.o  Most of the song is sung by Kevin which isn’t so bad and the group throws their thing in there, but I feel like the song is lacking that punch.  That piano was a nice touch though, it came in at the right parts for me.  I would say this would’ve made a nice A-side honestly.

8. CRAZY 4 U

Another song where I thought it was gonna be a hard hitter, CRAZY 4 U begins with Soohyun singing with a repetitive piano line.  Turns into a mid-tempo affair and I was kind of here nor there with it.  I will say the vocals are really pretty to hear (especially Hoon).  Otherwise, the song is a little too vanilla for me.

9. Baby, Touch Me

Man, it’s like the group finally pulled out of the slower songs with Baby, Touch Me which has a strong EDM sound and I’m just loving the sound mixed with Kevin’s vocals and I was sold easily here.  I wouldn’t be surprised if this was a solo for him because minus Eli’s rap, I don’t remember hearing any of the other 3 members.  Either way, this is probably the album’s gem…it’s just that damn good!

10. Shape of your heart

Then we move to the other second A-side opposite to “Fall in Love” and I’ve also found myself loving this as well.  There’s just something about these singles that really embedded itself on me lol.  It does remind me of our previous track with the similar edge yet clean sound to it.  I was sad that it never got a PV, but this was the better song IMO.  Though times have changed and I can’t decide😄.  It’s like they’re maturing their sound and I’m actually enjoying that a lot!

11. SOMEDAY ~Japanese version~

So we get another language converted self-cover, this time SOMEDAY (which was from the group’s 2nd Korean album, “Neverland”).  Once again dealing with some resung parts due to lack of members lol.  Funny, I have this release but I totally forgot this song.  The more smoky vocals REALLY stand out in this track and the simple beat kind of gave the track some punch.  The chorus does kind of makes things a lil muddled, but this is still a really good track and the transition to Japanese worked well for this one.  Sweet!!!

12. NEVER END ~Ending~

The outro is a pretty ominous sounding one huh?  Funny how that works.  Eli starts with some spoken dialogue with Kevin/Hoon/Soohyun/Keseop singing a couple lines afterwards.  Then Eli speaks more (in English BTW).  For an outro piece, in lines of the album, it doesn’t fit well…a little over the top so to speak.  Still it was kind of nice to end things off like that.

13. Ballade Medley ~The Grand Takt Kiss~

On first press editions of the CD only, we get a medley of the group’s ballads!  Of course this is all their Japanese sung ballads so you’ll see “0330” and “Believe” part of this medley.  I wanna say there’s 6 songs played in this almost 14 minute track and sadly I really couldn’t tell you what songs are which since I’m not exactly too into their ballads😄.  Also it’s a little too long-winded for me, but I’m sure fans that do love it will surely enjoy it (despite, it’s the full song so it’s better to just listen to them seperately).

Tracks Recommended

  • Baby, Touch Me
  • Fall in Love
  • SOMEDAY ~Japanese version~
  • Shape of your heart
  • nightmare

Song of Avoidance

  • CRAZY 4 U

Coming into the group’s 3rd album, I was pretty worried because this album came out just 8 months after their last one, “Inside øf Me” and with the loss of Dongho and haitus of AJ, I was worried that the group was going to chill out before doing anything more than the two singles that came before this (and their Korean releases as well).  Memories seemed like a more mature affair and for the most part I kind of liked it a lot…maybe not as much as their last album, but I wouldn’t say this was a failure either.  With a new member joining U-KISS, Joon…I’m excited what he’ll bring as he’s meant to replace Dongho…WOO!

 

Leave a Reply

