Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

TOKYO GIRLS’ STYLE – Juujika ~Eiga “Gakkou no Kaidan -Noroi no Kotodama-” Ver. – June 7, 2014

Filed under: TOKYO GIRLS' STYLE — solarblade @ 2:27 am


Track Listing

  1. Juujika ~Eiga “Gakkou no Kaidan -Noroi no Kotodama-” Ver. –
  2. Higurashi no Naku Koro ni / Ayano Konishi (Type A only)
  3. Grow Up / Yuri Nakae (Type A only)
  4. Raven / Miyu Yamabe (Type B only)
  5. Sexy Sexy / Hitomi Arai (Type B only)
  6. feels like ‘HEAVEN’ / Mei Shyoji (Type C only)
  7. Juujika -TATOO MIX- (Type C only)
  8. Juujika -short ver.- Album Scheduled Original Version- (Type D only)
  9. Juujika ~Eiga “Gakkou no Kaidan -Noroi no Kotodama-” Ver. – (Instrumental)

1. Juujika ~Eiga “Gakkou no Kaidan -Noroi no Kotodama-” Ver. –

Wow, I really love when the group does more serios songs and really Juujika is really one of those songs that just work for them.  I love the dramatic atmosphere and the ladies sound great in this song, especially Ayano who once again takes the vocal spotlight.  I’m not sure if it defeats “Bad Flower” is edgyness, but it’s probably my favorite A-side they released in this era.

2. Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

Most of the single though has covers with each member getting a different song to themselves.  The first is from Ayano and I was happily surprised she’d choose an Eiko Shimamiya song (though it is considered Eiko’s most recognizable track.  I kind of like the dark atmosphere of the track which made the original SO memorable for me in the first place.  Ayano did a really nice job covering this and brought some nice dramatics and vocally is the best of the 5.

3. Grow Up

Of the 5 songs, I actually didn’t recognize this tune.  Being Yuri’s solo, Grow Up (a cover of a popular Hysteric Blue song) was kind of forgetful.  I mean Yuri doesn’t have the best vocals of the group and this song kind of showed how vulnerable his vocals can get.  Also, this didn’t come off as a horror song (except the intro).  Otherwise, this song was kind of meh.

4. Raven

OH now this was a choice that came with risk.  As the theme for the movie UZUMAKI, Miyu decided to take up covering this popular Do As Infinity song and well…you can’t be a better vocalist than Tomiko Van because she really made the song what it was.  Miyu’s take isn’t terrible but it sounds like an amateur karaoke take of the song.  Actually the arrangement was a nice change and doesn’t completely change the melodies established here.

5. Sexy Sexy

The next solo is sung by Hitomi and she got the anime theme, Sexy Sexy from CASCADE.  I also really liked this song originally and once again was surprised it was chosen.  I’m a bit disappointed that the sound is more pop than rock like the original, but whatever.  I don’t know, it feels like Hitomi didn’t give her all here so the song sounds a bit flat.

6. feels like ‘HEAVEN’

Our final solo is from Mei and she got the HIIH tune.  I liked the original, but the vocals in the original felt shouty and pinchy.  Luckily, the cover version sounds cleaner and Mei’s voice sound mysterious and flighty.  Though I’m surprised her voice is so high here.  I thought this was musically the nicest track of the 5 solos.  The random laughing bits are odd…but good cover nonetheless.

7. Juujika -TATOO MIX-

Throw in extra beats and some more strings and you end up with the remix lol.  Not saying it’s a lazy remix because I quite like the sound of it and works with the vocal melodies as well.  Also the dark arrangement is lessened so it lies between the movie version and the album version.  Not bad and luckily isn’t a RM remix.

8. Juujika -short ver.- Album Scheduled Original Version-

Last, but not least, we have a short preview of the original version of Juujika and from what is heard…it’s disappointing…nothing captures my attention and all the good stuff from the A-side is gone and we’re left with a generic TGS-styled album song…which is not good.  Oh well…



So closing out their 4th album’s era, Juujika was a really different single in comparison to their other singles they’ve released.  I mean a movie ver. of a song?  Odd, but honestly it’s so good and stomps on the upcoming one from “Killing Me Softly” as well as its remix.  Also fun to see the single get solos from each member covering a different horror tie-in tune (though the girls had their own solos just a while ago with the whole “Maltine Girls’ Wave” release).  Of the 5 covers, I think Higurashi no Naku Koro ni and feels like ‘HEAVEN’ are worth checking out…the other 3….iono….mileage varies….interesting what the album will be like.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s