Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Sayaka Sasaki – Daybreaker June 16, 2014

Filed under: Sayaka Sasaki — solarblade @ 5:00 am

daybreaker

Track Listing

  1. Break your world
  2. BLAZE MOMENT ~Guren Jouka~
  3. Tsuioku no Scarlet
  4. My Dignity
  5. RESETLUCK
  6. Ordinary Day…
  7. Ryuusei Voice
  8. Eternal Wish
  9. World End
  10. Reason why XXX
  11. Starting Again
  12. Daybreaker

1. Break your world

It’s great that Sayaka opens up the album with the 3rd A-side released for this era because it’s a favorite mine and really just blows down the doors.  I love her vocals floying around the anison rock arrangement and she just has a lot of power and identity here.  What an awesome song!!!

2. BLAZE MOMENT ~Guren Jouka~

The first new track, BLAZE MOMENT continues off from the power of the previous track and gives us another hard-hitting track.  This one seems to slightly break away from the anison feel but not too much.  I’m loving the extra synths found in this song and while it doesn’t hit quite as hard as “Break your world” it’s definitely fitting that it came right after!

3. Tsuioku no Scarlet

As a song I didn’t review because it was a joint single with Miyuki Hashimoto, Tsuioku no Scarlet was a great choice to include because I LOVED the sound of this track.  Almost like a fripSide song but not generic lol.  The anilectro sound just felt right and “BLAZE MOMENT” did a great job bridging to this song because it’s a solid song for Sayaka!  Definitely an early favorite!

4. My Dignity

After 3 epic songs, My Dignity switches moods by taking more a cuter route.  I’m not against when anison artists have genre shifts but damn Sayaka was this a kick in the stomach.  After that realization, I started to pay attention more to the song and like how Maon deals with these kind of songs, Sayaka does poppy songs nicely too.  Her voice is slightly squeakier which is meh, but the music is a nice groovy sound mixing technopop, dubstep, and 8bit all in one hit which didn’t override my system.  Good song overall.

5. RESETLUCK

For such a title, I thought it was going to be like “Tsuioku no Scarlet” but it’s actually a mid-tempo rock ballad.  I was happily surprised because I didn’t think she’d tackle such a style.  Sayaka though won me over with her vocals and the arrangement just felt right for her. I just love Sayaka having such a Western styled feel here and is another gem on this album!

6. Ordinary Day…

The next two tracks were B-sides starting with the one from “Reason why XXX”.  Ordinary Day… was such a shock that it was chosen over “Super Shiny Sensation!!!” because this song was just so forgetful and bland for me.  I mean the pipe organ was the only thing I remotely remembered about the tune.  Though I will say that it worked coming after “RESETLUCK” because this has a similar Western feel and the ending was nice, but otherwise…I don’t remember much else.

7. Ryuusei Voice

Then we get the B-side from “Starting Again” and it was just a good choice to have!  I mean compared to the other songs, this does come off a bit generic in almost all respects, but there’s something about it that I kind of enjoy?  The chorus sounds like a generic mess because of the easy to predict chords.  It could’ve been a lot faster and it would’ve been amazing!…oh well.  I guess I take my opinion back XD.

8. Eternal Wish

Back to new songs, Eternal Wish marks as the album’s ballad and has the works with mostly strings as a part of the arrangement with piano, bass, and other things.  I mean I guess it’s alright, but honestly it didn’t do anything for me, but Sayaka’s voice is just radiant here so that’s a great thing this song has going for.

9. World End

With how slow the album had got, it was time for a wake-up call and we got World End which is something that would’ve suited her debut album as it has a bright and flowing arrangement mixed with them anison chords which means I would be easily impressed!  It’s a really grand song for an album like this but honestly I’ve been wanting one of these and she did not disappoint!

10. Reason why XXX

Returning to some A-sides, we have Reason why XXX (her 2nd A-side released in the era and I remembered the anilectro from this one being so edgy and showed us that Sayaka had more power than what we had known prior.  It’s a busy song to get into, but it’s exciting and has a lot to it which is a good thing to have!  Great as an A-side and great to have here.

11. Starting Again

I was surprised when this single was passed over when “sympathetic world” was released, but it managed to join this album to make up for that.  After “Reason why XXX”, this A-side really seemed to be rather weak and honestly it’s true as the other two singles in this era have been super awesome.  It’s like “Ordinary Day…” where the song is nice to listen to but I can’t remotely remember much of it after I listen to it.

12. Daybreaker

Sayaka closes out the album with the title track and I kind of thought it was going to be an epic ending, but Daybreaker kind of takes a lighter route, almost a ballad.  I mean the song is ok and the unsettling chords in the verses are interesting, but there’s something that doesn’t quite click with me…but once Sayaka uses her chest voice and chorus kicks in, things are GOOD…interesting way to end the album, but like I said thought it’d be something a bit more powerful as the closing track.

Tracks Recommended

  • Tsuioku no Scarlet
  • RESETLUCK
  • Break your world
  • World End
  • Reason why XXX

Song of Avoidance

  • Ryuusei Voice

Coming into Sayaka’s sophomore album, Daybreaker is a bit more of the same of what we got from “sympathetic world”, her debut album.  She’s got a lot of great potential, but how her company is handling it is questionable.  The tracks recommended is the best of the best and the rest is a lot of miss and kind of bland settings (granted the B-sides were the worst offenders).  She’s growing some, but I hope she can avoid the bland settings.

 

Leave a Reply

