Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

TOKYO GIRLS’ STYLE – Killing Me Softly June 16, 2014

Filed under: TOKYO GIRLS' STYLE — solarblade @ 7:01 am

killingmesoftly

Track Listing

  1. Intro
  2. Killing Me Softly
  3. pain
  4. Unmei
  5. Partition Love
  6. Chiisana Kiseki
  7. Ren’ai Etude
  8. Zutto Wasurenai.
  9. Juujika
  10. Mine
  11. Outro
  12. Last Forever -Royal Mirrorball Mix-
  13. Get The Star -Royal Mirrorball Mix-
  14. Tsuki no Kimagure (Type-A & C only)
  15. Partition Love -Chinese ver.- (Type-B only)
  16. Chim Chim Cheree (Type-C only)

1. Intro

The album begins with an introduction as they’ve always done!  This one sounds a bit cool and futuristic to me and then the beat goes away and a lone piano plays in the background and then fades away to…

2. Killing Me Softly

Acoustic guitar that starts our first track from the album.  If you don’t know, Killing Me Softly actually pre-dates their debut single, “Kirari☆”.  I was surprised they would use that to promote this album and after listening to it, also left me wondering why’d they hide it for so long before making it exist.  It does remind of the aforementioned song with those certain sounds they share.  I also LOVE the vocals in the song…especially from Ayano…she hits those low notes like a boss!  It’s a slow jam for the girls and they really pulled off the song as a smooth but dark track…I was impressed (and the PV was eye candy!).  Good first song!

3. pain

Why does the guitar chords that open this song sound exactly like “Discord”?  I honestly thought it was going to go there!  However, the song went a different direction and focused more on the guitarwork (and their typical funk-based style).  The musical interludes did go on too long (as a typical issue with them xD).  The song once again showed how much the girls have grown vocally and how melodic they can get and I liked it, but the song otherwise didn’t do much for me.

4. Unmei

Ahhh the A-side that begun the album’s era!  Unmei to me was kind of where I started to feel the group had started to fade out for me.  I mean Unmei is great by itself and the funky vibes are at all new high with the vocals as well too.  However, I was getting real fed up with their sound being SO stagnant that I wrote this song off.  Coming back to it after the group walked outside of their comfort zone got me to appreciate it more but I still dislike the long amounts of interludes their producer gave this song…just poor on his part.

5. Partition Love

Doesn’t help that we move into Partition Love which is more of the same issues here but less in the way.  As the group’s 4th A-side for this album, Partition Love actually warmed on me pretty quickly and I wasn’t complaining as much as I was when “Unmei” was released.  I really love the whispery vocals and the funky beats just gives a mysterious tone that the previous track wasn’t able to provide.  I enjoyed this tune a LOT!

6. Chiisana Kiseki

Then we get into the group’s 3rd A-side and boy does this song stick out like a SORE THUMB on this album.  Unlike the previous 4 funk songs, Chiisana Kiseki is a straight up idol song (like someone else produced this) and the only way you can tell it’s related is the guitar flicker.  I don’t know, but this belongs on “Kodou no Himitsu”…even the vocals to me seem subpar all-around…just ick😄.

7. Ren’ai Etude

That guitar lick reminds me of “W.M.A.D” or “Himawari to Hoshikuzu”…ironic I think I said this about another song before.  Ren’ai Etude is like what if “Chiisana Kiseki” was mixed with the album’s overall tone!  It’s just as upbeat and happy-go-lucky as songs go but it actually fits the album.  I just find myself being happy with this song, the vocals could have a little more life in them as I’m finding myself kind of thinking it’s just a bit one-dimensional of a track.  Still, it’s a step-up from the previous track.

8. Zutto Wasurenai.

Man, this album is really feeling like “Limited addiction” where everything is meshing into one LOOOOONG song.  This is giving me a lot of “Kirari☆” moments especially with those goddamn guitar flicks…I’m really getting tired of hearing those.  Honestly, they sound similar too…ugh…what happened…

9. Juujika

Brett, why isn’t this bolded?  Well, it’s because this is the ALBUM version of the single that came out a couple weeks before and I HATE this version.  It took out all the amazing things from the single version and sloshed on their typical TGS sound and just threw it to us and I loathe it.  Even the transition to the chorus is a trainwreck to listen to.  Even then, if the single version didn’t exist IT SOUNDS SO BLAND AND A CLONE TO EVERYTHING ELSE ON THIS ALBUM.

10. Mine

Trying to wash that taste out of my mouth, we move to the B-side from “Chiisana Kiseki” and Mine being back here is odd, but works because I remember liking the track and loving the electric guitar in the song mixing it with the brass.  I mean, in the big picture, Mine isn’t anything special to the group but honestly, it’s one of the better songs to appear.

11. Outro

The eleventh track is the outro already? Especially when we have 3 songs left (4 depending on the version).  Weird placement and it’s an instrumental of course but of what song is kind of beyond me at the moment because I’m still shaking off the last couple of songs.  Add that it ends rather abruptly at about 2:30 so it’s really one of those times I rather wished the girls made a real final track and not an outro in between songs >.< what?

12. Last Forever -Royal Mirrorball Mix-

What couldn’t be anymore disappointing is the fact that the songs I loved got fucked over on this album (including “Juujika”).  Last Forever and “Get The Star” were part of the 2nd single released and both had a distinctly different sound (because they were produced by someone else) and now we’re here with friggin’ Royal Mirrorball mixes….FML.  Last Forever’s is first up and ugh I already knew I was going to hate it.  Turned a mid-tempo rock ballad into a generic disco abomination.  What I can say is that the vocals suited and the strings were nice…otherwise crap remix…

13. Get The Star -Royal Mirrorball Mix-

Same thing applies with Get The Star…turned a great rock track into a generic remix.  I mean it actually sounds like a normal TGS song and I am just not impressed period.  Though I can tell RM put a little more effort with this remix than in “Last Forever” but both are shit so in the end it wouldn’t matter.

14. Tsuki no Kimagure

I found it weird that they made Tsuki no Kimagure a edition track.  As the B-side from “Partition Love” it actually tried to stand out in its own right.  I still think it’s an out-of-character song, but I kind of happy that it’s that right.  The pipe organ and shuffling bossa nova sound is really warming on me and the gals are singing in more of a higher pitch.  It’s different and has grown on me steadily since the single review so I’m content with it appearing (and really I like that it breaks from the damn monotany this album is plagued with).

15. Partition Love -Chinese ver.-

So on another version, we get a Chinese version of Partition Love (hmmm, we haven’t had a Chinese take since “Onnaji Kimochi” if memory serves me right).  The vocals aren’t as whispery and mysterious as they are in the original JPN, but they seem to have tackled the language as smoothly as they can get which is nice.  Overall not a bad job…it’s still Partition Love so it’s a good song!

16. Chim Chim Cheree

The final track is actually not a new one.  Of course it’s their take on the Disney classic and it was featured on the “Disney Rocks!!! Girls Power” compilation album.  I’m happy to hear some actual instruments like guitars and bass and drums.  So seeing this on KMS is bizarre since musically doesn’t fit anywhere.  Though with the amount of disappointment I have in this album, this was actually one of the better songs…lord…

Tracks Recommended

  • Partition Love
  • Chim Chim Cheree
  • Unmei
  • Killing Me Softly

Song of Avoidance

  • Juujika

Honestly, I didn’t expect Killing Me Softly to be as horrid as I thought it would’ve especially from the singles WHICH WERE GREAT (cept Chiisana Kiseki).  I don’t know where avex went wrong but this album failed in a lot of places and I’m starting to question their producer because he’s getting REAL lazy as of lately.  Most of the songs were generic copies of one another (even admitting some of the recommended tracks are guilty of it) and the Royal Mirrorball remixes just needs to stop…he has overstayed his welcome WAY TOO LONG and he needs to go…this album was just shit…

 

Leave a Reply

