Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Yukino – VOCALIZE June 18, 2014

Filed under: Yukino — solarblade @ 5:41 am

vocalize

Track Listing

  1. RanTiKi
  2. Leopard -PANTHER-
  3. Miserable Rain
  4. San-gatsu San-juuichi Nichi (Nichiyoubi)@Sakura Cafe♪
  5. Never Cry
  6. Maboroshi no Ai
  7. hand/s
  8. Gokusaishiki Twilight
  9. BABYDOLL
  10. Boy for me ~Uwagoto Mitai ni Suki to Itte~
  11. After the love has gone
  12. Magic hour

1. RanTiKi

I love how Yukino opens the album with the A-side that preceded VOCALIZE.  Like I said on the review, Yukino’s vocals are so impressive and adding the big band style and make it fast just impressed me all over.  This was just an amazing choice to open the album with because it really showcased what she’s all about and what more can you ask for?

2. Leopard -PANTHER-

It continues further onto our first new track on the album, but it’s got a nice rhythm going on that’s more towards funk.  I also can admire that she left off the energy from “RanTiKi” by giving a more soulful performance and it’s just as impressive if not more and Yukino’s English is getting better.  She just melts personality and it’s a REALLY classy song…impressed as all hell!

3. Miserable Rain

Interesting that we move away from that style to the B-side from “RanTiKi”, Miserable Rain which is the first ballad from the album.  Back when I first reviewed it, I thought of it as an average ballad with strings/piano and some band instruments.  What did stand out though was Yukino’s vocals as she breathed life on a what could’ve been bland song.

4. San-gatsu San-juuichi Nichi (Nichiyoubi)@Sakura Cafe♪

Weird title for a song right?  Also 4th song in and it’s actually a live song that’s only 2:30 in length?  For as short and simplistic, the song gives off a nice Mediterreanean feel with the accordion sliding about alongside acoustic guitar and bongos.  It’s a song that’s best reserved for background fodder…would’ve been nice as the final track, but its placement on VOCALIZE is a little more than odd to me.

5. Never Cry

After that side-stop, Never Cry brings us back into some bossa nova music and kind of stands in the middle between “RanTiKi” and “Leopard -PANTHER-” where it’s slower than the former but more slick like the latter.  Yukino’s vocals are once again on point throughout the song so I felt right at home with this song, a good pick-me-up after the last two tracks.

6. Maboroshi no Ai

Oh damn, I’m liking the sound of Maboroshi no Ai especially with the saxophone love throughout this one!  This one has a catchy sound to it and Yukino sounded more comfortable to shine brightly with her vocals.  She actually has amazing control and style just oozes out of her here…this was THE perfect song for her to showcase her abilities!

7. hand/s

Then we move into another ballad with hand/s which takes the form of very 90’s pop ballad (the best way I can describe it).  However, like “Miserable Rain”, if it wasn’t the simply beautiful vocal performance Yukino gave, this would’ve been a generic mess.  It actually isn’t all that bad, especially in the later half where she vocally just belts her heart and wow impressed!

8. Gokusaishiki Twilight

I don’t know what to expect with Gokusaishiki Twilight but it definitely brought the atmosphere up again with a jazzy punch.  The best thing is how playful Yukino is within the song since she sings a little more quietly and in a cuter tone while the instruments act as the more important element here.  The chorus does have a certain anison feel and that surprised me but didn’t turn me off.  Sly tune and I liked it!~

9. BABYDOLL

Hmmm, Yukino including synths to her music?  This could be quite interesting.  I enjoyed how catchy the tune is and it has an interesting tone (plus some filters thrown on her voice).  It’s a headbopper and one of the more unique offerings from this album.

10. Boy for me ~Uwagoto Mitai ni Suki to Itte~

When I heard the chords and claps, I figured the song would be kind of another R&B ditty which is something I am more than fine with.  After hearing Yukino in a higher register, it was great to hear she came down for Boy for me.  There’s a lot to the arrangement and the synths gave it more atmosphere and fullness and it worked!  Good song overall, a way to chill down in my opinion.

11. After the love has gone

With a title like that, I wasn’t shocked to hear that it was another ballad.  Though I wasn’t expecting Yukino to sing this entirely in English.  Her voice is surprisingly deep in comparison to any of the other songs on the album but she at least gets stronger and the song changes mood to something a bit more brighter (plus the harmonica added an element of happiness too even though the song is a little sullen).  Of the ballads, I was impressed the most with this one a LOT!

12. Magic hour

Yukino closes the album out with another chill track in Magic hour but the synths kind of gives this futuristic feel, plus the minor chords from the piano gives it an interesting sound…but the chorus cleans up and makes it sound kind of like how I felt with “Boy for me”.  Nice way to end things out…it’s just sad that it is the last track.

Tracks Recommended

  • Maboroshi no Ai
  • Leopard -PANTHER-
  • After the love has gone
  • Boy for me ~Uwagoto Mitai ni Suki to Itte~
  • Magic hour

Song of Avoidance

  • San-gatsu San-juuichi Nichi (Nichiyoubi)@Sakura Cafe♪

After hearing her debut, “You make me blue” and “RanTiKi” I knew Yukino had the potential to release something amazing!  What I didn’t expect that VOCALIZE would be near perfection, especially for an artist that hasn’t gotten the fire burning behind her in popularity…this is one of those gem albums that honestly fits next to Eri Nobuchika, this album had awesome songs and vocals which continue to impress me.  She did have 2-3 meh song (the worst was the oddly out of place 2:30 track) but overall this is *RECOMMENDED* to fans that read the blog!

 

Leave a Reply

