Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

UVERworld – Ø CHOIR July 2, 2014

Filed under: UVERworld — solarblade @ 9:10 am

0choir

Track Listing

  1. Rei HERE ~SE~
  2. IMPACT
  3. Dare ga Itta
  4. Nano・Second (album ver.)
  5. Fight For Liberty (album ver.)
  6. ENOUGH-1
  7. KICK ga Jiyuu
  8. a LOVELY TONE (album ver.)
  9. Nanokame no Ketsui
  10. Bessekai
  11. Born Slippy
  12. Wizard CLUB
  13. Arubeki Katachi
  14. 0 choir

1. Rei HERE ~SE~

So the album begins with an introductory piece from the band and it’s an odd thing to hear a ladies voice sing (reminds of the intro of “GO-ON”) but then it turns into a rapping section with Seika playing in behind them.  It goes on til the end where the two voices (the girl and a guy) says the title of our next track….Weird opening for a 1 minute intro.

2. IMPACT

So entering the album, IMPACT starts nice we TAKUYA and some acoustic guitar and it’s actually a pretty interesting song that features some slowdown parts and some time signature changes.  It’s a really section-heavy track like “GOLD” which some could deem messy, but I think it’s one of their more easier to follow section-heavy songs.  I would say it did leave an impact on me and I’m hoping the rest of the album follows this style through!

3. Dare ga Itta

Interesting that our next track would open with TAKUYA ,Seika, and acoustic guitar.  After that the band does enter the fray and the tune gets a little more edgy and moves at a much quicker pace than the intro of the song.  Though like “IMPACT”, it’s very sectional and will more than likely throw you off but there’s parts of awesomeness and some no-so-much (like the minor piano chords that act like a transition).  It’s a good song, but I like how the previous tune sounded more.

4. Nano・Second (album ver.)

So we get to some of the previously released tracks and some of them got the album treatment.  As the 2nd single, I was surprised none of its B-sides are on here, but was surprised this tune got changes.  Sadly the thing that pulled me in, the harmonica is gone and was replaced by saxophone.  I mean it still sets up an awesome track which funny enough, the majority remained unchanged.  It’s still that awesome electrorock tune that I just loved so it’s a badass song still.  Plus I love the whole ~just do it, keep your head up~ line…Super cool!

5. Fight For Liberty (album ver.)

We get an album ver. also for the first A-side released and it has a different intro, but I think that was it because the strings remained and the overall track remains the same.  Not a big change, but a song like this didn’t need it because it’s still a great track from UVERworld.  TAKUYA still sounds powerful and it just amazes me how much style he has in songs like this.  Great song!

6. ENOUGH-1

Back to new songs, ENOUGH-1 kind of halts the album with this kind of trippy tune.  I mean you can’t be original til you use acoustic guitar, piccolo and a didgeridoo.  Though that seems to disappear when the band enters and kind of jams…It’s a pretty unique song on the album because it takes a more laidback style and TAKUYA is more rapping than singing which shows a different side.  I can get behind this a lot…very refreshing after the previous 4 songs.

7. KICK ga Jiyuu

The intro of our next song starts off shaky as they mess up and then really gets it started.  After “ENOUGH-1” this acts to kind of bring it back slowly and I admire something that if it wasn’t for the next couple tracks lol.  I would actually say this is a bit straightforward and slightly poppy for me until the drive gets a little more punch.  Not bad, not bad.

8. a LOVELY TONE (album ver.)

So we get an album version of the B-side from “Fight For Liberty/Wizard CLUB” and instead of that guitar/synth mix…the intro is done by Seika.  I have to say I REALLY like the change to that since it adds a little more of that sensual glow.  TAKUYA’s voice is light and more controlled but then again it didn’t sound like the tune change otherwise.  At least it’s not as bad as I was going to expect.

9. Nanokame no Ketsui

Sadly I wish there was changes for this song.  Even though it’s been out a few weeks, I still am not all that interested in this song.  On the album, it is a bit more louder than “a LOVELY TONE” but it’s goddamn long at 7 minutes.  Plus we’ve already had clapping beats in the last track, so I’m just kind of like why is this placed here.  I’m just not interested in this one sorry lol.

10. Bessekai

Which baffles me more when we see the B-side from that single makes the album cut once again coming after the A-side.  Bessekai if you don’t know is an instrumental and little lyrical content.  It acts somewhat as the interlude of the album which is cool I suppose.  I mean I still like the sound of the band and throwing in that dubstep was actually working here.  Still, I can’t help but feel like this didn’t really belong and it’s a tad long for an interlude…so meh.

11. Born Slippy

NO…they didn’t?!?  Really UVER?  If you guys don’t know, this is actually a cover of a classic 90’s electro song from Underworld (oh, I see the semblance)…  I had thoughts that this was that particular song, but couldn’t think of why.  It kind of tries to be faithful by having it somewhat sound like its original, but the band also fills in the sound which is an interesting take.  TAKUYA though…ehhhhh his English here (which is all of it) is kind of hit and miss and funny to listen to.  There’s some genius moments like the acoustic part and the edgier parts.  UVER did changed some parts to make it less long?  It’s a very out there cover for the band, but I like the risk they did even if it did have some iffy parts.

12. Wizard CLUB

The only A-side that got no changes huh?  Wizard CLUB was such a fun track to listen to andI’m glad that at least they didn’t touch this one.  It’s a wild song and Seika was already in front row on this one.  Like “IMPACE” and “Dare ga Itta” it’s pretty section friendly, but it’s pretty straightforward and TAKUYA gave a fun performance and I still love the sort of Street Fighter passage in the song a lot haha.  Fun song from the band and happy it made the cut!

13. Arubeki Katachi

As we get into the last two songs, we get Arubeki Katachi first and this seems like it’s another rock staple from the group but it has an upbeat nature due to the bright piano chords playing along the speedy tempo of the track.  It reminds me somewhat of their classic anime themes (round their debut era).  It’s a pretty neat song and stands nicely on the album.

14. 0 choir

Then we end the album with the title track and I was wondering how’d they end the album and it’s heavy track.  It kind of reminds me of how “IMPACT” hit the beginning of the album so the full circle is kind of cool to me.  It does have more synths here which works for sure.  After a while it kind of drags for me which dulls my enjoyment, but it works for a final track.

Tracks Recommended

  • NanoSecond (album ver.)
  • IMPACT
  • Arubeki Katachi
  • ENOUGH-1
  • Wizard CLUB

Song of Avoidance

  • Bessekai

Wow that was actually a pretty good album for what it is.  UVERworld’s 8th album, Ø CHOIR might be one of my favorites, possibly even over “LAST” in how this album worked.  I thought Seika made a great impression here (than on the last two albums) and most of the songs were pretty awesome from them.  The only songs I was really not head over heels was basically the songs that came from Nanokame no Ketsui…both didn’t seem to fit IMO.  Still this album is a *RECOMMENDED*

 

Leave a Reply

