Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

2PM – LEGEND OF 2PM July 12, 2014

Filed under: 2PM — solarblade @ 2:17 am

legendof2pm

Track Listing

  1. The LEGEND
  2. Masquerade (Album ver.)
  3. Beautiful
  4. So Bad
  5. ONLY ONE
  6. Missing You
  7. Want you back
  8. This Is Love
  9. Kimi ga Ireba
  10. I’ll Be OK
  11. SOS Man
  12. Breakthrough
  13. Forever
  14. Hanareteite mo LIVE ver. (Regular and PLAYBUTTON only)

CD 2

  1. Sexy Lady
  2. SAY YES
  3. Kimi Dake ni
  4. Oh
  5. TRUE SWAG
  6. Let It Rain

1. The LEGEND

The group opens up their sophomore album with a spoken introduction.  It sounds really epic and sets the album for some epic songs.  I like whoever is singing in this one (Junsu?).  Either way, for a minute long intro..it was cool!

2. Masquerade (Album ver.)

A new version of the 2nd A-side and final release before the album.  A new intro is in place and some extra sounds were thrown in Masquerade which was a song I wasn’t totally into.  It does sounds a smidge better than its original which is more or less a safe bet that they wanted to this the whole time.  I still don’t like the auto-tune in this song, but hey what can I do, the rapping section was also a bit meh.  Ehh.

3. Beautiful

At least we got the original version of the other A-side released for the album.  Beautiful was just exactly what you think it is.  I just love the smarmy sound of the tune and all the members just sound good with a deeper arrangement.  It’s definitely one of my favorite 2PM songs behind “Take off”.

4. So Bad

Moving onto some new songs, So Bad comes first and has a guitar-laced mix with beats which is always a nice thing.  It’s funny because this song sounds one of those flirtatious song because the chorus is mostly in English which is a nice decision.  There’s something ridiculously catchy about the song though…Just a pretty good song!

5. ONLY ONE

It seems like the songs seem to get less K-pop and more something else but I like it because it gives us an interesting side to 2PM’s sound.  While it’s not as easy to dance compared to the previous tracks, it has its moments, but I’m loving the little things about this tune like the layering and distant guitar tricks.  I enjoyed this one!

6. Missing You

So we move into a mid-tempo R&B song now?  Well whatever, I’ll just how this is like.  As this is more of a serious song for the group, Missing You has a more emotive stance.  I do kind of like the chords and buzzing synths that all around the song.  The guys for the most part sounds right at home with this so there’s not much for me to bag on.  It’s a solid slow jam right here!

7. Want you back

Man, are we slowing down further?  I thought 2PM was a dance group for the most part!  Anywho yeah, it’s a slower track when compared to the previous track but it sounds a little more emotive.  I wasn’t expecting the chorus to have been a bit more upbeat.  Though I kind of forgot how this went and just seemed to forget about it sadly.  Just didn’t have that spark as the other tracks had IMO.

8. This Is Love

At least things begin to pickup again with this song.  At first I thought it would’ve been a ballad, but it seems it’s the opposite and has a string-based dance track.  Whoever did the MC-ing in the beginning made it so corny!  It kind of sometimes feel like it wants to be a remix…that interlude before Taecyeon’s rap (and including it) felt so random and unnecessary to listen to lol.  Otherwise the main course is pretty catchy and nice to listen to.

9. Kimi ga Ireba

So both B-sides also made the album cut starting with the one found on “Beautiful”.  Like I said in the single review, Kimi ga Ireba reminds me of my favorite song by them.  It has a nice piano melody and the flighty/airy synths add a nice touch of flow.  Actually it reminds me of both “Beautiful and “Take off” mixed together.  It’s a pretty nifty song overall and I’m happy it made the cut.

10. I’ll Be OK

Acoustic guitar opens up our next song and I wasn’t expecting the album to slow down once again (well at least not until “Forever”).  It’s a simple R&B track with the typical sounds you’d find in one (more Western styled).  The guys’ vocals are really nice to listen to, but they didnt’ really save the song because I was falling asleep to it😄.

11. SOS Man

Waking me up from that slump is SOS Man which a more aggressive arrangement.  It’s one of the group’s darker arranged songs and I quite enjoyed what we got here.  Though I do lulz at how much emphasis they put on ~SOS~…otherwise it’s a pretty cool song but not at the top of the list.

12. Breakthrough

I thought Breakthrough would’ve been like “Kimi ga Ireba” but it kind of shifts somewhere else.  The synths felt heavily J-pop and the flow kept their signature K-pop feel.  I really did enjoy the call and response parts the most, but there’s really not a lot to say about this song that I haven’t said elsewhere on the album.  Good vocals, good sound…etc.

13. Forever

The song that closes out the album is also the B-side from “Masquerade”.  I mean it was real appopriate to end the album with this track because it’s a straight up ballad from the boys.  I still can barely remember the melody of the song more or less so it really left me forgetting this song…but since it is the only song that’s this way (on the first disc) this was an OK way to close it out

14. Hanareteite mo LIVE ver.

So on Regular editions (and PLAYBUTTON versions) it comes with a bonus track which is just a live version of Hanareteite mo (a song from their first album, “REPUBLIC OF 2PM”).  I mean it’s nothing totally special since it’s a ballad as well.  It sounds nice and the group together sounds beautiful so really…I don’t know why it had to be a bonus track…it’s OK.

CD2

1. Sexy Lady

So the 2nd Disc features 6 songs (each one sung solo by the members).  First up is Wooyoung and his song, Sexy Lady.  I like the buzzing synths with the pulsing beat.  It gives a rather sexy song.  Wooyoung’s voice is nice if not a bit nasal in some parts.  It’s an OK song, nothing that’ll stand out from the album.

2. SAY YES

Junho gets the next track with SAY YES and I almost thought it was going to be a full out dance track, but of the six…this one came out of nowhere because this song is a track that features electric guitar prominently.  While I don’t think his voice fits the style here, he tried and most of the time he sounded great!  One of the better solos.

3. Kimi Dake ni

Taecyeon gets Kimi Dake ni and it’s a little more urbanized because as we all know, Tae is the rapper of the group so he gets a song that shows off his skills in rapping as well as his deep singing voice.  It’s a pretty nifty track and it has a lot of attitude which I always love from him…better than Junho’s solo.

4. Oh

I’ve always thought Chansung had the oddest vocals in 2PM so hearing him have a solo made me slightly worry.  As a down-tempo R&B track, it really didn’t stand out to me and the chorus felt somewhat lacking as well.  Just meh here.

5. TRUE SWAG

Jun.K is up next and like Taecyeon’s has a bit more of a hip-hop sound but honestly this was a little more meh.  I just didn’t exactly care for most of what this song was about. Also, Jun’s vocals didn’t seem to work and felt like some generic rapper going at it (though the song itself was pretty generic too).  Just no!

6. Let It Rain

Finally, we have Nickkhun’s song (and let’s be honest…he’s been in trouble in recent times).  What I wasn’t expecting is that this song is entirely in English (though “TRUE SWAG” was too).  I was surprised that Nick’s vocals are rather good and he sounds VERY fluent in the language (well DUH! He’s from California what do you expect?).  Great ballad, although it ends rather abruptly doesn’t it?

Tracks Recommended

  • Beautiful
  • Kimi ga Ireba
  • ONLY ONE
  • Let It Rain
  • Kimi Dake ni

Song of Avoidance

  • TRUE SWAG

(This review was in incubation since March last year.  I know…bad holding out right?).  2PM’s sophomore album was definitely a stronger release over their debut by a good margin.  It started off amazing but did drift apart in the later half which is normal for me.  They sound amazing as usual and their music has been getting better overall.  The second disc was a nice treat with solos.  Although TRUE SWAG is just ick!  I wonder how they sound on their next album!

 

Leave a Reply

