Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Hitomi Shimatani – Honjitsu, Tonai, Bousho July 17, 2014

Filed under: Hitomi Shimatani — solarblade @ 4:45 am

honjitsu

Track Listing

  1. Snapshot
  2. Yaburekabure
  3. Sasurai
  4. Ai no Katachi
  5. Home Sweet Home
  6. Oss Mess Kiss Killaly!!
  7. Ikki Mankai
  8. Tsuzure Ori
  9. Cali≒Cata≒Luca ~Cali Cata Luca Karisome no Jumon~
  10. Aoi Tsuki
  11. Soldier! Soldier!

1. Snapshot

Opening Hitomi’s long-awaited album, we kick things off with Snapshot and opening with an acoustic guitar was kind of setting worries because her music between her last up to now has been more or less interesting.  Snapshot though at least tries to make it interesting by being a little more upbeat in nature.  It is a bit long to me, but I enjoyed what we got and the violin solo in the mid8 section was pretty sweet.

2. Yaburekabure

I’m so happy it’s the only A-side to make the cut over the previous 4 singles.  Yaburekabure brought Hitomi back into my radar in a pretty sweet way!  It’s energetic and just has a lot of sass to it that really catches my attention a lot quicker than some of her last releases so I really approved of this song making the album (though was there any doubt?).

3. Sasurai

Oh hey there accordion! Is this a nod back to how “Flare” was?  Maybe, but it goes away pretty quickly and is replaced by Hitomi’s beautiful vocals and light piano melody.  Though the accordion comes back into play and mixes it up with the arrangement.  I really enjoyed Hitomi’s expressiveness in this song and even though it’s a ballad, it’s a REALLY well-made song actually.

4. Ai no Katachi

Another ballad comes next with Ai no Katachi and I was wondering what could make it stand out.  Though I wasn’t expecting a mix of strings and what sounds like a sitar…this is a little strange right?  This is a bit boring for me, though it does have male background singers…that’s just a tad weird still😄.  Yeah, it’s not really all that memorable to me.

5. Home Sweet Home

Moving on out of the ballads for now, we get Home Sweet Home and it’s funny that it mixes what was similar to “Snapshot” with some pop beats.  That being said, it throws me back to her early days which is nice and all, but it doesn’t really strike me in anyway either.  Meh overall!

6. Oss Mess Kiss Killaly!!

One of the songs I was looking forward to, Oss Mess Kiss Killaly!! picks things up with a pretty exciting arrangement and shows Hitomi’s prowess with her vocals.  It’s a pretty fun song to listen to and has a lot of brass and funky moments that really gives this song a strong identity.  There’s just something about this song that works.  It’s a pretty great song to listen to!

7. Ikki Mankai

Which is great because this dance style continues onto our next track Ikki Mankai.  I really love that this song opens up like a tune you would heavily hear at Matsuris (Ondo-styled).  Though after that it brings the beat into the front and because something that most fans would be comfortable with.  It’s a pretty exciting song and another top-hitting tune!

8. Tsuzure Ori

Things stop in an instant when Tsuzure Ori begins.  It’s actually another ballad from Hitomi but has a more sad glow to it when compared to the other ballads of the album.  I really enjoy the plucked strings (and the rest of the instrumentation at that) that really shaped the song overall and makes the chorus sound pretty.  It’s the dramatic song for the album but it worked overall!

9. Cali≒Cata≒Luca ~Cali Cata Luca Karisome no Jumon~

With a bizarre title like this, I really wondered what the hell she was coming up with and I still can’t place what she was going for😄.  It’s a very fast song to listen to and yet Hitomi sounds sexy and keeps up with this hyper arrangement.  I’m not sure what to even classify it…almost latin but at the same time not hahah.  It’s a pretty interesting song overall and just has a pretty adventurous feel (actually the end reminded me of something from Legend of Zelda XDDD).  Odd.

10. Aoi Tsuki

I was so happy to see that the B-side from “Yaburekabure” would also be on the album for sure as I enjoyed that a LOT.  Like I said on the single review, Aoi Tsuki just sounds pretty and Hitomi is just pretty in the tune that’s pop goodness.  I think it’s pretty simple of a song from Hitomi, but it’s just a good song that she pulled out, no weird moments and bizarre ideas.

11. Soldier! Soldier!

Finally, the album ends with actually was the promotional song.  When I heard this, I was shocked to see that she would pull back to a familiar style that we’ve heard before in “Prague no Onna” which is one of my favorite songs from Hitomi.  Letting lightning strike twice though was pretty risky but she surprised me with a pretty powerful song and almost one of the best songs that she’s done since “Flare”.  Definitely an awesome way to close the album out!

Tracks Recommended

  • Soldier! Soldier!
  • Aoi Tsuki
  • Ikki Mankai
  • Sasurai
  • Yaburekabure

Song of Avoidance

  • Ai no Katachi

Jesus Hitomi, 5 years for you to release a new studio album (almost as old as this blog >.>).  Honjitsu, Tonai, Bousho tried to make up for all the space in between this and her last studio album, “Flare” and it’s got spaz to it which is something I had feared coming into this because everything she had released mostly have been really soft and boring.  This album had a lot of spice and I liked most of it which is pretty good.  I’m still trying to decide if it’s ranked better than “Flare” though…but this was a good comeback album!

 

Leave a Reply

