Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

supercell – ZIGAEXPERIENTIA July 18, 2014

Filed under: supercell — solarblade @ 11:04 am

zigaexperientia

Track Listing

  1. Journey’s End
  2. No.525300887039
  3. Mr. Downer
  4. My Dearest (Album Mix)
  5. Juuzoku Ningen
  6. White Seiyaku
  7. Hakushu Kassai Uta Awase
  8. Yeah Oh Ahhh Oh!
  9. Hyakkaime no Kiss
  10. Giniro Hikousen
  11. The Bravery (Album Mix)
  12. Bokura no Ashiato (Album Mix)
  13. Kokuhaku (Album Mix)
  14. Jikan Ressha
  15. We’re Still Here

1. Journey’s End

Opening supercell’s 3rd album is a quick intro to the album titled Journey’s End.  It starts out very static-y and with Koeda singing acapella.  It sounds rather nice but if you wear headphones, she does play between the left and right side a bit.  Though quickly after a piano/strings melody kicks in and Koeda returns to sing again and well…her voice is a lil scratchy.  It’s a short introduction though.  Still, it’s rather going to show where this album is going to sound…sort of.

2. No.525300887039

I wonder what’s the importance of the number here but we have our first full track with No.525300887039.  With a dark and unsettling intro, this song definitely wasn’t something I was expecting to come after “Journey’s End”.  Koeda slyly joins in the song and she sounds really cool and then she wigs out and sounded surprisingly good.  Then the guitars come in with the bass and it just turns into this cool rock track.  Though sadly, as the song moves along, her voice gets all catty and nasal, but for some reason retains her vibrato which is impressive…but distracting.  It’s cool for a rock song but Koeda slightly overdoes it.  Oh yeah, it was also the promotional song…interesting choice.

3. Mr. Downer

Surprisingly out next track also is another hard-hitting rock track which is a nice to hear that ryo would continue.  Add on some dramatically played strings and some interesting choices throughout.  Koeda though sounds a bit better than she did in our previous track, but still has some nasally parts through the chorus.  I actually did prefer this song overall as it just sounds powerful and dark.  It’s just a pretty awesome song and that’s hard to say huh?

4. My Dearest (Album Mix)

So I was surprised with the A-sides for the album especially since 4 out of the 6 A-sides on the album were tagged with album mixes.  The first was actually the debut from Koeda.  At first I wasn’t sure what was changed between the two versions, but I think this version feels more muffled and echoed out which didn’t work on me.  I don’t even think Koeda resung this either which is pretty awkward.  I actually prefer the single cut because it sounds a LOT cleaner than what we’ve got it.

5. Juuzoku Ningen

Back to new songs, Juuzoku Ningen once again returns us to some rock and Koeda is utilizing some whispering for the song.  I actually am impressed by how swift she’s singing this song (especially these verses)…damn Koeda!  Her voice was up in the cutesy side of things.  This is another case where she ends up going nasal, but she also does this uncanny yell which made me wince a bit…qorl can you not?!?  If she didn’t do these things, this song would’ve been REALLY impressing me.

6. White Seiyaku

After the wild patch of our previous tune, we enter another fray of edgy arrangements with White Seiyaku.  It doesn’t have the shreiking that we had and Koeda does sound energetic which is good to have.  It’s fast-paced and just hits all the good spots.  I was wondering where ryo is coming up with these arrangements.  She does have another yell in this song, but it didn’t seem to make me wince as hard as she did in “Juuzoku Ningen”.

7. Hakushu Kassai Uta Awase

I am so happy that they didn’t mess with the 5th single’s leading track for the album.  It sounded so badass and Koeda gave a really good performance.  I do like that it is a light up after the last couple songs so we get to hear some better vocalization here.  Koeda didn’t even seem like she was trying to sound catty which is freaky because I didn’t hear anything of that sort (though I wonder if Chelly was the lead of the track).  I don’t know, but this clearly does not sound like Koeda of any of the tracks before this so it could throw listeners off at how clean this voice is.  If it is Koeda…sing like this more please because it is NOT working otherwise.

8. Yeah Oh Ahhh Oh!

More new tracks, Yeah Oh Ahhh Oh! seems to take a more punk status and we’re back to nasal Koeda who’s just wailing her way through this song.  The addition of the background vocalists is neat and add some spice, I just couldn’t really deal with Koeda.  I mean in a way, she does have some parts where her yips sound awesome but singing was kind of mediocre.

9. Hyakkaime no Kiss

At least things tone down a little for our next track Hyakkaime no Kiss and thank god because I was starting to get tired of Koeda’s whiny vocals.  This song does bring her back to a whispery tone ala “No.525300887039”.  She doesn’t sound bad which is good here and the song’s lowkey feel is a refreshing move.  It’s definitely one of the better songs from the album!  Quite Western sounding huh.

10. Giniro Hikousen

We move onto a string of A-sides starting with the other A-side that wasn’t touched on the album, Giniro Hikousen.  Sadly, it wasn’t a very impressive song when I reviewed the single.  I mean a 7 minute ballad with screechy vocals aren’t something I would enjoy nor return back to so it hasn’t changed one bit doesn’t do anything help.  So basically, I still don’t like it.

11. The Bravery (Album Mix)

So the other A-sides have album mixes as you can see, but I wonder how they turned out but after “My Dearest” I had my worries.  Like the previously mentioned tune, The Bravery had little changes with it’s sound quality for the most part so it sounds a little more fluffy.  This was around where I thought ryo had figured out how to work with Koeda’s unique vocals.  I enjoyed this song originally and the changes were minute enough to not sway a different opinion between versions.  Great song still!

12. Bokura no Ashiato (Album Mix)

So in the other 7 minute A-side, Bokura no Ashiato’s changes is mostly that the electric guitar has more prominance over the acoustic which in the long run didn’t matter to me since the rest of the song was just the same thing.  It also sounds like Koeda’s vocals are less shrilly but I think it’s only because of the fluffyness of the song now.  Meh, though with this song.

13. Kokuhaku (Album Mix)

This album mix actually took out the synths from the original and once again fluffed the sound out with more echoes and such.  I am very uninterested at how these album mixes turned out.  Of the A-sides brought back, this one sort of grew on me but it’s still on the lower end of the spectrum.  It’s just middle of the road kind of song which is neither good or bad, just there.

14. Jikan Ressha

As we near the end of the album we get our last two new tracks.  Jikan Ressha is luckily a song that’s not heavy on rock and seems to focus on the anison side of supercell.  Koeda’s vocals have that cutesy tone once again which is OK, nothing great though.  I do like its adventurous sound of course, but hmm…this is something that nagi would’ve loved to have sung…hmmm

15. We’re Still Here

Finally, the album’s finale!  Of course it’s not a surprise to me it’d be a ballad to close the album out.  It sounds like a pretty simple track with piano playing behind Koeda.  Though that is all that’s in this track and being 5 minutes it’s just a tad long a lot of boring moments.  I wish I could say something more about this BUUUUT…it’s just meh and forgetful, “Jikan Ressha” makes a better ending to this album.

Tracks Recommended

  • Hakushu Kassai Uta Awase
  • The Bravery (Album Mix)
  • Hyakkaime no Kiss
  • Mr. Downer

Song of Avoidance

  • Giniro Hikousen

I was so happy to see this era end.  supercell’s 3rd album really threw me for a loop.  Besides the cool name, ZIGAEXPERIENTIA marks an unfortunate closing to an era.  I was so saddened to see nagi leave, but on the other hand she’s become an amazing soloist after her departure.  After reading that Koeda and Chelly won the auditions, supercell ended up with the more risky vocalist in the former while Chelly became the front of ryo’s other unit, EGOIST.  Sadly, I do not care for Koeda…I will say being a vocalist at 15 is pretty damn cool, she doesn’t have the vocal chops down when compared to both nagi and Chelly.  Also…it’s a REALLY odd thing to have my favorite track there since it didn’t even sound like Koeda at all…I wonder if anyone knows if Koeda actually sung this because it was vocally awesome….I hope ryo has a new audition for a new singer for this 4th era.

 

Leave a Reply

