Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Curumi Chronicle – Curumi Chronicle July 21, 2014

Filed under: Curumi Chronicle — solarblade @ 7:08 am

curumichronicle

Track Listing

  1. Humming
  2. Gozen 11-ji
  3. Kagayake Sorairo Shoujo
  4. MAKE NEW WORLD
  5. 16 feat. USAGI DISCO
  6. Broken Toy
  7. Cururicle
  8. twinkle linkle line
  9. Susume! Susume!
  10. Rainy Starry Night
  11. Gozen 11-ji (USAGI DISCO remix)

1. Humming

So Curumi opens up her debut with an intro of her humming.  Though it’s quickly replaced with some cute keyboard and some other things to make it more cute but continues to use the melody that Curumi was humming to.  Though I love that towards the end it speeds up and instantly shifts to our next track.

2. Gozen 11-ji

Funny that the melody continues fully in Gozen 11-ji and continuing to focus on that fantasy-like atmosphere, I was pretty much hooked.  We also get to hear Curumi sing for the first time and she sounds rather nice (almost like Saori).  It’s got a pretty cute synthpop feel and for the first track, it suits up for what could possibly be the rest of the album’s sound.  It’s a pleasant tune overall!

3. Kagayake Sorairo Shoujo

Kagayake Sorairo Shoujo pops up next and we’re greeted by cutesy 8bit synths mixed with an electro beat which was great.  Though I wasn’t expecting the song to grow into a full-on electro track which surprised me and well made me fell in love with it!  It kind of moves between the former and latter so it keeps things exciting and unexpected.  Curumi’s vocals are a bit deeperto me, but I kind of enjoyed it.  Definitely an early favorite!

4. MAKE NEW WORLD

A pounding beat opens our next track and MAKE NEW WORLD sounds like almost too similar to our previous track and “Gozen 11-ji” with the kind of fantasy-like arrangement.  It comes off as a big dejavu to me since the similarities are just so there.  This song didn’t really do much for me overall and I just kind of phased it as white noise even before the mid8 section.

5. 16 feat. USAGI DISCO

Oh, is it one of those cases like Terukado?  You know the producer has a track where they basically forced themselves to be a quote-on-quote featured artist?  Oh well, 16 begins with Curumi heavily under auto-tune before the song turned into an electro collision course.  It’s a lot of interesting moments and techniques from USAGI DISCO, but it does feel rather cluttered.  The thing about the song is that rather I dislike the copy n’ paste feel of the track…just a lot of repetitive sounds for the most part.

6. Broken Toy

I should’ve guessed the next track would be more on the cuter side of things.  The arrangement is at least something outside of the ordinary by being a little more erratic and focuses on the little things.  Curumi though kind of feels like the background because the music has all those little changes that kind of got me XD.  It is pretty short though (2:30) and honestly I’m OK with this as if it was any longer, I would’ve been annoyed by it.

7. Cururicle

At least things pick up in energy with Cururicle and it’s a pretty energetic electro track.  It’s bright, but the synths adds this nice amount of fullness that I was missing in the last couple tracks so it’s more than a welcomed appearance.  Curumi also sounds even more bright (since her voice was not very emotive previously).  It’s definitely another one that ranks high from this album for sure.  I’m just hoping there’s more on the album that really stands out.

8. twinkle linkle line

Curumi tries to with twinkle linkle line, but personally it’s a song that would’ve made more sense at the front of the album because it also carries that fantasy-esque sound with piano acting up in the back.  I do like the flow though and Curumi does make it move smoothly between areas so I’m very happy with this song too.

9. Susume! Susume!

I don’t know why but Curumi kind of sounds like capsule’s Toshiko in our next track and I’m unsure how to feel about that lol.  Somehow the song actually sounds a little more serious than other tracks.  That being said, it’s not one of my favorites as I don’t find much too memorable here but the beat is nice I suppose.  Eh…

10. Rainy Starry Night

As the final original track, Rainy Starry Night is Curumi’s take on a techno-ballad.  As soft as it is, Curumi’s vocals are kind of whispery but played more along with the interesting arrangement from acoustic guitar and some ticking and some other quirky things.  Almost like a music box actually.  It’s different and made a nice closure…if that was the case >.>

11. Gozen 11-ji (USAGI DISCO remix)

Yup, the album ends with a remix of Gozen 11-ji and the difference in mood is quite nice!  I like the more seriously chords being used and the melody of the lyrics works here which is pretty surprising!  It could’ve had a slightly faster tempo, but this was a pretty good remix (maybe better than the original).

Tracks Recommended

  • Cururicle
  • Gozen 11-ji (USAGI DISCO remix)
  • Kagayake Sorairo Shoujo
  • twinkle linkle line
  • Rainy Starry Night

Song of Avoidance

  • MAKE NEW WORLD

When I listen to Curumi Chronicle it just reminds me how much I miss Saori@destiny because after listening to Curumi’s self-titled debut, it’s almost exactly like how I felt for “JAPANESE CHAOS” (the debut album from the aforementioned artist).  I do like how she’s gained a worldwide following and while her style isn’t fully unique, USAGI DISCO really brings a good feel of what she could be capable of.  It’ll be interesting how she continues on but I like what I’m hearing (even though technopop acts always interest me).

 

Leave a Reply

