Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Mix Speaker’s, Inc. – Hoshi Furu Yuuenchi August 1, 2014

Filed under: Mix Speaker's Inc. — solarblade @ 6:47 am

MSI_遊園地ブックレット1004入稿

Track Listing

  1. Prelude
  2. Shiny tale
  3. Death Parade
  4. Wanderer
  5. Urameshi Yashiki Chika Nikai
  6. Kagayaku Sora to Umi to Sekai ni.
  7. ONESTAR
  8. Tenshi to Itazura (YUKI Voice) (Limited only)
  9. A devilish teacher (MIKI Voice) (Limited only)
  10. The only sweet heart?
  11. SCREAM go AROUND
  12. SKY HEAVEN
  13. promise

1. Prelude

The album opens up with a 2:23 long intro with the Prelude.  It begins with a ticking and a deep clock going off.  Then it gets all mysterious and creepy with clanking noises and echoes and then a pretty string melody that turns angsty.  It grows into something of a march which is pretty cool and I honestly wouldn’t think this would be something from the band, but I like it…it really fits the themes they’ve tackled in this era.

2. Shiny tale

I can’t believe I’m reviewing this song for the 3rd time.  When I reviewed it the first two times, I didn’t think much of this one because it was heavily anisoned up which was something I wasn’t expecting from the band.  I don’t exactly hate this song as much as I did back then, but it still kind of feels generic from the band.

3. Death Parade

I was wondering what the album songs would bring and already from Death Parade, I was already loving the edgier arrangement and the energy was great!  I’m loving the dual lines from both YUKI and MIKI.  They definitely turned this song on its head and it just sounds like what I’ve been loving since I started reviewing the band.

4. Wanderer

Then we hit even harder with Wanderer which brings in the pounding drums which annoyed me a LOT, but things quickly get fixed when they start the verses because it has a lot of funk and bass lines.  Both members seem to sing a bit deeper as well.  Add some chanting and wild arrangement and I was kind of left confused and just not into it.  It just didn’t have a lot of cohesion so I just kind of forgot about it.

5. Urameshi Yashiki Chika Nikai

Which makes no sense why it leads to our next song which sounds like something that could’ve been in the band’s first era with it’s Halloween-esque/Carnival-like atmosphere.  As playful as it is, the song doesn’t seem as powerful as I would’ve expected.  Though I wasn’t expecting YUKI and MIKI being playful in their vocals.  Also the kids that chant in the second verse…wow.  It’s not as messy as “Wanderer” but it pretty wild.

6. Kagayaku Sora to Umi to Sekai ni.

We escape the hard songs for actually a lighter tune from the album with Kagayaku Sora to Umi to Sekai ni.  I really loved the fact we got a reprive from the album here since we can hear how the duo sings and they work really well together.  The overall acoustic tone of the song (plus the mid8 section) just sounded great.  It is a bit strange where it’s placed, but it’s still a neat song in and of itself.

7. ONESTAR

So they brought the promotional track from “SEAPARADISE no Hihou” onto the album.  I like how we move genres again from the softer tones of the previous into an energetic track that has a surprising amount of synths behind the band’s riffs.  Like I said on the mini-album review, the only bad thing of this song is the grunting rap sections…what the hell was that all about?  It’s a cool track albeit strange…I guess that works (though the raps need to GTFO).

8. Tenshi to Itazura (YUKI Voice)

So on the Limited editions of the release, there was two bonus tracks added but the two were split between YUKI and MIKI.  YUKI’s Tenshi to Itazura comes first and it’s pretty straightforward which kind of adds a simplicity kind of feel to it.  There’s even a little section where it feels like a carnival but it’s not the whole track.  I do like YUKI’s voice…he brings energy to songs and this was a good track to showcase it!

9. A deviish teacher (MIKI Voice)

Then we get the other track which is MIKI’s tune!  I can quickly tell that MIKI go the edgier track right from the introduction because it has a grittier feel and the guitars are heavy.  MIKI’s voice though is oddly filtered here and sounds like hes doing it double.  He seems to have the deeper voice of the two and so his singing reminds me of ASAGI from D which is cool…but was it necessary to throw filters?  It’s OK, but I don’t think I’ll come back to this one for a while.

10. The only sweet heart?

Whoa, the opening for the next song caught me off guard!  Starts with an 8bit intro then a force of sound from the band kicks in.  I do like the heavy feel and the vocalists sound great together with MIKI having an easier time hitting notes through it.  It does slightly chill, but only shortly.  It’s a pretty wild song but I actually enjoyed this than the other ones of the same calibur.

11. SCREAM go AROUND

Moving on, SCREAM go AROUND brings us to well another heavy rock song but it sounds a little more like well…the previous track, but the members are having more fun lyrically as both MIKI and YUKI do some weird things.  It’s a nice track, but it doesn’t really go anywhere during its duration so I feel a slight bit bored.

12. SKY HEAVEN

At least we get this song, as the 2nd A-side released, SKY HEAVEN was a song that brought me back into the fangasm of the band.  I mean it is kind of anison like “Shiny tale” but I thought the guys did a much better job with this one.  YUKI/MIKI sound great too so it adds up and it’s still definitely one of my favorite songs from this album.

13. promise

Ending the album, promise seems to be another odd song from the band as it’s more alternative and suiting to close the album as it’s light and includes strings and piano.  I really like the vocalists took a lighter route singing and once again like in “SKY HEAVEN”, they sound plesaant together.  For an ending job it was pretty damn good!

Tracks Recommended

  • SKY HEAVEN
  • Death Parade
  • Tenshi to Itazura (YUKI Voice)
  • promise
  • The only sweet heart?

Song of Avoidance

  • Wanderer

As the band’s 4th studio album, I was kind of surprised that Hoshi Furu Yuuenchi didn’t have a solid idea behind it unlike the previous ones.  It really felt like the group was just wanting to throw this album out there because it had been a while.  There’s some good songs no doubt, but there’s some meh ones too.  I would say this wasn’t as good as “It’s a Dream World” but it’s OK.

 

Leave a Reply

