Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

KARA – Full Bloom August 23, 2014

Filed under: KARA — solarblade @ 2:20 am

fullbloom

Track Listing

  1. Dul Junge Hana (Runaway)
  2. Suknyeoga Mos Dwae (Damaged Lady)
  3. 1+1
  4. In The Game
  5. Follow Me
  6. Smoothie
  7. 2Night
  8. Dul Junge Hana (Runaway) (Inst.)
  9. Suknyeoga Mos Dwae (Damaged Lady) (Inst.)

1. Dul Junge Hana (Runaway)

Used as the 2nd lead-in song for the album, Runaway kicks things off on a lighter note and not as hard as some of the previous lead-in tracks from KARA.  I do like the softer arrangement with acoustic guitar and just works up to this mid-tempo track.  I really do love the opening lines from Ji Young and Nicole though…it was very relaxing and pleasant and really stays at the same feeling throughout.  I don’t know if it works as the opening track though…seems very…flatline to get into the album (especially with “STEP” kicking too many ass).

2. Suknyeoga Mos Dwae (Damaged Lady)

So the actual promotional track was Damaged Lady and I was hoping they would release a banger (especially with how fond I have been with the lead-in songs.  I will say that it did sound a bit edgy than “Runaway” with the electric guitar riffs mixed with their already established R&B style.  I mean saying that, it definitely doesn’t hold a candle to stuff like “STEP” and “Pandora”, but it definitely was a solid choice to promote.  Different direction for the group but I liked it.

3. 1+1

Moving onto the new songs, 1+1 seems to kind of cater to their past style which is kind of cool!  This track is kind of glossy pop, but it does have some surprises like SeongYeon’s solo part that had a pretty cool sound to it.  Otherwise, this song really didn’t click for me much.  It’s their cute song and I usually don’t enjoy them too much.

4. In The Game

It seems that K-pop recently has been interested in releasing funky/jazz tracks and that’s what KARA gave us with In The Game.  It’s not to say that it isn’t bad because I found it to be fun and full of good vocals.  It’s a good track overall and wasn’t disappointed with it..give it a listen!

5. Follow Me

Man the beat is pretty forward in our next track, Follow Me.  When I first heard it, it was like they took the previous track and “Damaged Lady” and fused the ideas together to get this track.  Nothing to bad to comment upon it, but it just sounds a little forgettable.

6. Smoothie

I was expecting this song to be the group’s overly cute song but it’s actually a chilled out R&B track that took some ideas from “Follow Me” and swung with it.  I will say that I pretty much enjoyed the soft and relaxing nature of the ladies singing here.  Definitely put me into a state of lull.  It’s probably my favorite off this album that’s for sure!

7. 2Night

As the last song of the album, 2Night closes things out with a pretty upbeat pop track.  After the more slower ditties, 2Night does manage to wake my ass up, but not entirely because there’s something oddly familiar about it that I feel like the group has done before.  Maybe this should’ve been the opening song and “Runaway” could’ve ended it.  I don’t know this track is nice but likewise with the others, it felt lacking.

 

 

Honestly, I kind of felt like KARA with Full Bloom is such a farce for a title especially for a full bloom that ended with Nicole and Ji Young leaving the group after this album.  I do love the vocals which is normal with KARA but I felt like they lacked the energy and/or interest with this release.  The leading songs didn’t feel unique to me and the rest of the album just kind of paled when compared to their previous releases in Korea.  I just wasn’t into this one.

 

Leave a Reply

