Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

FLOW – 26 a Go Go!!! September 6, 2014

Filed under: FLOW — solarblade @ 10:47 pm

26agogo

Track Listing

  1. Introduction -collage-
  2. Ai Ai Ai ni Utarete Bye Bye Bye -Album Mix-
  3. Senkou no Uta
  4. Marionette
  5. Love☆Sera
  6. Smile Smile Smile
  7. Tokonatsu Endless -Album ver.-
  8. GLORY DAYS
  9. Someday
  10. Interlude -departure-
  11. Wanderlust
  12. Mata Au Hi Made
  13. PRIDE
  14. Conclusion -pride-

1. Introduction -collage-

So the album begins with an introductory track.  For a near 2 minute intro, collage opens with the band and some synths playing a cool melody and some other surprises as well.  It makes for an interesting intro and has some cool moments throughout. I would hope that that some of the songs take off from some of these ideas.

2. Ai Ai Ai ni Utarete Bye Bye Bye -Album Mix-

So the first vocal track was the A-side the preceded the album, and interestingly has an album mix to shake things up as well!  To be honest, I couldn’t really tell the difference between the original and this one besides that it sounds a little more cleaner.  I still love the high energy the bands throws at the listener with this song and just kicks the album off with a pretty badass song!  Loving it still!

3. Senkou no Uta

Following it up, Senkou no Uta comes next and it begins with a quick passage from KEIGO before going in.  I really do like that the song sounds a lot like what we’ve been getting from FLOW so it’s a pretty standard track from them, but it sounds pretty cool as well.  Nothing much else to say about this song however, it’s just the norm for the band.

4. Marionette

Man, they’re just coming hard on this album so far. Marionette is a pretty driving track that kind of reminds me of stuff from their “MICROCOSM” album which is nifty because they showed that they can really do some awesome rock songs and Marionette has a lot of oomph to it that I really enjoyed.  Almost UVERworld levels to be honest.  KEIGO and KOHSHI sound great and just impressed me a lot overall.  Wow, another gem to the album!

5. Love☆Sera

Then the mood shifts quite fully into our next track Love☆Sera by having a more poppier tone.  The duo once again show a great connection and sound really cool and like they’re having a great time to sing.  Honestly, the best thing about this song is its chorus being so progressive and powerful but the rest of the song kind of blows by me (though SO MUCH COWBELL~).  What a weird song to come after “Marionette” though.

6. Smile Smile Smile

With a title like that, I was expecting the worst and it’s definitely the most anison sounding track from the album!  From the chords and the musical bridges with the synth/flute thing…it just SCREAMS anison, but I don’t think it even has a tie-in (to my knowledge).  I hate to say it, but it felt somewhat generic and kind of meh of a song to me.  Weird…

7. Tokonatsu Endless -Album ver.-

Huh?  Why does the album version tag differs from “Ai Ai Ai ni Utarete Bye Bye Bye”?  Well, it’s apparant right from the start because it begins with a new short piano-only passage before going into the original.  To be honest, I don’t get why Tokonatsu Endless needed it but whatever.  This song does sound like a tune from their earlier days for sure, but I can’t deny that it’s a really cool song from them and the duo sounds really good (well except KOHSHI’s high note line).  Still a great inclusion for sure!

8. GLORY DAYS

Moving on, GLORY DAYS sound like something that should’ve been on their previous album for sure because there’s some synths that eerilly remind me of “CHA-LA HEAD-CHA-LA”.  Of course minus the strong anison sound.  The tune is pretty energetic and everything seems right.  Like “Senkou no Uta” is is pretty much their standard rock song so it doesn’t sway me one way or another, it’s just a solid tune.

9. Someday

Weird that we finally come to a stop with Someday, which begins with a beautiful orchestral passage before the band steps in with a kind of alternative sound.  Being the tamer rock song, Someday really builds itself up quite nicely up to its chorus which is powerful and features a lot of guitars.  Honestly, I kind of wonder why it’s found before the interlude because it seriously sounds like a song that would end the album (ala “Butterfly” from “#5”).  It’s a pretty rad song for sure and stuck in my mind a lot!

10. Interlude -departure-

So comes our 45 second interlude and it starts in a public setting with some chanting and some latin guitar and piccolo.  I really don’t understand the meaning behind this interlude but I hope so it’s answered with our next track…

11. Wanderlust

I suppose it somewhat answered because it has some of the latin guitar, piccolo, and included some castanets to FLOW’s rockin’ atmosphere.  I actually think without, it would’ve been a plain FLOW song but the fusion is rather cool sounding and the group gave it their all for this one and I quite liked it!  Still a little standard for them, but the interesting instrumentation helped keep this song going really good!

12. Mata Au Hi Made

I feel like this song also doesn’t totally belong on this album with it’s rather poppier vibes, but it’s at least it’s a bit more energetic than “Love☆Sera”.  I’m definitely loving the horns that were included (even though they are a bit synth sounding).  It’s a pretty fun-sounding track at least.

13. PRIDE

So the album’s final vocal song is PRIDE and I was wondering if it would topple over “Someday” since that was a pretty fantastic track.  Honestly, I wasn’t expecting dialogue throughout the verses from KEIGO first before KOHSHI comes in and actually sings a bit.  Then the chorus where it feels like there’s a lot chanting going on from the band.  I don’t think it came close to being as good as the aforementioned track and kind of left the album with a weird taste IMO.

14. Conclusion -pride-

So the album concludes with an outro piece which is kind of more of the random arrangements set to the melody of “PRIDE” which is nice and all, but I really don’t see the reason to include such a thing.  Being said, I suppose it did something, but I don’t see the appeal for it tbh.

Tracks Recommended

  • Ai Ai Ai ni Utarete Bye Bye Bye -Album Mix-
  • Marionette
  • Someday
  • Wanderlust
  • Tokonatsu Endless -Album ver.-

Song of Avoidance

  • Smile Smile Smile

How to think about 26 a Go Go!!!…Well, it definitely wasn’t as good of an album that “FLOW THE MAX!!!” was that’s for sure.  I mean they had some pretty strong songs, but majority felt like they were going through the waves on this one.  Granted they aren’t bad songs, it just felt like they stuck to what was safe to them here.  I’m pretty sure the fact that it was released one day short of a whole year after their previous album might make it feel somewhat rushed, but I think it was an OK album, not my favorite of theirs but a nice listen.

 

One Response to “FLOW – 26 a Go Go!!!”

  1. BladeBlur Says:

    I personally like Smile Smile Smile because of how light it feels, but I 100% agree that Ai Ai Ai ni Utarete Bye Bye Bye is the best song on the album. And one of my all time favorite songs by FLOW.


Leave a Reply

