Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

FLOW – #5 September 6, 2014

Filed under: FLOW — solarblade @ 2:34 am

5

Track Listing

  1. WORLD END
  2. HEAVENLY STAR
  3. PULSE
  4. SNOW FLAKE ~Kioku no Koshitsu~ (ALBUM VERSION)
  5. ANTHEM
  6. BRAND-NEW DAY
  7. Akai Siren
  8. Antares
  9. MUSIC
  10. WORD OF THE VOICE
  11. Butterfly
  12. Gakuen Tengoku (bonus track)

1. WORLD END

Fitting that FLOW would kick things off with the biggest song of the era (which is also the 2nd A-side released.  I remember this as the Code: Geass theme and I’ve continued to pretty much enjoy the band’s performance here.  Plus, the addition of strings to go alongside their J-rock sound is very much appreciated, plus KOHSHI and KEIGO sounds really nice…great way to kick things off!

2. HEAVENLY STAR

Moving onto our first new track, HEAVENLY STAR is a lot stronger of a sound than “WORLD END” and it features both vocalists kind of singing in a more rougher tone which is a nice touch.  Definitely a song that’s for the fans who enjoy their heavier songs.  A little on the short side of things, but it’s definitely a powerful song.

3. PULSE

Seeing as I had just reviewed it a couple days ago, PULSE comes next and continues on with the band’s harder approach.  It isn’t as destructive as “HEAVENLY STAR” since KOHSHI and KEIGO are singing a little more smoother here.  It’s still a pretty awesome track, regardless and shows quite a lot of energy from the band, so I really enjoyed this.

4. SNOW FLAKE ~Kioku no Koshitsu~ (ALBUM VERSION)

Interesting that SNOW FLAKE actually was the only track to be edited for the album.  Right from the start, I can tell that about a minute was added from the original.  From the beginning, SNOW FLAKE remains the same as the original mid-tempo winter ballad.  I still find this song to be quite unique in their discography and sounds REALLY pleasant to my ears.  Now the thing that was added was a longer outro (an instrumental one at that that fades out too).  Weird way to close this song out, but I still love the song!

5. ANTHEM

At least we’re back to some new songs starting with ANTHEM.  This song feels like it shows off more of the group’s more quick-thrown lyrics and I quite enjoyed that.  Especially since KEIGO sung first here.  For what it’ worh, the tune is pretty catchy and the arrangement is pretty cool for them.  Definitely another promising track from this album!

6. BRAND-NEW DAY

KOHSHI opens up BRAND-NEW DAY to a more pop/punk style which is something I was expecting from the band on this album (since this is an earlier album of theirs).  Something about this song though kind of just passes by me.  I do like the guitarwork and the chorus is rather catchy, but it doesn’t seem to stick on me as much as other songs have.

7. Akai Siren

Then we get back into our more edgy and heavy FLOW songs with Akai Siren which is a nice twist after the last few songs.  KOHSHI does a great job keeping up with the arrangement and sounds great singing super loud.  Like “BRAND-NEW DAY” though, the song doesn’t really do much for me besides being a cooler song from the band.  Though the mid8 section was a little off in the feel of the tune, but it’s an OK song.

8. Antares

Whoa there, what’s with the intro and the chanting?  What I was expecting was a heavy song, but it’s the total opposite here!  To me, it feels like FLOW is trying to kind of go in that same genre that The Police had been famously known for.  Mixing in a little reggae and some brass instruments giving it a rather unique sound.  I didn’t expect FLOW to pull something like this off, but I really enjoyed the change of pace and it sounds really good too!

9. MUSIC

More chanting?  Yeah, but with MUSIC, it’s a totally different track by having a heavier arrangement and a lot of slap bass from their well…bassist. Also, the singers both are doing their rapping in the verses which always means the tune is quite chaotic and full of energy.  It’s a really exciting song and I love the synergy between both KOHSHI and KEIGO…they really do feed off of each other!

10. WORD OF THE VOICE

Feels like it has been forever since I’ve heard WORD OF THE VOICE last.  Coming back to it, I am enjoying that KEIGO got the verses for the most part while KOHSHI kind of stood back which is pretty nice.  I really like KEIGO’s deeper voice as it really does have a more serious tone than whenever KOHSHI leads.  The song might not have stood high amongst the other A-sides that were released after it, but it’s a solid track overall.

11. Butterfly

The album closes off with Butterly which unsurprisingly is one of their slower songs on the album.  Appropriately, the tune really does feel like it’s closing #5 out with a solid rock tune that doesn’t try to slam itself into your ears.  Though I LOVE the chorus of the song, it’s way powerful and just sounds wonderful to me…definitely a great way to end the album.

12. Gakuen Tengoku

However, the album came with a bonus track which is itself a cover of Finger 5 song (to me that’s rather familiar because misono has covered this too).  I wasn’t sure what to expect since FLOW seems to go all out on covers.  I do love the band’s enthusiasm in this track and sounds like a fun song to perform live.  On this album, it does seem weird because it is a happier song performed by the band.  Still the sound like they had a ton of fun with this cover and it makes me smile!

Tracks Recommended

  • PULSE
  • SNOW FLAKE ~Kioku no Koshitsu~ (ALBUM VERSION)
  • Butterfly
  • ANTHEM
  • Antares

Song of Avoidance

  • BRAND-NEW DAY

Yeah, I had jumped back to review this before their newest album since I did owe it to at least get to it.  Sad that it took me this long because #5 is a pretty damn good album if I say so myself.  I pretty much enjoyed all of the songs here and definitely shows what FLOW was like before I started down and reviewing them (right at “NUTS BANG!!”).  Be interesting to see how their newest will sound with the time stretched between this album til now (and of course the albums in between!).

 

Leave a Reply

