Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

R.I.P. EunB & Rise September 7, 2014

Filed under: ~Writing~ — solarblade @ 8:53 pm


Please keep your thoughts and prayers for the remaining members of LADIES’ CODE and the families that lost these amazing singers and wonderful ladies.


AKB48 – Kokoro no Placard

Filed under: AKB48 — solarblade @ 12:12 am


Track Listing

  1. Kokoro no Placard
  2. Dareka ga Nageta Ball (Under Girls)
  3. Hitonatsu no Hankouki (Next Girls) (Type-A only)
  4. Seikaku ga Warui Onna no Ko (Future Girls) (Type-B only)
  5. Chewing Gum no Aji ga Nakunaru Made (Upcoming Girls) (Type-C only)
  6. Sailor Zombie (Milk Planet) (Type-D only)
  7. Oshiete Mommy (Type-D only)
  8. 47 no Suteki na Machi e (Team 8) (Theater Edition only)
  9. Kokoro no Placard 1half
  10. Kokoro no Placard off vocal ver.
  11. Dareka ga Nageta Ball off vocal ver.
  12. Hitonatsu no Hankouki off vocal ver.
  13. Seikaku ga Warui Onna no Ko off vocal ver.
  14. Chewing Gum no Aji ga Nakunaru Made off vocal ver.
  15. Sailor Zombie off vocal ver.
  16. Oshiete Mommy off vocal ver.
  17. 47 no Suteki na Machi e off vocal ver.

1. Kokoro no Placard

So kicking this single off, we start with the Senbatsu song, Kokoro no Placard and Mayuyu is actually leading the song as she won the tournament.  After the pleasant and surprisingly nice “Labrador Retriever”, I wasn’t expecting this song to be so sacchrine and goofy.  The arrangement is something different (considering how bland Akimoto songs can get).  To be honest, it’s a little forgetful to me despite the rather interesting arrangement.  Something feels missing here and the ~wai-ya-ya-yai~ is stupid sounding lol.  I don’t know but this song is lacking (like previous Senbatsu singles).

2. Dareka ga Nageta Ball

All editions come with this B-side too coming from the Under Girls.  Dareka ga Nageta Ball seems to be the typical Akimoto arrangement but a little more classical sounding?  I don’t know what it is but I found this grouping of ladies sound rather monotone though melodically together ironically.  Once they throw in the electric guitar in the chorus, I was basically done with this song…very poor for me.

3. Hitonatsu no Hankouki

Then comes the edition only songs starting with the Next Girls.  I’m actually already enjoying this song a LOT more than the previous two because it has a darker touch and the mix of harpischord and some dance beats is kind of cool.  I do wish they had kept away from making the son sound happier than it should to be honest.  Also, the voices do sound monotone as well in various parts of the song.  It isn’t so bad, but definitely not at the top.

4. Seikaku ga Warui Onna no Ko

Future Girls are up next and their song sounds kind of familiar to “Dareka ga Nageta Ball” with the pop with strings though this one has a little more stronger pop/rock effects to kind of try to stand up on the single.  Sadly, it’s also another song that just doesn’t stand out.  At least the group doesn’t sound bored here and the dance beats is a nice touch…a smidge better than the Under Girls’ track.

5. Chewing Gum no Aji ga Nakunaru Made

Finally, we have the Upcoming Girls (seriously isn’t that almost too similar to Next Girls?).  Now if I have to say anything, Chewing Gum no Aji ga Nakunaru Made sounds REALLY familiar but I can’t seem to place my finger on what song (maybe a faster-paced “Labrador Retriever?”  Really though, it’s another song that just kind of turns to white noise almost instantly.  It’s a lot like “Seikaku ga Warui Onna no Ko” once it enters to its main melody and instrumentation as well.  This was extremely bland for the grouping.

6. Sailor Zombie

Type-D gets two B-sides that none of the other editions get.  Sung by Milk Planet (a mini-group of Karen Iwata, Yui Yokoyama, and Mayu Watanabe), Sailor Zombie starts off quite dark and foreboding before cutting that all out and turning it into another bland offering on the single.  Most of the time in the track, you hear Mayuyu’s voice over the other two and it does make sense (Senbatsu winner and all).  I was liking the solo lines though, definitely was liking and those parts were the most interesting of the entire song…otherwise the rest just did nothing…I will say it’s the best from the single, but that’s not saying much.

7. Oshiete Mommy

While there isn’t a name for this grouping (6 members involved, one was Mayuyu of course).  Unlike “Sailor Zombie” which sounded full, I felt like Oshiete Mommy sounding like it was lacking a stronger beat.  There’s a lot more solo lines to be found here and it sounds like all 6 members involved had a good line or two here.  Though I just kind of wished the chorus stood out more.  *sigh*

8. 47 no Suteki na Machi e

So finally we come to the Theater edition release (AKA the song that’ll be on their next album) and we get a track from Team 8 (I think that’s new?)  Actually it’s a pretty huge group with only Yui Yokoyama as the only name I know.  Sadly, their song is also another bland offering with the Akimoto streak of uselessness available.  Upbeat, straightforward sound, monotone voices, and synth horns…yeah it’s that bad and forgetful…add on that I don’t know the voices (which there are no solos) this song is just very zzzzzz.



I thought we were going in the right direction after “Mae Shika Mukanee” and “Labrador Retriever” but the Senbatsu single flopped heavily for me.  There is not one song that I particularly cared for here as they all were generic messes of previous songs.  The only worthwhile song is Sailor Zombie but even then that’s stretching.  I honestly hope their “cool” single will be at least decent…but I can’t even get behind the group much longer (please slap Akimoto to actually put some effort to AKB).