Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

U-KISS – COLLAGE September 19, 2014

Filed under: U-KISS — solarblade @ 3:17 am

collage

Track Listing

  1. Step By Step (Intro)
  2. Standing Still
  3. Sumdo Mos Swieo
  4. Missing You
  5. Nappeuda
  6. Apeumboda Apeun
  7. My Reason
  8. Party All The Time
  9. Sweety Girl
  10. Saranghanikka
  11. Aperumboda Apeun (Inst.)
  12. Standing Still (Inst.)

1. Step By Step (Intro)

So the album begins with a pretty interesting introduction that starts like an EDM song but quickly fuses it with dubstep midway through this minute-long track…For being a precursor to the next track, it doesn’t make too much sense to me since well it’s a whole different feel which bothered me somewhat.  Oh well lol.

2. Standing Still

I know I’m late reviewing this but I decided to kick throw their Korean releases.  As the promotional track for the album, Standing Still is still a pretty cool song to come back to because it showed a really solid U-KISS performing together and they seriously gelled as a group for this one.  All the singers sound amazing and suited the serious arrangement as well.  Plus it’s been a while since the 7 of them were together so this was amazing to witness.  However, this would become the last video Dongho would be included.  Just really bummed he left, but this song is still such a great song and one of the best tracks that came out in 2013.

3. Sumdo Mos Swieo

Moving onto the rest of the album, Sumdo Mos Swieo follows with a similar dance/R&B mix with Hoon/Kevin leading the track and for being a rather deeper song, I’m really digging the atmosphere of the song for sure.  Though I did get lulled into Kevin’s hooks in the chorus for sure which is surprising to me xD.  I do like hearing the other members contributing to the song too, a lot of nice lines.  Good song overall!

4. Missing You

I really love the synth arpeggios that open the next track alongside Kevin (really takes the poster boy feel in U-KISS huh).  The song has a feeling that it wants to be a ballad, but caters more to the dance-side of things which gives it a nice, upbeat feel to it.  I LOVE that Kiseop has pretty lengthy parts going on alongside the trio of typical leads: Soohyun, Kevin, and Hoon.  It’s a really chill song and something I can imagine listening to a lot in the future!

5. Nappeuda

No we’ve come to a change on the album from the dance tracks to something more laidback and heavy on their R&B style.  Nappeuda is a pretty safe song for U-KISS to pull, really lets their vocals take charge and give a nice performance, without going under or over the borders.  I mean it’s still a lot of the 3 mains which is eh, but the remainder of the group have lines here and there.  It’s a pleasant song overall, but nothing quite as memorable as the previous three tracks.

6. Apeumboda Apeun

So the next track is the first of the split groupings, the first being between the two (IMO strongest vocalists, Soohyun and Hoon).  It feels like I’ve already encounter a duet between the two before and it doesn’t help that it’s a ballad which also kind makes me roll my eyes because everyone knows it’s going to be a vocally impressive track.  I’m not fond of ballads as it is, so this isn’t much for me to really get behind.  Like I said though the two guys sound REALLY good here so that might impress their fans a lot!

7. My Reason

So, throw in an acoustic and you got Kevin’s solo.  It really is that basic and really forgetful moreso IMO.  Though Kevin sounds good too and really threw me off when I heard a woman doing some monologuing.  I was surprised to see some lines overlapping making it feel like Kevin had someone else singing too…but that wasn’t the case.

8. Party All The Time

Finally we have a duet between Eli & AJ (wait Kiseop and Dongho didn’t get one?!?) and luckily it’s not a generic ballad!  As the group’s rappers, the song was going to be something upbeat and focused on the raps.  Well, it does for Eli, not AJ interestingly enough.  I love how much fun this song is and Eli really shows off his skills in a goofy light and there’s even a”Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” reference thrown in.  As for AJ he actually does the singing which surprises me in all the good ways.  I had a lot of fun with this one and my favorite of the split pairings.

9. Sweety Girl

Did they just suddenly become One Direction for this song?  It’s clearly that bubblepop/rock beat that really sets this song off and really feels off on this album.  There’s just a lot of cheesyness going on here, but at least the vocals are still spot on and even though they could’ve had a little more energy (and less sensual) this could’ve been an alright song.  Overall, odd song and a bit chintsey lol.

10. Saranghanikka

Ending the album is Saranghanikka and it seems like it was going full circle because we’re back to dance beats and synths.  I do really enjoy the floaty arrangement quite a bit and the vocals are really pleasant.  As the final song, it’s definitely an appropriate song and really brought our everyone.

Tracks Recommended

  • Standing Still
  • Sumdo Mos Swieo
  • Party All The Time
  • Missing You
  • Saranghanikka

Song of Avoidance

  • My Reason

Yeah, I know I’m late!  COLLAGE taken to account when it was released is a pretty solid album (being their 3rd).  Granted, it is a small tracklist, but I think they did mostly well.  I would’ve loved if they had a Kiseop/Dongho duet since they did with everyone else damnit.  Then again, maybe not because the weakest songs were the ballads here.  Then to find out this was Dongho’s final release just kind of made me think even more that their company really didn’t do too much with Dongho it feels.  Compared to their previous two Korean albums, it is the worst so far…but there was a LOT of good songs from those album sadly.

 

Leave a Reply

