Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

FAR EAST MENTION MANNEQUINS – Femm-Isation October 1, 2014

Filed under: FAR EAST MENTION MANNEQUINS — solarblade @ 8:52 pm

femmisation

Track Listing

  1. We Flood The Night
  2. Astroboy feat. Honey-B & W-Trouble
  3. Kill The DJ
  4. Party All Night
  5. The Real Thing
  6. Dead Wrong
  7. Unbreakable
  8. Girls Night Out
  9. Kiss The Rain
  10. Fxxk Boys Get Money
  11. White Noise
  12. Whiplash
  13. Wannabe

1. We Flood The Night

The album opens up with a light guitar arrangement with the dance beats following suit.  I must also say that all of the songs on here have been digital releases so there really isn’t a point to say what’s new.  We’re also introduced to RiRi and LuLu which of course are the vocalists and they do other things hah.  We Flood The Night is a pretty nice song and follows on the Western trails of EDM and club music which is pretty awesome.  Vocally, you’re going to have to get used to the auto-tune all over them, but this is a solid track to start the album!

2. Astroboy feat. Honey-B & W-Trouble

I guess you can say this would be the earliest song they released (they kind of debuted with a pseudo-cover of “UFO” but that’s not on here).  I noticed that the guitar riffs seriously give me some strange familiar vibes.  It reminds me of Ke$ha and Katy Perry fused together.  It’s a pretty interesting song musically because of the synthwork and the punch the ladies have which btw, the featured artists is them😄.  I wonder why that is, but to me, their voices sound more emotive than a lot of the other songs here.

3. Kill The DJ

Heading back into the EDM scene with Kill The DJ, this is kind of where FEMM really started hitting their stride in the genre because it’s got a lot oomph and the slick vocals are really cool to listen to.  I just really like the duo and the addition of strings is pretty nifty too!  Yeah, definitely loved this one!

4. Party All Night

Probably one of my favorite song they’ve released so far, Party All Night is just like the previous EDM songs, but this one seems a little more compact so it comes off as something that could be released in the US.  Both members have a lot of energy for giving off a cold and robotic performance within the song.  Definitely one of the gems here.

5. The Real Thing

As the only song that I never really listened to prior, The Real Thing like the previous track continue with the kind of futuristic setting but this time this kind of has more of an R&B style to it.  Listening to it, I still can’t find myself really remembering too much about it.  It is well produced at least and I found it to be a song that has potential to grow on me.

6. Dead Wrong

Another song that instantly stuck on me on first listen, Dead Wrong is also under R&B (actually a lot moreso than “The Real Thing”).  I still am a little meh at the auto-tune here, but I found myself loving it regardless because of the lyrics and beats just seem awesome to listen to.  I could really hear the differences in the duo like how RiRi has a deeper voice compared to LuLu.  Great track here!

7. Unbreakable

Then the album comes to a halt with Unbreakable which is the album’s lone ballad and the only song in partiular that even is down-tempo.  When I got into FEMM, their sound was pretty upbeat and that was it.  Coming to Unbreakable, I was surprised how natural it sounded (being piano and strings).  I also like that the duo laid off the auto-tune for this one and they sound quite good (hmmmm).  Despite that it really doesn’t fit the mold of this album, it’s a pretty solid song from them and shows that they could pull off songs that doesn’t need the aid of computers.

8. Girls Night Out

Returning to more dance tracks, Girls Night Out was pretty cool when I first heard because it had such a mysterious arrangement to it.  Plus I can admit that LuLu stood out more than RiRi (which is opposite in a lot of their songs).  After they filled out the album more though, this song unfortunately began to feel monotone and almost a little relient on the mechanical singing.  I do enjoy the arrangement though, so it’s not a huge loss.

9. Kiss The Rain

Moving on, Kiss The Rain in comparison to all the other tracks has a little more smoothness in its arrangement and funny enough I hear a lot of RiRi a lot more than I expected.  I felt like the song just sounded right and even though I didn’t hear too much of LuLu here, I definitely approved of the song.  One of the more straightforward songs for me so there really wasn’t much to say, but it’s a good tune!

10. Fxxk Boys Get Money

Ahhh, we finally come to the song that really brought attention to them.  Fxxk Boys Get Money is quite the song that also doesn’t fit the full mold of the album, but by god is this song great!  It’s got TONS of attitude and once again a lot of RiRi is found here which is no surprise since her voice really has an edge to it that I don’t think LuLu would fully double on.  Still this song is pretty beat-heavy and of course perfect for you twerkers out there😄.  I just found it one of those songs that really just made my year…great song, a must listen!!!

11. White Noise

Funny how the rest of the album are songs titled “W” and there’s three of them…hmm internet nod?  Anyways, White Noise comes first and for being one of the older songs, this tune is kind of weird to me.  There’s a lot of electronic tricks thrown here and some sound pretty interesting and both ladies to get equal time together.  Also surprised to see some dubstep in this song.  Honestly, it could’ve had a little more oomph to it, but it’s not bad either.

12. Whiplash

Recognized as the final song to get a PV from the album, Whiplash to me feels like it could’ve worked after “Party All Night” because it has a similar groove, but this one opens up to something totally different!  I really love the chorus for some reason and just flows real smoothly…the arrangement kind of gives me a little bit of an Aural Vampire vibe and I think I quite loved that about this song.

13. Wannabe

The final track is Wannabe and it doesn’t really fit as the clloser for me, but that doesn’t detract me from enjoying it a lot!  I will say that this song is pretty edgy and the chorus just has a lot of punch to it that really makes me take notice.  What a cool song overall!

Tracks Recommended

  • Party All Night
  • Fxxk Boys Get Money
  • Dead Wrong
  • Wannabe
  • Kill The DJ

Song of Avoidance

  • Girls Night Out

Wow is all I can say for this album lol!  When I first started getting into them (right around the release for “Fxxk Boys Get Money”) I was thinking that they might be just a one-hit wonder, but coming into Femm-Isation, I was pleasantly surprised at how good this album is and how well-produced it was.  For an album that’s mostly tracks that you can dance to, it was pretty awesome and even Girls Night Out will probably grow on me.  I will say that Unbreakable really doesn’t fit here, but I suppose they had to meet a ballad quota (though it did show that the duo are capable for non-auto-tuned songs which I hope they explore more in the future if they decide to continue on! *RECOMMENDED*

 

One Response to “FAR EAST MENTION MANNEQUINS – Femm-Isation”

  1. catonwall Says:

    Nice review! Now I want to listen to the album😛


Leave a Reply

