Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

AAA – GOLD SYMPHONY October 2, 2014

Filed under: AAA — solarblade @ 1:00 am

goldsymphony

Track Listing

  1. Intro -GOLD SYMPHONY-
  2. Next Stage
  3. SHOUT & SHAKE
  4. CIRCLE
  5. HANDs
  6. Love
  7. V.O.L
  8. autumn orange
  9. Kaze ni Kaoru Natsu no Kioku
  10. Sayonara no Mae ni
  11. Wake up!

1. Intro -GOLD SYMPHONY-

So the album opens up with an intro and I already was intrigued by the mysterious synth, but then an electro melody kind of kicks in that reminded me of T-ara’s recent song xD.  About the halhway mark, a strings melody is thrown in and the song kind of goes into this neo-classical mixup which is cool and builds itself pretty nicely.  Pretty cool intro at 2:30 overall.

2. Next Stage

It hasn’t even been a month, but I was overly happy to see this song make the cut because it has a lot of cool punches and really sounds vocally strong.  It kind of makes up for the fact that “SHOW TIME” is missing here ironically.  The verses are light and softly sung, but once Misako and Chiaki get their solo lines, the tune turns into a dance track and damn it’s just candy for my ears.  Though I don’t think I agree too much with the dubstep thrown in the mid8 section to fit Hidaka’s rap.  Still a pretty strong song!

3. SHOUT & SHAKE

The first of 3 new songs, I was surprised to see Shinji actually have dialogue into the tune (at least I believe that’s him).  Like “Next Stage”, the verses are toned down and light before the chorus opens the song to a more energetic atmosphere.  Actually the chorus of the song is also slightly lighter than the aforementioned song, but there’s something familiar about this song in particular like it sounds like one of their older songs.  It’s nice overall and probably my favorite of the new songs at least in the first half xD.

4. CIRCLE

Like I said, I was surprised to see that “SHOW TIME” wasn’t on the tracklist yet the B-side was (though I don’t know if the fact that that single was a fanclub single is the reason).  I love that the ladies open this song into Hidaka doing some rapping to…ugh, more dubstep.  It’s a really jagged song because it has that going into a light dance beat and some floaty piano.  I was really confused by this song and technically still am hahah!  Discounting the Hidaka sections, I really dug that song and the synthwork is pretty cool (yeah, I definitely preferred this over its A-side).

5. HANDs

As the only digital single released, HANDs is ANOTHER song in the similar vein as the previous tracks and at this point I was surprised they’d group them altogether like that.  I will say that there’s something about the tune that seriously reminds me of a GUNDAM theme, it’s the arrangement that seriously screams it and I actually loved it!  There’s also more dubstep wubs, but it seems it isn’t behind Hidaka during his section which is funny.  Still, I actually really liked this song and happy it made the cut!

6. Love

As the first single released for the album, Love also breaks away from the upbeat songs which is a little bit of a good decision before things got redundant.  Sadly, Love is a song that I just didn’t really care for too much because we’ve been topped with so many slow songs in the last 2 albums that I really couldn’t give a damn about this one.  Though I suppose the guitar solo is a nice touch, but kind of strange being AAA and all that.  Oh yeah the ending with the chorale and Hidaka doing his thing….awkward.

7. V.O.L

Oh boy, we bounce back into a pretty poppy number with V.O.L and I chuckled to see Hidaka actually getting lines among the rest of the members.  This is seriously some 90s pop here and it’s a rather fun song to listen to simply because it’s a tune made for live performances for the chanting.  Actually, I recall only hearing Shuta, Hidaka, and Shinji singing here which is a surprise but this song is a great song for those three since they’ve been getting a lot more appearances.

8. autumn orange

So since those three had a song to themselves, I wondered if the last new song was the other 4 (Nissy, Urata, Misako, and Chiaki).  Being the slowest of the three new tracks, I kind of felt this song would’ve fit back on “Eighth Wonder” amongst the other R&B tracks.  Personally, this song kind of just flies by but I think it’s mostly because I still was loving over “V.O.L” to focus a lot on it.

9. Kaze ni Kaoru Natsu no Kioku

Onto the final stretch for the album, we start with the B-side from “Wake up!” and ironically it was also given a PV too!  While I have been over and done with AAA’s soft songs as of recent, this one actually sounded quite nice and the arrangement was quite nice even adding a solid beat for the chorus.  Of course, I was surprised to hear a lot of of the ladies being featured over the guys, but this was still the best of the slower songs they’ve done.

10. Sayonara no Mae ni

However, the same can’t be said about Sayonara no Mae ni even though the two songs have similarities.  Though, I can’t say I was too big of a fan of this because it kind of just felt almost generic for the group to perform with.  Sounds like a song that also feels like it would’ve fit better on their last album.

11. Wake up!

Then the album closes out with the 3rd A-side released and I actually kind of enjoy that it’s on the album because it’s so happy and upbeat and just seemed a song meant to en the album.  Also, the song is tied to One Piece so clearly the song is going to be sunny and very bright and the group does a great job with bringing the energy as well.  It isn’t my favorite on the album but it’s nice.

Tracks Recommended

  • HANDs
  • V.O.L
  • Next Stage
  • Kaze ni Kaoru Natsu no Kioku
  • SHOUT & SHAKE

Song of Avoidance

  • Love

AAA’s 9th album, GOLD SYMPHONY is a rather small upgrade after “Eighth Wonder” as this album had some pretty catchy songs and the group is seriously gelling way nowadays.  I still am kind of bummed that we only got one new full track while the remaining two were just groupings.  I don’t know but this was a weird era for them and in the end this album is average I’d say.

 

Leave a Reply

