Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

TOKYO GIRLS’ STYLE – Say long goodbye/Himawari to Hoshikuzu -English Ver.- February 19, 2015

Filed under: TOKYO GIRLS' STYLE — solarblade @ 7:22 pm

saylonggoodbye

Track Listing

  1. Say long goodbye
  2. Himawari to Hoshikuzu -English Ver.-
  3. GAME
  4. Say long goodbye (Instrumental)
  5. Himawari to Hoshikuzu -English Ver.- (Instrumental)
  6. GAME (Instrumental)

1. Say long goodbye

It’s been a while since TGS has released a ballad as an A-side (“Tsuioku”) and Say long goodbye sounds a lot like what I thought the group was going to sound like back when they debuted which is not saying it’s bad, but it’s nice and refreshing to here something like this.  Though I’m always impressed that the group just sounds great and Ayano just….oh my.  It’s got a great 90’s ballad feel and it’s just so soothing…though I can’t lie and say I didn’t think they were disbanding for some reason but I’ll get to that.  Overall, this is a pretty awesome ballad and just made a great closing for their 2014.

2. Himawari to Hoshikuzu -English Ver.-

Though I can’t say the same for the other A-side.  Now I do love Himawari to Hoshikuzu, it’s one of their best songs from their debut era…and we were blessed with an English revision on their 3rd album, “Yakusoku” which I said wasn’t bad, but their accents kind of made it near impossible to follow what they were saying.  So I am rather curious why they brought it here now AND as an A-side?  It wasn’t redone or anything either, so it’s the same complaints here.  Just seems redundant to include to be honest.

3. GAME

If you were looking for that funky sound TGS has been quite known for, GAME is your song which easily fits amongst them.  Being a track that was initially released on vinyls (they still do that in Japan?), GAME also doesn’t fully stand out to me whereas “Unmei” and “Limited addiction” has.  In time, it’ll grow, but I don’t really find anything totally memorable about this one.

 

 

Being the lone single before their first best album drops, I was wondering if Say long goodbye was a farewell song because of the whole mood of the song (and the PV didn’t help either).  This is a pretty amazing song for them though and with them NOT breaking up, it’s got a lot of interest from me.  It is squashed though by the laziness of the Himawari to Hoshikuzu wreck that is its English version and the kind of generic feel from GAME.  So I can hope that’ll never happen anytime soon again lol.

 

Leave a Reply

