Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

CAPSULE – WAVE RUNNER February 24, 2015

Filed under: capsule — solarblade @ 5:19 pm

waverunner

Track Listing

  1. Wave Runner
  2. Another World
  3. Dreamin’ Boy
  4. Hero
  5. Dancing Planet
  6. Depth (vocal dub mix)
  7. Feel Again
  8. Unrequited Love
  9. White As Snow
  10. Beyond The Sky

1. Wave Runner

Nakata opens up the album with an intro piece to the album and already I can tell this is going to be a very cool album with the synth chords and the speaking in the background that grows into a cool steady beat.  Short, but it really puts the album into place and for what’s to come!

2. Another World

Used as the main promotional track (a.k.a the one that got a PV), Another World was my first taste of what was this album fully going to be about…AND I LOVE IT!  It has a certain vibe to it that really pulls me back to stuff from “WORLD OF FANTASY” and I appreciate that a lot!  Toshiko of course is present in the song and she continues to sound like her robo-self which is one of the finer points from CAPSULE.  I do love how it grows into a beat pounding club thumper and the synths are just epic (especially the moments after the choruses) such a fantastic song and good choice to promote the album with!

3. Dreamin’ Boy

Our next track begins with crescendo of synths that builds the song into this pulsating track which empties out to a smooth section with Toshiko that has a certain feel that I can’t fully point out, but it sounds cool nonetheless!  The dreamy feel Toshiko has when she sings really accentuates that point…that is before the tune drops out and we get a really gritty synth melody that sounds so damn good hahah!  I mean it does scream remix, but I thought it was a clever touch nonetheless!  Interesting song overall and definitely worth the listen after “Another World” of course!

4. Hero

It’s like Nakata found a new folder of synth sounds to mess with like with the opening of Hero.  It’s refreshing and suits nicely with Toshiko’s lines…then a heavily synthed male voice enters the fray and the tune moves into its EDM-core which is cool and I definitely could hear this song on “WORLD OF FANTASY” as well (he must’ve loved that album, then again the album is named WAVE RUNNER (WOF was called “KILLER WAVE” before the Touhoku Earthquake happened, if you all forgot).  After a while, Hero does kind of go by the wayside, but the male stock vocals is kind of cool but it’s a safe song so to speak.

5. Dancing Planet

The first of two instrumental pieces on the album, Dancing Planet takes Nakata to where I think “STEREO WORXXX” kind of popped up with using interesting elements to create a cool track that focuses on Nakata’s skills.  It’s definitely a bopper, but I think Toshiko could’ve been singing here as it just feels like her robotic tones could’ve added a lot more complexity and I probably would’ve been jaw-dropped about it.  It’s a cool instrumental no doubt, but it definitely could’ve used vocals (or stock vocals).  Also the bubble popping is so friggin awesome (maybe some idea he kept after “CAPS LOCK”?

6. Depth (vocal dub mix)

Originally created as an instrumental piece for the movie, Appleseed Alpha back last year, Depth does stick out from the other tracks of the album with the almost stretching into dubstep for its sound (at least by the intro).  I do like the slow-paced atmosphere yet it has a certain feel of hope to it? (Mirror’s Edge is the first thing I think of ironically).  As this is an edited version to include Toshiko, she adds a certain sad glow to the tune and I loved that about this track!  It’s a pretty sweet song overall!

7. Feel Again

Used as the first digital single for the album, Feel Again was our first taste of this album and I thought it was a sign of great things to come for WAVE RUNNER and this feels like the atypical CAPSULE track, but that’s not to say it isn’t good because I really do enjoy this one!  The dance beats are nice and the happy-go-lucky up until the beat-dropping happens, because then I feel like I’ve heard those beats (y’know T-ara’s “Sugar Free”).  Still, this is a pretty awesome track and surprised it didn’t get a PV like “Another World” did.

8. Unrequited Love

So the song that’s being spoken about by nearly all the fans of CAPSULE, I was curious to what got the fandom loving this track.  At first the squeaky synths was odd, but Toshiko came in and the song really toned it down until the synths started to really power the song up and it grew to this kind of awesome triplet synth arrangement that caught my attention quick.  It’s a pretty easy tune to throw into clubs and I liked quite a bit, maybe not at the amount fans did, but with an album like this I haven’t totally found a poor song yet!

9. White As Snow

Maybe I shouldn’t have spoken too soon.  When the song starts up we’re instantly shot with synths and a steady synth beat which is OK, nothing bad, but then the song goes fizzles out (with an awesome barrage of synth arpeggios) to a piano ballad and Toshiko is actually singing here.  Now the weird thing is that I really LOOOOOVE this section especially when the synth plays around Toshiko’s singing melodies…it makes me wonder why the upbeat sections had to be here because White As Snow is pretty as hell as a ballad.  After her singing, the song gradually grows back to being upbeat and it instantly hits a hardcore club sound that I myself loved to hell too…these ideas together don’t really mesh well together (would’ve made better sense as two separate tracks honestly.  We don’t get to hear the slow stuff again through the track as it’s mostly the edgier sound…but damn…I wanted more of the ballad-y stuff!

10. Beyond The Sky

Closing the album is the 2nd instrumental piece (could be considered an outro).  Once again I’m left with the thoughts that Toshiko NEEDED to have sung here as it sounds like it would’ve been epic.  I love the intro to this one though, gave me a certain “MORE! MORE! MORE!” groove (maybe “PLAYER”) with the airy arrangement and yet I feel like Perfume could’ve done justice here too.  Overall nice instrumental from Nakata, but it feels like a missed opportunity.

Tracks Recommended

  • Another World
  • Depth (vocal dub mix)
  • White As Snow
  • Unrequited Love
  • Dreamin’ Boy

Song of Avoidance

  • Wave Runner

When an album gets me to make the short intro piece the SoA, then you know this album is good by my standards!  As the 2nd album under the unBORDE label, WAVE RUNNER was what I was hoping Nakata would’ve put out when he left Yamaha.  CAPS LOCK was the experimental album, but it was a mess of an album, luckily I think Nakata took a break (as it shows with how little he did last year (1 Perfume single and Kyary’s stuff) and released a REALLY solid album with WAVE RUNNER.  Though I will say, if he made more songs like the ballad section of White As Snow, I would be so happy!

 

Leave a Reply

