Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Kanon Wakeshima – Tsukinami March 6, 2015

Filed under: Kanon Wakeshima — solarblade @ 1:42 pm

tsukinami

Track Listing

  1. killy killy JOKER
  2. Tsukinami
  3. Sansukumi
  4. Chocolate
  5. signal
  6. Foul Play ni Kurari
  7. Sakura Meikyuu
  8. Geijitsuka no Kawaii Souzou-tachi
  9. Nightingale
  10. world’s end, girl’s rondo
  11. Monster Star

1. killy killy JOKER

A great choice to open the album up with her 3rd A-side she released for the album.  killy killy JOKER is still one of my favorite A-sides she’s released with it’s mix of anison and her cello skills.  I also thought Kanon’s vocal performance was pretty awesome too and just surprised me she could pull a song like this off and not rely on the dark themes of the past, well there is one part that does feel near that though after the awesome cello solo in the bridge.  Just an awesome way to kick this album off.

2. Tsukinami

Then we move onto the song that promoted the album (and is the title track as well).  Sadly, I can’t say too much about this song that I haven’t already said above which is worrying me slightly.  I will say Tsukinami is a little more upbeat than the previous track, but it’s still quite similar to “killy killy JOKER”.  I do like the piano and strings though, but I’m still not to keen about the similarities.

3. Sansukumi

At least we have a change of pace with Sansukumi which takes a VERY cute turn.  The intro was so cutesy and random with the sounds and then we get a mix of strings and electronics?  I can’t say I didn’t see this coming, but this is a nice and light albeit somewhat random track from Kanon.  Even she sounds quite different, yet fitting to the clash of styles.  After a while though, her melodies seem to be lost in the arrangement and it slightly bores me.  Still it is a unique tune for the album.

4. Chocolate

Ahhh~ A ballad comes our way?  I call it impressive already with the arrangement of strings and some flute (almost Disney-esque).  After the pretty intro, the piano starts to play a light-hearted melody before Kanon returns with a just-as happy vocal melody too.  It’s a playful and light song and I liked it a lot for sure…impressive~

5. signal

Then we get a string of A-sides starting with signal which was the 2nd A-side released.  When this was released, it was a year after the first single of the era and I wasn’t expecting her to pull off a ballad such as this.  Kanon’s wavering voice sounds pretty and surprisingly stronger than I had thought (especially when she hits the lower tones).  Amongst the album, it doesn’t sound like it’s catering to anything which is nice too.  It’s a bit weaker though against other songs here, but I have to say I do commend this song for showing Kanon’s vocal skills better than other songs.

6. Foul Play ni Kurari

Then we move back into the first single she released after her scramble with AN CAFE’s kanon.  As it was the first single she released post-Mana back in 2008, I was worried with how everything would turn out and this song was a track that I just couldn’t care for.  Yes, the kanon×kanon singles did try to warn me and have me slightly get used to it, but Foul Play ni Kurari was just a slap to everyone who thought she was going to stick with creepy themes (although this song can be creepy too).  The waltz-like atmosphere mixed with Kanon’s squeakier vocals was strange…nowadays I find it normal knowing she’s done worse than this.  Still not my cup of tea though.  Reminds me once again of a Disney song gone awry to be honest.

7. Sakura Meikyuu

Which is ironic that it’s sister A-side would once again find itself coming after it.  Sakura Meikyuu was the more familiar sounding track as a fan at the time.  It isn’t downright scary like “still doll”, “Suna no Oshiro” and “Shoujo Jikake no Libretto”, but it did have elements to show that she kind of evolved from that and added some more oomph to the song and not sing in the whispery style we’ve been so used to.  My thoughts on this tune has gotten better and it suits the album funny enough, not bad!

8. Geijitsuka no Kawaii Souzou-tachi

Before I talk about the track, there is a download out there that screwed this song up and replaced it with some C-pop track (reminds me of the bullshit that was pulled on Kana Nishino’s “Love Place” album…At least I found it before I did this review.  This song is the bizarre one of the album for me as it plays around some big band stuff.  Piano, brass, and saxes are abound in the track and Kanon surprisingly sounds good in the setting (maybe not too much in the chorus) but wow…a guitar solo as well!  It’s fun, upbeat and doesn’t make me wanna gag like “moonlight party” did.  Definitely reminded me of the experimental side of “Shoujo Jikake no Libretto ~LOLITAWORK LIBRETTO~”.  Impressive song for the most part, but that chorus needed to be toned down a little.

9. Nightingale

Our next new track, Nightingale continues to give me this vibe of a live setting, by being possibly bossa nova-ish?  Maybe not, but it’s a really nice feel I’m getting and Kanon sounds so much more relaxed and singing in a lower tone than in the previous track.  It’s a really silky smooth song for Kanon and she pulled it off gracefully and I loved how this one turned out, even though it is a pretty short song at 3:30 in length.

10. world’s end, girl’s rondo

What’s there to be said about this one?  It’s still my favorite A-side from Kanon since the “Shinshoku Dolce” days that’s for sure lol.  Plus it helps that she did a lot of work for this one AND Ryo Eguchi of la la larks fame helped out in this one which explains why it sounds a bit like a song from them (or school food punishment).  That said, the song while anison, has a lot of color and Kanon sounds pretty here for sure!  Yeah, still a pretty awesome song overall and I hope she gets to work with him again in the future.

11. Monster Star

The album ends with Monster Star and I was expecting it to be kind of a mid-tempo ballad with a slightly cutesy touch to it.  I was slightly hoping it would’ve had a darker tinge, but it’s a bit for from that.  If I had to say, it reminds me of something YUKI would’ve released with the slow pace and some of the chords mixed with the arrangement (especially the trumpets…that was odd).  Strange song to close the album off with I’d say, but not crappy.

Tracks Recommended

  • Nightingale
  • world’s end, girl’s rondo
  • killy killy JOKER
  • Chocolate
  • Geijitsuka no Kawaii Souzou-tachi

Song of Avoidance

  • Foul Play ni Kurari

It’s been almost 5 years since Kanon’s last album, “Shoujo Jikake no Libretto ~LOLITAWORK LIBRETTO~” was released so the wait for her 3rd studio album has been quite painful to say the least.  As the first album under Warner, Tsukinami was an overall good album!  The giant shift of walking away from a gothic sound was a bit abrasive at first, but it does work as she’s been growing as a singer and cellist alongside new talents like writing her own stuff and it was a solid piece of work.  She could try not being overly anison in some songs and avoid mishaps like Foul Play ni Kurari and “moonlight party” (which is great none of the B-sides made the cut this time around).  Still it’s a nice comeback that’s for sure!

 

One Response to “Kanon Wakeshima – Tsukinami”

  1. shinitakashi Says:

    Nice review! You and I seem to have almost similar tastes as far as favorite tracks go.


Leave a Reply

