Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Koda Kumi – WALK OF MY LIFE March 23, 2015

Filed under: Koda Kumi — solarblade @ 3:17 am

walkofmylife

Track Listing

  1. Introduction ~WALK OF MY LIFE~
  2. Dance In The Rain
  3. Lippy
  4. Mercedes
  5. Like It
  6. House Party
  7. Interlude ~Dance~
  8. HOTEL
  9. Gimme U
  10. You can keep up with me
  11. MONEY IN MY BAG
  12. PIECE OF THE PUZZLE
  13. Fake Tongue
  14. Sometimes Dreams Come True
  15. LIFE so GOOD!!
  16. WALK OF MY LIFE

1. Introduction ~WALK OF MY LIFE~

What is up with this intro?  That deep bass voice sounds so weird and muddled along the beat.  At least it doesn’t last very long before Kuu comes in and sings quite with a sass that I slightly enjoyed.  Weird that it’s just an intro piece, would’ve loved to see it stretched a bit more.

2. Dance In The Rain

At least it moves into something familiar, as the 2nd of the two singles she released for the album, Dance In The Rain is still a pretty awesome song and coming first on the album was going to try to set a tone for the album (which didn’t happen) but this song is still full of a lot of emotion and reminds me of Kuu in her early days.  Pretty much, awesome way to kick things off.

3. Lippy

I figured that this song could’ve came after the intro since the beat is a little more urban and Kuu is once again a sassy gal.  The arrangement is a bit too messy for my tastes with the laser-grinding synths that kind of just give you a headache.  Certain parts sound like something I’ve heard before, but hey what can I say.  Kumi doesn’t sound bad though, it’s the music that’s bothering me here.

4. Mercedes

Next up, Mercedes has a pretty cool old-fashioned kind of groove with the addition of brass and the style of attitude is just written all over it.  I will say it could’ve used a bit more of a foundation so I could feel as if it was full and awesome.  Still for what we got here, it wasn’t too reckless.

5. Like It

Didn’t I just listen to “Lippy?” why am I hearing something similar here with Like It?  Actually after the initial couple of seconds, I hear some interesting brass moments (like something Mexican?).  The bass is once again feeling slightly subdued like in “Mercedes”…wait…it’s basically the previous two tracks just meshed into one.  It’s a tad bit barren…especially for being one of the two promotional songs.

6. House Party

At least the bass really comes in with House Party and I’m already sighing for relief because this song has a lot of energy and Kuu is once showing a lot of this sassy attitude that I’m loving so far from her in the album.  I would’ve loved to have seen a PV from this instead of the last track since it’s so much fun.  Well, I could use less of the male rapper/singer here and the cheesiness of the ~the roof, the roof, the roof is on fire~ line.  Still, the song is probably the best so far of the new songs.

7. Interlude ~Dance~

So we reached the middle of the album and of course we get a minute break from the interlude and once again, it makes sense because it has the same kind of flow as the first half of the album.  The beat is pretty solid though and Kuu sounds good too…short though as expected.

8. HOTEL

With the album sounding so Western, HOTEL makes sense now, the low trumpet synths fills the headphones nicely, but I’m still not exactly feeling Kuu’s speak-singing the verses (felt flat to me) but the chorus is pretty nice and it melds so nicely as a package there, it’s just the verses that felt lackluster to me.  You can say I grew into liking this, but it still doesn’t beat out “Dance In The Rain”.

9. Gimme U

I kind of smiled that our next song felt like a continuation of “HOTEL” with less mmph to it.  I will say that even without that, the song still kind of sounds similar for some reason.  It’s a cuter song though overall which is nice, but I find VERY little that’s memorable because I instantly think of the previous track.

10. You can keep up with me

The next track is actually another short track (2:40).  You can keep up with me is pretty upbeat and has a bit more edge than a couple other songs from the album.  Kuu really pushes herself here where she’s yelling and having that aggressive punch to her vocals too.  It’s a solid song even if it is quite short overall.

11. MONEY IN MY BAG

As the only B-side to make the cut, I was surprised she chose this AND it’s shorter than “You can keep up with me” by a good 6 seconds.  Really, being from “HOTEL”, I really didn’t care for it then and its placement here on the album doesn’t really help its case because it’s still short and the smoky/slyness of the tune is already lost to other similar songs.

12. PIECE OF THE PUZZLE

Back to the new songs that fill the rest of the album, PIECE OF THE PUZZLE has a killer beat actually that I don’t feel that’s so overdone and cheap.  It could possibly because that this could’ve been a cool rock song.  Plus, all of the tongue rolling and everything from Kumi is just badass in the song.  Definitely a strong contender as favorite song from the album!

13. Fake Tongue

Sadly, that wall comes back and we’re back to reusing stuff to get by.  I will say at least Kuu’s vocal performance is really surprising on this album because it’s so gritty and powerful.  I do love how the chorus is so in your face and then it just cools off quickly and we’re back into the verses.  Edgy song overall, one of the standouts.

14. Sometimes Dreams Come True

I’m wondering if this was the kind of “WIND” we were going to get because it does sound happy, but it has beats and guitars so it’s not as girly as the aforementioned song.  I mean beyond that, the song is another that just flies over my head due to its forgetful chorus and the feeling that it’s all one-note (even though it isn’t).  Just not my kind of track.

15. LIFE so GOOD!!

The intro of the next track is so annoying haha!  If “Sometimes Dreams Come True” was to be the cute -in love- song, LIFE so GOOD!! feels like the summer song that would’ve worked moreso than “HOTEL” did to be honest.  The guitars are free-spirited as Kuu is also.  Why do I feel like it would’ve fit “3 SPLASH”? because it’s actually not so bad…one of the fun songs that isn’t too trite.

16. WALK OF MY LIFE

So the album ends with the other promotional song of the album and surprisingly enough it’s the ONLY ballad from this album which is a bit surprising.  Actually it’s not really a pure-ballad because the beats that prevail over all of the album is here too.  It’s a bit odd as the final track and the arrangement is trying to be upbeat but trying not to at the same time and it leaves me confused in the long run…odd.

Tracks Recommended

  • Dance In The Rain
  • PIECE OF THE PUZZLE
  • House Party
  • LIFE so GOOD!!
  • Fake Tongue

Song of Avoidance

  • Sometimes Dreams Come True

I loved “JAPONESQUE” and “Bon Voyage” that is for certain, but coming into WALK OF MY LIFE, all I came out with was a bit over-saturation here.  I’m not sure why, but this album was trying to be upbeat and fun, but I feel like she’s done SO MUCH BETTER without needing to over-use urban beats and such here.  Generic isn’t the word I’d use, but it felt like Kuu was phoning this album in.

 

Leave a Reply

