Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Ami Suzuki – FUN for FAN March 24, 2015

Filed under: Ami Suzuki — solarblade @ 5:50 pm

funforfan

Track Listing

  1. love the island
  2. alone in my room
  3. all night long -Single Mix-
  4. white key
  5. Nothing Without You
  6. Don’t leave me behind
  7. Silent Stream
  8. BE TOGETHER -ORIGINAL MIX-
  9. OUR DAYS -ORIGINAL MIX-
  10. HAPPY NEW MILLENIUM
  11. Don’t need to say good bye
  12. THANK YOU 4 EVERY DAY EVERY BODY
  13. Reality -TK Original mix-
  14. Dancin’ in Hip-Hop -Original mix-

1. love the island

Ahhh, going back to the classics!  As Ami’s debut single, love the island really struck me at first listen when I first started the blog.  From the free-spirited arrangement and the definite 90’s flow, the song is a blast of nostalgia for me.  Now don’t get me wrong, Ami’s debut was a bit rather strained for her voice because she was singing in a higher pitch than where we would find her after joining avex.  There’s also a male background singer as well which is slightly distracting, but he only appears throughout the chorus (and probably a good thing because it’s where she struggled the most (high squeaks and all).  Overall, it’s still a great song for me and one of the high points in her career.

2. alone in my room

Moving onto her 2nd single, alone in my room seemed to fix the nuances that came with her first single.  She is sounding a lot more confident and not striking high notes like crazy.  The tune also doesn’t feel quite as dated as “love the island” was but there’s those CASIO synths that caught me off-guard.  Ever since I reviewed the “SA” album and singles, I’ve found myself enjoying this a lot more, its summer tone and happy-yet-sad style was pretty neat too.

3. all night long -Single mix-

Yes, when it comes to the “SA” singles, all night long is still beyond my favorite from the album (and possibly her entire SONY era at that!  After two upbeat singles, all night long has a totally different feel to it, taking it more to a creepier place with 90’s euro-pop as its basis.  I couldn’t be more happier because this song is so cool and grimey and just oozes personality (not saying the previous two didn’t but c’mon!).  Yeah, definitely worth listening to if you get the chance!

4. white key

So the CASIO keyboards come back in white key and I keep moving back and forth between liking this song or just slightly loathing it.  I mean Ami’s vocal performance is very shaky and she hits notes so flat here as well and the chorus is the worst because she’s layered with her nasal voice (yeah very tight sounding).  I think after being spoiled by her first three singles, her 4th would be the first to kind of crash.

5. Nothing Without You

It’s funny, after “white key” the remaining singles for “SA” flew over my head when I first reviewed them.  Nothing Without You begins in what I think is a café?  Anyways, the tune kind of moves towards a slight R&B fashion with piano acting as the melodic force.  I will admit, the song is kind of cute to listen to and once again some pretty icky background voices are thrown into its chorus.  The worst thing is that 2nd chorus where she kind of overdoes it in vocals as she pushing her squeaky vocals out…makes me wince everytime!

6. Don’t leave me behind

I don’t remember why it wasn’t tagged as edited since it has the version with the R&B background vocalists opening the tune.  A lot of this song reminds me of “Nothing Without You” with the R&B beats and style which is probably why I forgot this A-side existed in the first place.  I don’t know, but whenever I listen to this one, she sounds so very one-note and it bores me quite a lot!

7. Silent Stream

The final A-side to represent her debut album, Silent Stream does try to separate itself from it’s sister A-side by being a little more pop/rock in its execution.  Sadly, the guitar felt muddled by the arrangement and tempo of the track, at least Ami’s vocal melody is a bit more stronger than in “Don’t leave me behind”.  Still, with how long this era took, I was way over this by that point.  Overall, it’s not bad, but forgettable.

8. BE TOGETHER -ORIGINAL MIX-

Next up is her biggest hit in her career which is also a cover of a popular TM NETWORK track and boy was it nice to have this come after some pretty mediocre singles.  The tune is still showing signs of Ami heading towards her urbanized sound that would be in the remaining albums she would put out.  It’s a quirky song and shows off a more fun-side to Ami which is a nice change of pace.  Definitely another need-to listen.

9. OUR DAYS -ORIGINAL MIX-

Then we slow things down for OUR DAYS and I definitely remember the PV for this one being a whole lot like High School Musical without being the musical😄.  The song itself is a ballad and it has some interesting moments especially that serious after-chorus.  Ami is still kind of struggling here with her vocals hitting some tight spots.  The arrangement though is nice and memorable at least.  Not bad for her first ballad.

10. HAPPY NEW MILLENIUM

Rounding out the first “infinity eighteen” album, HAPPY NEW MILLENIUM was released before 2000 hit so it was a pretty big song for her.  A lot of the arrangement did remind me of “BE TOGETHER” which might not be the best thing to do, but hey it was the late 90’s.  The song is nice to listen to, sadly the album version did pop out at me more in the long run so this was a bit meh of a song.

11. Don’t need to say good bye

Is it weird that I feel like this song seems to hop on the same similar train as “Don’t leave me behind” and “OUR DAYS” in ways?  I really felt like I was hitting deja vu with this song and sadly like the former track, it’s a bit boring to listen to sadly!

12. THANK YOU 4 EVERY DAY EVERY BODY

With the way the song title looked and sounded, I thought this was going to be a goodbye song, but in technicality, it really wasn’t.  The tune is a lot like her sound in the 2nd “infinity eighteen” album which was a lot more urban than I was expecting Ami to go.  I actually liked the song a lot, the arrangement (while at this point in her career was getting quite stale) still had some punch and Ami sounded like she was having fun in the song (as much as she did in the PV).  Good song!

13. Reality -TK Original mix-

The best album ends with the lone single to represent it (would go on to be her final single under SONY as well), Reality.  When I heard it, I was surprised it was kind of going back to something along the lines of “all night long” with the mysterious sound and some synth usage.  Though, the sparse arrangement and focus on Ami’s vocals was an interesting route (add that the song’s structure is a bit odd too).  I do love it’s funky vibes though and Ami’s vocals are surprisingly enticing here.

14. Dancin’ in Hip-Hop -Original mix-

I’m not sure what was with the other A-side because it was a collaboration with Infamous Syndicate (though not mentioned anywhere) this song was a weird combination of pop and rap.  Actually it felt like a song more for the latter and not much for Ami which kind of left me confused.  It just didn’t work and it’s made worse by being the last track.

Tracks Recommended

  • all night long -Single mix-
  • Reality -TK Original mix-
  • alone in my room
  • THANK YOU 4 EVERY DAY EVERY BODY
  • BE TOGETHER -ORIGINAL MIX-

Song of Avoidance

  • Dancin’ In Hip-Hop -Original mix-

So a best to commemorate essentially all of Ami’s time under SONY, FUN for FAN was a rather bittersweet album to say the least.  Most of her early works were kind of struggles with her sound and her own voice which tried to sound higher than she could muster.  It’s not a bad collection, but more of a reminder of where she came from before her sudden resurgence during her avex days.

 

Leave a Reply

