Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Shoujo Jidai – Catch Me If You Can April 12, 2015

Filed under: Shoujo Jidai — solarblade @ 3:40 pm

catchmeifyoucan

Track Listing

  1. Catch Me If You Can
  2. Girls
  3. Catch Me If You Can (without vocal tracks)

1. Catch Me If You Can

Looks, like the group is finally returning to Japan for their 4th era and it starts off with a bang.  Kicking it off with a very cool synth wave, Catch Me If You Can might be a more basic song, lyrically, but the sound is pretty amazing, giving us a EDM-heavy arrangement with amazing vocals.  Oh yeah, did I mention that the back girls, Yuri, Hyoyeon, Sooyoung, and Yoona are the leads instead of the normal members (sans Jessica)?  That in itself is amazing, because I’ve always wanted to see more of them.  Otherwise, this song is pretty cool and a great leading track!

2. Girls

Then we get the B-side of the single and it’s a simple piano ballad.  Really that’s all that can be said because it’s WAY simple and kind of boring for me.  I will say that the ladies (especially Tiffany and Seohyun) sound really pretty in the song, but the song is still way too basic and doesn’t carry itself very well even as a B-side.

Their first single after Jessica’s departure, Catch Me If You Can is a pretty solid A-side as an 8-nin group!  The energy is pretty epic and having the back girls FINALLY taking the spotlight was quite magical and I hope this means equal line distribution from here on out!  Girls though was just plain and boring as hell to listen to…OK single overall.

 

4 Responses to “Shoujo Jidai – Catch Me If You Can”

  1. Cybuster_God_of_Wind Says:

    Totally disagree here! Catch Me if You Can had one of the weakest chorus I’ve heard in long time. All they do is sing(more like speak)’Catch Me You if Can’ with no tune attached to it. Lame! Girls is hardly a ballad, but I guess it is for them. Anyway, it was the much better track and this song actually has melody you can sing. No disrespect to you of course.

    Things still don’t sound the same without Jessica though. 😦 I liked her. She stood out more than other members did.

  2. I apologize. I will admit, that I didn’t like “Catch Me If You Can” at first, but it actually grew on me, and I like it very much now. Sometimes, I just need to hear a song a few more time, you know. 😛

    I know it’s pretty old, but is their any chance you’ll do their full album “Lion Heart” or Taeyeon’s “I”?


Leave a Reply

