Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Kalafina – ring your bell June 4, 2015

Filed under: Kalafina — solarblade @ 10:36 pm

ringyourbell

Track Listing

  1. ring your bell
  2. Koibito no Mukashigatari no Yuugure no
  3. ring your bell (in the silence)
  4. ring your bell ~instrumental~
  5. ring your bell ~TV size~

1. ring your bell

Did we get “Eden” again because ring your bell is really making me feel like I’m hitting deja vu again.  HIKARU finds herself at the front of the song once again and she sounds really pretty as a lead especially in such a bright light.  I feel like I’ve heard this somewhere else though with previous Kalafina releases, but as an A-side this is a nice adventurous piece.

2. Koibito no Mukashigatari no Yuugure no

As for the B-side, I wasn’t expecting a darker arrangement to kind of reverse the effects from “ring your bell” did.  I’m loving the spacious and echo effects placed on WAKANA here (actually I feel like she’s mostly the one singing in the track which is no surprise at all).  Though I do love how after a while it grows into this mechanical piece with some guitar strikes and what sounds like cool percussion taps.  Definitely a track that has a lot of character to it and continues Kalafina’s strong streak of B-sides.

3. ring your bell (in the silence)

I wasn’t sure what to expect with another version of the A-side, but I had assumed it was going to be a ballad version of the track.  After listening to the song, I was completely correct about my assumption.  Having a similar dark atmosphere like “Koibito no Mukashigatari no Yuugure no” up until the strings enter in, this version is beautiful to listen to and shows off how strong the trio is together.  However, it’s only a 1:30 in length which a rather odd surprise…I think the lyrics are about from the bridge…interesting.

Kalafina continues to put out really solid singles it seems and ring your bell is a nice single overall.  I will say that the feeling I got from the A-side mirrors how I felt for “Eden” from their 3rd album.  The b-side fared much better with its darker atmosphere and unsettling arrangement.  The “In the silence” take of the bridge is an odd choice, but it’s there.  Can’t wait for when they do their next album!

 

One Response to “Kalafina – ring your bell”

  1. molly Says:

    in the silence was short because it was created as an ED. It only got used once, so perhaps that’s why Kajiura don’t make it as long as the usual song length.


Leave a Reply

